Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

The Liar's Daughter by Laurie Graham

The Liar's Daughter

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Did Nelson have an illegitimate daughter? Who knows? Here Nan believes he did, indeed she is that child and so her life is lived in a sort of fairy tale right through to the horrors of the Crimean War. Full of day-to-day historic detail and real characters, this is heavy on research, light in tone and the sort of book that leaves you needing to find out more, to delve further into the period.

If you like Laurie Graham you might also like to read books by Judith Lennox, Simon Sebag Montefiore and Helen Dunmore.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst


The Liar's Daughter by Laurie Graham

Nan's mother loves to tell her daughter stories, though the details vary according to how much she has drunk. The tale she tells most often claims that Admiral Lord Nelson is Nan's father: he was her lover and she saw him die at Trafalgar. Or so she claims. From poor beginnings, resourceful Nan makes her own determined way through life, but always haunted by the wish to know the truth about her father. From Portsmouth in the early 1800s to the battlefields of the Crimea, Nan discovers the world is full of people with a story about Nelson. There are some questions we can never hope to answer...


'A funny, descriptive, rich and warm-hearted novel; Graham has a knack for bringing alive the sights, sounds and smells of yesteryear ... perfect for fans of Katherine Webb and Deborah Moggach'
We Love This Book

'Through love and loss, hardship and hope, Laurie Graham has once again created a tour de force where nothing is quite as it seems, with characters that breathe life and energy, which will have you laughing and crying in equal measure'
Daily Mail

'Empathetic and entertaining

About the Author

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, the two most recent were Gone with the Windsors and The Importance of Being Kennedy. She lives in Venice.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th June 2014


Laurie Graham

More books by Laurie Graham
Author 'Like for Like'

Author's Website
Loading twitter updates...


Quercus Publishing


352 pages


Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction



I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

It's information about new books so, for a book lover like me, what's not to like!

Joan Hill

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow