join us on facebook make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley by Mike Ripley
  

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley

Crime / Mystery   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   

RRP £19.99

Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Albert Campion is one of the great characters of Golden Age British crime fiction. Following Margery Allingham's death, her husband Youngman Carter completed her last book Cargo of Eagles and then wrote two further Campion tales before passing away himself with a a third posthumous novel still incomplete, which Ripley, acclaimed author of the Angel novels, has now completed. Shenanigans are afoot in a dusty Suffolk town and the elderly Campion investigates. Familiar characters from the series return, while new ones are introduced and gentle, old-fashioned sleuthing is afoot again, with Ripley making matters appear seamless. Traditional but warming fare, for the many fans of straightforward storytelling and cosy crime. A welcome return.

If you like Mike Ripley you might also like to read books by Danny King, Alan Dunn and Colin Bateman.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win a Limited Edition book proof of a Karin Slaughter thriller

We have 50 Limited Edition book proofs to give away of The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone thriller, with a chilling edge of psychological suspense, from the No. 1 bestselling author Karin Slaughter. This is what our editorial expert said about it - ‘The Good Daughter’ is a breathtaking whammy of a read, pure escapism at its best, and I can highly recommend it! ~ Liz Robinson

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 31 October 2017. The winners will be notified by 9 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/10/2017

Synopsis

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley by Mike Ripley

"The idyllic English village of Lindsay Carfax isn't run by the parish council or the local cops as you might suppose. The real bosses are the Carders. They're a syndicate who run this place - with their own rules."

Margery Allingham's Albert Campion returns to centre stage in this quintessentially British mystery, with appearances from all of Allingham's regular characters.

A must for fans of Margery Allingham, Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.

About the Author

Mike Ripley

Described by The Times newspaper as 'England's funniest crime writer', Mike Ripley is the author of the award-winning Angel series which has won the CWA Last Laugh Award on two occasions. As well as his Angel series he has also written several stand alone novels including Boudica, the Lost Roman and most recently The Legend of Hereward. Ripley is a respected critic of Crime Fiction as well as an author and writes for several newspapers including The Guardian, The Times and The Daily Telegraph. Mike's most recent project is completing a Margery Allingham novel, featuring her most famous creation, the gentleman sleuth Albert Campion.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st April 2014

Author

Mike Ripley

More books by Mike Ripley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Severn House Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection


ISBN

9780727883834

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Its jam packed with fantastic titles, informative descriptions & fantastic reviews and has a vast array of great features & competitions.

Linda Rollins

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

It has opened my eyes to different authors and genres. Just log on and try, you will be surprised and not want for reading material again.

Jocelyn Garvey

It is a website dedicated to those who adore reading It really is a one stop shop for book lovers. Love it!

Edel Waugh

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools