Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Olive Season

by Carol Drinkwater

Travel Biographies & Autobiographies eBooks of the Month Lifestyle, Hobbies and Leisure

LoveReading Expert Review of The Olive Season

Moving on from The Olive Farm, The Olive Season sees Carol and Michel taking on an entirely new challenge: pregnancy.  As ever, nothing goes entirely to plan and Carol writes wonderfully of her struggles and triumphs on her cherished olive farm.

The Olive Farm series:

1. The Olive Farm
2. The Olive Season
3. The Olive Harvest
4. The Olive Route
5. The Olive Tree
6. Return to the Olive Farm


The Olive Season Synopsis

Second in the trilogy from the bestselling author of The Olive Farm and The Olive Harvest.

"I scan the terraces, planted with row upon row of ancient olive trees. It is April, late spring. Here in the hills behind the Cote d'Azur the olive groves are delicately blossomed, with their tiny, white-forked flowers. Beyond them, perched halfway up the slope of the hill, our belle epoque villa comes into view. Abounding in balustrade terraces, nestling among cedars and palms, facing out at a south-westerly angle, overlooking the bay of Cannes towards the sun-kissed Mediterranean, there it is, Appassionata, awaiting us..."


The Olive Farm told how Carol Drinkwater and partner Michel fell in love with and bought an abandoned Provencal olive farm. Now, in The Olive Season, Carol is pregnant and their ever-loyal gardener is leaving to oversee the marriage of his son. Often unassisted, and with new challenges to face, Carol takes on the bulk of the farm work alone. Water is, as ever, a costly problem, and she goes in search of a diviner who promises almost magical results. But, as the harvest season approaches, dramatic events cast dark shadows of their olive farm.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9780752877631
Publication date: 3rd May 2006
Author: Carol Drinkwater
Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
Format: Paperback
Primary Genre Travel
Other Genres:

Like For Like Featured Books

On a Wing and a Prayer One Woman's Adventure into the Heart of the Rainforest
On the Origin of Tepees Why Some Ideas Spread While Others Go Extinct
White Road A Pilgrimage of Sorts
Paris Revealed : The Secret Life of a City

Carol Drinkwater Press Reviews

‘Captures the heart of Provence and its people perfectly’ SUNDAY EXPRESS


‘A spellbinding memoir and a must for anyone who dreams of moving to a kinder climate and starting a new life’ CHOICE

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9780753829356
Publication date: 16/02/2012
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780752877631
Publication date: 03/05/2006
Format: Paperback

View All Editions

About Carol Drinkwater

Carol Drinkwater was our Guest Editor in May 2011 - click here - to see the books that inspired her writing. Carol Drinkwater is a multi-award-winning actress who is best known for her portrayal of Helen Herriot in the BBC television series All Creatures Great and Small. She is also the author of over twenty books, both fiction and non-fiction. Her quartet of memoirs set on her olive farm in the south of France have sold over a million copies worldwide and her solo journey round the Mediterranean in search of the Olive tree's mythical secrets inspired a five-part documentary film ...

More About Carol Drinkwater

More Books By Carol Drinkwater

The Olive Season
The Olive Season
The Olive Season
View All Books By Carol Drinkwater

Share this book