The Apple Tart of Hope

by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Young Adults eBooks of the Month

LoveReading View on The Apple Tart of Hope

A touching and funny story about being an outsider which is illuminated by touches of magic. Oscar and Meg are next-door-neighbours and best friends. But, when Meg moves away everything changes. Now Paloma Killealy lives next door and Oscar gets advice of a very different kind. When things begin to spiral out of control – partly because of the apple tarts - Oscar takes drastic action. Can Meg find out what has gone wrong and begin to put it right?

The Apple Tart of Hope Synopsis

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, Back to Blackbrick, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

The Apple Tart of Hope Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'The Apple Tart of Hope is a book about friendship and how good friends never give up on each other. A really well written, heart-warming tale. I loved it! Read full review >
  • Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12  - 'An emotional teenage story about love,friendship and hope. A real tear-jerker.' Read full review >Read Jasmine's Blog
  • Jodi Coffman, age 12 - 'This is a real page turner.  I couldn't wait to get to the end of the book to discover Oscar's fate.  It is exciting and  captivating.  A must read!' Read full review >
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'This book is about a boy called Oscar who has an unusual hobby of making apple tarts to cheer people up when they are feeling sad.' Read full review >
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 11 - 'I'm sure other people will like this book but it didn't really interest me. I'm just not a fan.' Read full review >

If you loved this, you might like these...

Silence is Goldfish
My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece
Ketchup Clouds
My Sister Lives on the Mantelpiece

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444006926
Publication date: 05/06/2014
Publisher: Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444006926
Publication date: 5th June 2014
Author: Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Publisher: Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co
Format: Hardback
Genres: NewGen - YA Fiction, eBook Favourites,
Categories:

About Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co.Dublin. She is a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.

More About Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

More Books By Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Cover for A Very Good Chance by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
View All Books By Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Share this book