The Art of Baking Blind

by Sarah Vaughan

Modern and Contemporary Fiction Relationship Stories Books with reviews by our Reader Review Panel Family Drama Book Club Recommendations eBooks of the Month Literary Fiction

LoveReading Expert Review of The Art of Baking Blind

August 2015 Reading Group Book of the Month.

With most of us besotted by The Great British Bake Off this lovely book comes to further nurture our appetite.  It is indeed about baking, but its heart is about relationships, about being wives and mothers.  It’s a dual-time telling of the life of the Queen of Baking in the 60s and the lives of the five amateur bakers competing for her crown today.  It is a nice device to illustrate diverse lives and the reasons behind the contestants’ desires to win the title.  A good slice of social history and the contrast of the periods are produced alongside a lot of emotional trauma; a great title for reading groups. ~ Sarah Broadhurst

 

A 'Piece of Passion' from the publisher...

From the very first page of The Art of Baking Blind I just knew I had to publish it. I was gripped by the characters and the way their stories play out, by the novel’s unflinching emotional honesty, by what Sarah Vaughan has to say about women and what is important to us – today and in Mrs Eaden’s time – and by the warmth, compassion and inventiveness of the writing. This is a genuinely democratic story, sophisticated and yet also accessible, that appeals right across the generations - whoever we are, whatever baking means to us and however we live our lives. It’s a book to pass on to your friends, to your mother, to your sister and to your daughter – the equivalent of the most delicious lemon sponge you have ever tasted: rich yet more-ish - and with just the right amount of bite...' - Kate Parkin, Editor, Hodder & Stoughton

Sarah Broadhurst

The Art of Baking Blind Synopsis

There are many reasons to bake: to feed; to create; to impress; to nourish; to define ourselves; and, sometimes, it has to be said, to perfect. But often we bake to fill a hunger that would be better filled by a simple gesture from a dear one. We bake to love and be loved. There's Jenny, facing an empty nest now her family has flown; Claire, who has sacrificed her dreams for her daughter; Mike, trying to parent his two kids after his wife's death; Vicki, who has dropped everything to be at home with her baby boy; and Karen, perfect Karen, who knows what it's like to have nothing and is determined her facade shouldn't slip. As unlikely alliances are forged and secrets rise to the surface, making the choicest choux bun seems the least of the contestants' problems. For they will learn - as Mrs Eaden did before them - that while perfection is possible in the kitchen, it's very much harder in life.

About This Edition

ISBN: 9781444792256
Publication date: 13th August 2015
Author: Sarah Vaughan
Publisher: Hodder Paperback an imprint of Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 432 pages
Primary Genre Modern and Contemporary Fiction
Other Genres:
Recommendations:
Win One of Ten Hardback Copies of Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun

Win One of Ten Hardback Copies of Lemon by Kwon Yeo-sun

Closing date: 11/11/2021

"Taking in the absurdities of life, misfortune and tragedy, Kwon Yeo-sun’s Lemon is an engaging, read-in-one-sitting novella of remarkable intensity." Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer To celebrate the release of Lemon, we have 10 hardback copies of Lemon to give away thanks to Head of Zeus.  This draw is open only for UK residents currently in the UK and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 11th November 2021. Please ensure that the details you use to enter the competition will be correct at the time the competition ends. The winners will be notified as soon as possible.

Enter Now

What To Read After The Art of Baking Blind

The Motion of the Body Through Space
The Trick to Time
Roar
The Wives

The Art of Baking Blind Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

  • Isobel Finbow - 'Good enough to eat…... Dip into the book and indulge. Well crafted and in manageable chunks to have a piece at a time or gobble it all up in one helping!'
  • Julie Collins - 'A delicious slice of escapism, Vaughan's book will appeal to fans of Jenny Colgan and Lucy Dillon. From five bakers with nothing else in common, there can be only one winner.'
  • Wendy Stubbs - 'Great British Bake Off Fans, such as myself, will love this book. A great read from start to finish. The first of Sarah Vaughan's books for me and certainly not the last. Highly recommended, 5 stars.'
  • Emily Wright - 'Like a sumptuous dark chocolate brownie, ‘The Art of Baking Blind’ is addictively moreish, with bittersweet undertones and a delightfully soft heart.'
  • Catherine Jenkins - 'A bittersweet cornucopia of lives, loves and lip-smackingly lovely bakes, this novel is a lot deeper than it may at first appear and has lots of ingredients to surprise packed in at the end.'
  • Edel Waugh - 'This is a beautifully written book full of charm and elegance like the character Kathleen. Add this to your summer reading list!' 
  • Sarah Harper - 'Think Great British Bake Off meets Julie & Julia. This is a book to savour and enjoy. I absolutely adored it!'
  • Tina - 'As the characters got further into the stages of the competition, it made me want to try out all the recipes too!'
  • Hannah Ward - 'I got particularly hungry reading about all the cake, bread, pies and pastry making and I had to go and find a biscuit. I love baking so I really found this book enjoyable.'
  • Tracey Copeland - 'I was sad when the book came to an end, as well as a good story was the underlying cookery recipes, making the reader feel hungry and also eager to bake.'
  • Kath Martin - 'Sarah Vaughan has certainly found the recipe for success and gets my vote as a star baker (author).'
  • Marjorie Lacy - 'A lovely 'summer read' light-page-turning reading, backed up the by excellent writing of Sarah Vaughan.'
  • Jane Brown - 'This is Maeve Binchy, The Great British Bake Off, a touch of Delia and an ounce of Mary Berry. Lovely book with differing characters all trying for the coveted prize.'
  • Berwyn Peet - 'Good story for baking enthusiasts - possibly not for those on a diet!'
  • Doreen McKeown - 'Women who love baking will adore this book - I enjoyed it, but wouldn't describe it as memorable.'

Other editions of this book

ISBN: 9781444792256
Publication date: 13/08/2015
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781444792225
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Format: Hardback

View All Editions

About Sarah Vaughan

Sarah Vaughan read English at Oxford and went on to become a journalist. After eleven years at the Guardian working as a news reporter, health correspondent and political correspondent, she started freelancing. THE ART OF BAKING BLIND is her first novel and she is now working on her second. Sarah lives near Cambridge with her husband and two small children.   Author Photo © Nikki Wilkinson

More About Sarah Vaughan

More Books By Sarah Vaughan

The Art of Baking Blind
The Art of Baking Blind
The Art of Baking Blind
View All Books By Sarah Vaughan

Share this book