Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley

by Mike Ripley

Crime / Mystery

LoveReading View on Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Albert Campion is one of the great characters of Golden Age British crime fiction. Following Margery Allingham's death, her husband Youngman Carter completed her last book Cargo of Eagles and then wrote two further Campion tales before passing away himself with a a third posthumous novel still incomplete, which Ripley, acclaimed author of the Angel novels, has now completed. Shenanigans are afoot in a dusty Suffolk town and the elderly Campion investigates. Familiar characters from the series return, while new ones are introduced and gentle, old-fashioned sleuthing is afoot again, with Ripley making matters appear seamless. Traditional but warming fare, for the many fans of straightforward storytelling and cosy crime. A welcome return.

Maxim Jakubowski

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley Synopsis

"The idyllic English village of Lindsay Carfax isn't run by the parish council or the local cops as you might suppose. The real bosses are the Carders. They're a syndicate who run this place - with their own rules."

Margery Allingham's Albert Campion returns to centre stage in this quintessentially British mystery, with appearances from all of Allingham's regular characters.

A must for fans of Margery Allingham, Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Fire and Brimstone
Murphy's Revenge
Overkill
The Mystery of Three Quarters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780727883834
Publication date: 01/04/2014
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780727883834
Publication date: 1st April 2014
Author: Mike Ripley
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Format: Hardback
Genres: Crime / Mystery,
Categories:

About Mike Ripley

Described by The Times newspaper as 'England's funniest crime writer', Mike Ripley is the author of the award-winning Angel series which has won the CWA Last Laugh Award on two occasions. As well as his Angel series he has also written several stand alone novels including Boudica, the Lost Roman and most recently The Legend of Hereward. Ripley is a respected critic of Crime Fiction as well as an author and writes for several newspapers including The Guardian, The Times and The Daily Telegraph. Mike's most recent project is completing a Margery Allingham novel, featuring her most famous ...

More About Mike Ripley

Share this book