rebus 30th anniversary Harry Potter House Eds newgen books for YA readers
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

The Liar's Daughter by Laurie Graham
  

The Liar's Daughter

Historical Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Did Nelson have an illegitimate daughter? Who knows? Here Nan believes he did, indeed she is that child and so her life is lived in a sort of fairy tale right through to the horrors of the Crimean War. Full of day-to-day historic detail and real characters, this is heavy on research, light in tone and the sort of book that leaves you needing to find out more, to delve further into the period.

If you like Laurie Graham you might also like to read books by Simon Sebag Montefiore, Helen Dunmore and Judith Lennox.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Liar's Daughter by Laurie Graham

Nan's mother loves to tell her daughter stories, though the details vary according to how much she has drunk. The tale she tells most often claims that Admiral Lord Nelson is Nan's father: he was her lover and she saw him die at Trafalgar. Or so she claims. From poor beginnings, resourceful Nan makes her own determined way through life, but always haunted by the wish to know the truth about her father. From Portsmouth in the early 1800s to the battlefields of the Crimea, Nan discovers the world is full of people with a story about Nelson. There are some questions we can never hope to answer...

Reviews

'A funny, descriptive, rich and warm-hearted novel; Graham has a knack for bringing alive the sights, sounds and smells of yesteryear ... perfect for fans of Katherine Webb and Deborah Moggach'
We Love This Book

'Through love and loss, hardship and hope, Laurie Graham has once again created a tour de force where nothing is quite as it seems, with characters that breathe life and energy, which will have you laughing and crying in equal measure'
Daily Mail

'Empathetic and entertaining
Independent

About the Author

Laurie Graham is a former Daily Telegraph columnist and contributing editor of She magazine. The author of several acclaimed novels, the two most recent were Gone with the Windsors and The Importance of Being Kennedy. She lives in Venice.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th June 2014

Author

Laurie Graham

More books by Laurie Graham
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.lauriegraham.com/
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9780857387868

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools