Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

A Broken World Letters, Diaries and Memories of the Great War

by Sebastian Faulks

eBooks of the Month History

A Broken World Letters, Diaries and Memories of the Great War Synopsis

This is a profound, moving and important collection of letters, diaries and memories of the First World War, edited by Sebastian Faulks - author of Birdsong - and Dr Hope Wolf. A Broken World presents a cacophony of voices from and about the Great War in a way never before collected together, telling the story of the conflict and its aftermath through memories and stories assembled by place and landscape. Sebastian Faulks and Hope Wolf have explored archives and autobiographical records to select true-life stories and experiences from diaries, letters, postcards, memoirs and other remembrances of this terrible conflict and its aftermath. When thinking about the First World War, images of trenches, no man's land, ruined towns, and fields of white crosses have endured. This collection will include memories from and about these places, but will also feature writing from less familiar environments: voices from deserts, air space and seascapes will jostle alongside war stories from hospitals, railways, monumnets, churches, theatres, factories, prison camps and the home. As Sebastian Faulks says: 'Much of the most exciting and illuminating writing on the First World War is found in private, unpublished documents. Some little-known or out-of-print published works also have important things to say. The centenary is the right time to shake up our received ideas of those four years. This anthology hopes to give a hearing to a Babel of urgent but little-known voices and to guide the reader through them to a deeper understanding.'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The World Aflame The Long War, 1914-1945
The Lost Pianos of Siberia
Glastonbury 50 The Official Story of Glastonbury Festival
The Boundless Sea

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780099597797
Publication date: 05/11/2015
Publisher: Vintage an imprint of Vintage Publishing
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9780091954222
Publication date: 03/07/2014
Publisher: Hutchinson an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780091954222
Publication date: 3rd July 2014
Author: Sebastian Faulks
Publisher: Hutchinson an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Hardback
Genres: eBook Favourites, History,

About Sebastian Faulks

Sebastian Faulks was born and brought up in Newbury, Berkshire. He worked in journalism before starting to write books. He is best known for the French trilogy, The Girl at the Lion d'Or, Birdsong and Charlotte Gray (1989-1997) and is also the author of a triple biography, The Fatal Englishman (1996); a small book of literary parodies, Pistache (2006); and the novels Human Traces (2005) and Engleby (2007). He lives in London with his wife and their three children. He was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature in 1993 and appointed CBE for services to literature in 2002. He lives in London with ...

More About Sebastian Faulks

More Books By Sebastian Faulks

Cover for Paris Echo by Sebastian Faulks
Cover for Pistache Returns by Sebastian Faulks
Cover for Where My Heart Used to Beat by Sebastian Faulks
View All Books By Sebastian Faulks

Share this book