Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

twitter win prizes debuts of the month
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

Don't Tell the Boss by Anna Bell
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

A young woman’s observations on life well portrayed with chapter headings giving hints on cutting costs and an underlying addiction to gambling nicely dealt with. Penny has a flair for organising weddings on a shoestring and despite telling her new husband she will give up both gambling and her side-lining in the wedding business to concentrate on getting promoted at work, she finds it difficult to say no to desperate brides.

If you like Anna Bell you might also like to read books by Rachel Schurig, Sophie Kinsella and Chris Manby.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

Don't Tell the Boss by Anna Bell

When newlywed Penny turns her hand to some casual wedding planning she only wants to help other women afford the big day of their dreams. But taming bridezillas turns out to be a full-time occupation, and what began as a hobby becomes a personal and professional nightmare. Soon Penny is struggling to keep her day job and prevent her own marriage from collapsing under the strain: tired, stressed and knee-deep in ivory satin, is Penny's life and livelihood hanging by a thread?

Reviews

'Witty'
Sun

'Funny, surprising and touching, this feel-good read has bags of charm'
Closer

'Hilarious and uplifting, this is perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella'
Take a Break

'A real feel-good story with loads of laughs, twists, tears. The characters are all lovable and the story is totally addictive. Highly recommended
The Chicklit Club

About the Author

Anna Bell currently writes the weekly column 'The Secret Dreamworld of An Aspiring Author' on the website Novelicious. She is a full-time writer and loves nothing more than going for walks with her husband and Labrador.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

19th June 2014

Author

Anna Bell

More books by Anna Bell
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.annabellwrites.com

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Quercus Publishing

Format

Paperback
400 pages

Categories

Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781848663664

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools