A Burnable Book

by Bruce Holsinger

Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on A Burnable Book

A challenging, big, historical novel steeped in fact and really quite an excellent history lesson.  It seems Geoffrey Chaucer has lost an important book that has been tampered with and its content is now treasonable.  It contains a secret some will murder for.  But this is no Dan Brown.  This is serious historical stuff, difficult to know where fact and fiction part.  It concerns a plot against Richard II and if you are into medieval history it is superb, full of lovely names of different areas depicting the trades associated with it, like Gropecunt Lane!  Fascinating.

A Burnable Book Synopsis

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th Century for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. London, 1385. A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidant, fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer, calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse. The request is simple: track down a missing book. It should be easy for a man of Gower's talents, who knows the back-alleys of Southwark as intimately as the courts and palaces of Westminster. But what Gower does not know is that this book has already caused one murder, and that its contents could destroy his life. Because its words are behind the highest treason - a conspiracy to kill the king and reduce his reign to ashes...

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Win a Signed Copy of Pieces of Her

Closing date: 06/09/2018

We are giving FIVE lucky people the chance to win SIGNED Hardback copies of Karin Slaughter's latest book, Pieces of Her. The draw closes on the 6th September and the winner will be notified by the 10th September. The latest, thrilling new book from the No.1 Internationally Bestselling Author, Pieces of Her makes you question how well you know your nearest and dearest. Andrea Oliver knows everything about her mother Laura. She knows she's always lived in the small town of Belle Isle; she knows she's a pillar of the community; she knows she's never kept a secret in her life. but she's hiding something... Then one day, a trip to the mall explodes into a shocking act of violence and Andy suddenly sees a completely different side to Laura. and it could destroy them both...

Enter Now

A Burnable Book Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

 

Nailah Afghan - 'Drawing on real historical figures to add depth and realism to the plot, Bruce Holsinger has created a real page turner of a mystery which I would highly recommend.' Read full review >

Jan Kirkcaldy - 'A clever, well written book and a very good social history lesson. I enjoyed it.' Read full review >


Linda Birt -
'Historical fiction at its very best, combining fact and fiction in a page turning debut thriller.' Read full review >

Teresa Majury - 'A well-paced but complex story with many twists and turns.' Read full review >


Peter Land - '
This book has everything – history, love, deceit, sex and violence and reveals not only the politics of the 14th Century court, but also the politics of the street.' Read full review >


Clair Chaytors - '
Historical writing at its best… If you liked Hilary Mantel you will love Bruce Holsinger… ' Read full review >


Glynis Elliott -
'An Insight into Medieval England.' Read full review >

Anita Wallas - 'London 1385. A missing book filled with dark prophecy.  A monarchy under threat. Murder, conspiracy and treason. A debut tour de force which will keep you hooked from the first page.' Read full review >

 

Jane Carter - 'A wonderful tale of historical intrigue.' Read full review >

 

Vanessa Wild - 'Combining fact with fiction, A Burnable Book is a well paced, absorbing and exciting historical thriller...evocatively written and gripping to the last page.' Read full review >

A Burnable Book Press Reviews

'This is a rich novel...Bruce Holsinger is a leading American scholar of the Middle Ages and his debut novel combines detailed knowledge of the period with an undoubted gift for gripping storytelling'
BBC History magazine

'This book has almost everything you could want in a historical fiction - rich in period detail and driven by a compulsively engaging and tangled story...The characters are well drawn, the social mores related in unapologetic detail and his multi-layered plot shows a superb storytelling fluency comparable with C.J. Sansom and Nancy Bilyeux.'
Crime Review

'An enjoyable story of murder and intrigue in 14th-century London'
Sunday Times

'Holsinger carries the reader to Oxford, Italy and Spain, but the highlight is his description of medieval London with its murky, poverty-stricken streets...enjoyable and intelligent'
Daily Mail

'His profound knowledge of the 14th century provides a wonderfully convincing backdrop... his London feels like a real place, from St Paul's churchyard to Southwark's Gropecunt Lane. Comparisons with C.J. Sansom are inevitable, and justified'
Andrew Taylor, Spectator

'John Gower is the perfect narrator and amateur sleuth ...Holsinger's research, alongside the energetic vulgarity of a language in flux, delivers up a world where even the filth is colorful'
New York Times Book Review

'A murder, a verse and a whore; the prologue of Bruce Holsinger's A BURNABLE BOOK draws the reader in and does not let go. A deep understanding of the period combines with sophisticated writing to create a richly imagined world. Excellent historical fiction'
Harry Sidebottom, bestselling author of the WARRIOR OF ROME series

'A lush bibliomaniac thriller... Holsinger is a graceful guide to the 14th century, lacing his thriller with just the right seasoning of antique words and all the necessary historical detail without any of the fusty smell of a documentary'
Ron Charles Washington Post

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Hunting Party
The Lion Tamer Who Lost
Overkill
Perfect Ten

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780007493326
Publication date: 28/08/2014
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780007493302
Publication date: 30/01/2014
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Ltd an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780007493326
Publication date: 28th August 2014
Author: Bruce Holsinger
Publisher: Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 512 pages
Genres: Reader Reviewed Books, Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction,
Categories: Historical mysteries, Thriller / suspense,

About Bruce Holsinger

Bruce W. Holsinger is a prolific and award-winning scholar of the Middle Ages who teaches at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville. His books on medieval culture have won numerous prizes from the Modern Language Association, the Medieval Academy of America, and other scholarly organizations, and he is the co-author of The Complete Idiot's Guide to Movies, Flicks, and Film. He is a Guggenheim Fellow and a recipient of research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Council of Learned Societies. A Burnable Book is his first novel.   Author photo © Daniel Addison

More About Bruce Holsinger

More Books By Bruce Holsinger

Cover for The Invention of Fire by Bruce Holsinger
Cover for A Burnable Book by Bruce Holsinger
View All Books By Bruce Holsinger

Share this book