Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Reckoning The Silver Blackthorn Trilogy Book 1

by Kerry Wilkinson

Part of the Silver Blackthorn Trilogy Series

eBooks of the Month Sci-Fi and Fantasy

LoveReading View on Reckoning The Silver Blackthorn Trilogy Book 1

The first in a bewitching and gripping trilogy set in the future after a war that began 25 years previously when the oil ran out.  England, our setting, is divided into four.  Each year all 16-year olds come together to take part in a ceremony called ‘The Reckoning’ which determines their position in society for the rest of their lives.  Some are then chosen as ‘offerings’ to their king (talk about history repeating itself!).  Our heroine is chosen as one such.  Through torture, hunger, fear, isolation, pain and despair, we follow a bunch of ‘offerings’ who eventually work together and trust one another – towards what I am not telling you – suffice to say there is plenty to incite strong emotions and although the characters are all teenagers I would recommend to a wide range of ages especially those who enjoy a really good thriller.

Sarah Broadhurst

Reckoning The Silver Blackthorn Trilogy Book 1 Synopsis

In the village of Martindale, hundreds of miles north of the new English capital of Windsor, sixteen-year-old Silver Blackthorn takes the Reckoning. This coming-of-age test not only decides her place in society - Elite, Member, Inter or Trog - but also determines that Silver is to become an Offering for King Victor. But these are uncertain times and no-one really knows what happens to the teenagers who disappear into Windsor Castle. Is being an Offering the privilege everyone assumes it to be, or do the walls of the castle have something to hide? Trapped in a maze of ancient corridors, Silver finds herself in a warped world of suspicion where it is difficult to know who to trust and who to fear. The one thing Silver does know is that she must find a way out ...


Visit the Silver Blackthorn facebook page for more about the series.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Downtime Shift

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447235309
Publication date: 22/05/2014
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447235309
Publication date: 22nd May 2014
Author: Kerry Wilkinson
Publisher: Pan Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Genres: eBook Favourites, Sci-Fi and Fantasy,
Categories: General fiction (Children's / Teenage), Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945), Science fiction (Children's / Teenage),

About Kerry Wilkinson

Kerry Wilkinson is something of an accidental author. His debut, Locked In, the first title in the detective Jessica Daniel series, was written as a challenge to himself but, after self-publishing, it became a UK Number One bestseller within three months of release. Kerry then went on to have more success with the second and third titles in the series, Vigilante and The Woman in Black. Kerry has a degree in journalism and works for a national media company. He was born in Somerset but now lives in Lancashire.

More About Kerry Wilkinson

More Books By Kerry Wilkinson

Cover for Behind Closed Doors Jessica Daniel Book 7 by Kerry Wilkinson
Cover for Playing with Fire Jessica Daniel Book 5 by Kerry Wilkinson
View All Books By Kerry Wilkinson

Share this book