The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
  

The Apple Tart of Hope

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A touching and funny story about being an outsider which is illuminated by touches of magic. Oscar and Meg are next-door-neighbours and best friends. But, when Meg moves away everything changes. Now Paloma Killealy lives next door and Oscar gets advice of a very different kind. When things begin to spiral out of control – partly because of the apple tarts - Oscar takes drastic action. Can Meg find out what has gone wrong and begin to put it right?

If you like Sarah Moore Fitzgerald you might also like to read books by Annabel Pitcher.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'The Apple Tart of Hope is a book about friendship and how good friends never give up on each other. A really well written, heart-warming tale. I loved it! Read full review >
  • Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12  - 'An emotional teenage story about love,friendship and hope. A real tear-jerker.' Read full review >Read Jasmine's Blog
  • Jodi Coffman, age 12 - 'This is a real page turner.  I couldn't wait to get to the end of the book to discover Oscar's fate.  It is exciting and  captivating.  A must read!' Read full review >
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'This book is about a boy called Oscar who has an unusual hobby of making apple tarts to cheer people up when they are feeling sad.' Read full review >
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 11 - 'I'm sure other people will like this book but it didn't really interest me. I'm just not a fan.' Read full review >

Synopsis

The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, Back to Blackbrick, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

About the Author

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co.Dublin. She is a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th June 2014

Author

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

More books by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jounwin.co.uk/authors/s...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Hardback

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites


ISBN

9781444006926

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading has given me the opportunity to delve into new and exciting worlds of authors who I would never have tried before.

Glynis Elliott

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools