win prizes debuts of the month make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
  

The Apple Tart of Hope

NewGen - YA Fiction   eBook Favourites   eBook Favourites   

RRP £10.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Share this book

Lovereading view...

A touching and funny story about being an outsider which is illuminated by touches of magic. Oscar and Meg are next-door-neighbours and best friends. But, when Meg moves away everything changes. Now Paloma Killealy lives next door and Oscar gets advice of a very different kind. When things begin to spiral out of control – partly because of the apple tarts - Oscar takes drastic action. Can Meg find out what has gone wrong and begin to put it right?

If you like Sarah Moore Fitzgerald you might also like to read books by Annabel Pitcher.

Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Sam Harper, age 10 - 'The Apple Tart of Hope is a book about friendship and how good friends never give up on each other. A really well written, heart-warming tale. I loved it! Read full review >
  • Jasmine Harris-Hart, age 12  - 'An emotional teenage story about love,friendship and hope. A real tear-jerker.' Read full review >Read Jasmine's Blog
  • Jodi Coffman, age 12 - 'This is a real page turner.  I couldn't wait to get to the end of the book to discover Oscar's fate.  It is exciting and  captivating.  A must read!' Read full review >
  • Alice East, age 9 - 'This book is about a boy called Oscar who has an unusual hobby of making apple tarts to cheer people up when they are feeling sad.' Read full review >
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 11 - 'I'm sure other people will like this book but it didn't really interest me. I'm just not a fan.' Read full review >

Synopsis

The Apple Tart of Hope by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Oscar Dunleavy, who used to make the world's most perfect apple tarts, is missing, presumed dead. No-one seems too surprised, except for Meg, his best friend, and his little brother Stevie. Surrounded by grief and confusion, Meg and Stevie are determined to find out what happened to Oscar, and together they learn about loyalty and friendship and the power of never giving up hope. The second sensational novel from Irish author, Sarah Moore Fitzgerald, following her debut, Back to Blackbrick, perfect for fans of Annabel Pitcher and Siobhan Dowd.

Reviews

This novel is gentle and mild but it has hidden powers, too. -- Martin Chilton THE TELEGRAPH This suspenseful story is vivid with characters THE SUNDAY TIMES A big-hearted novel about love, loyalty and friendship from a rising star -- The Bookseller The Bookseller ...a wonderful book that will leave you with a giant smile on your face, and a longing for the taste homemade apple tart. THE BOOK BAG I was so absorbed in the moving storyline that I read it in one sitting Book Babblers A beautiful book about being different, about good and bad friendships, and how salvation can come from an unlikely place. Scribbles Book Reviews I felt this story had real depth, and dealt honestly and compassionately with strong emotions and serious decisions. The Little Reader Library Both adults and children alike would thoroughly enjoy Chrissi Reads A poignant, unusual contemporary novel -- Imogen Russell Williams Metro A moving and poignant tale about the redemptive power of friendship. -- Louise O'Neill Irish Times A layered, morally complex and captivating read -- Joseph O'Connor Irish Times A little piece of pure, irresistible magic -- Eve Seymore Cheltenham Standard A beautiful story about friendship and hope that will make you laugh and cry WRD About Books A delicious and gently philospophical book which explores the issues of bullying, loss, friendship and love with insight and humour The Best New Children's Books 2015 Fully developed secondary characters ... add richness and depth to this lyrically written tale, which explores themes of manipulation, self-discovery, hope, and love ...This touching novel is one to savor Book List Readers will delight in watching Meg and Oscar transition from friendship to love while they become enraged at Paloma's bullying behavior. In addition to the romance, there is also plenty of intrigue and mystery to engage readers not typically drawn to love stories. School Library Journal A poignant, unusual contemporary novel -- Imogen Russell Williams Metro There are few books that can capture the teenage soul with such optimism and still remain true to the experience at its core but this is definitely one for the list. -- SN Rasul FQMAGAZINE.CO.UK


About the Author

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald was born in New York in 1965 but grew up in Co.Dublin. She is a professor and associate vice president at the University of Limerick in Ireland, specialising in psychology and effective pedagogy in higher education, and has published several non-fiction books on teaching, learning and academic writing. She runs regular writers' retreats for academics and students in Ireland and internationally.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

5th June 2014

Author

Sarah Moore Fitzgerald

More books by Sarah Moore Fitzgerald
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jounwin.co.uk/authors/s...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion Children's Books (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Hardback
272 pages
Interest Age: From 12

Categories

NewGen - YA Fiction
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

General fiction (Children's / Teenage)

ISBN

9781444006926

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools