Search our site
Persons Unknown by Susie Steiner Read the opening extract of the brand new Susie Steiner book before its publication on 05/04/2018

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley by Mike Ripley

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley

Crime / Mystery   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Albert Campion is one of the great characters of Golden Age British crime fiction. Following Margery Allingham's death, her husband Youngman Carter completed her last book Cargo of Eagles and then wrote two further Campion tales before passing away himself with a a third posthumous novel still incomplete, which Ripley, acclaimed author of the Angel novels, has now completed. Shenanigans are afoot in a dusty Suffolk town and the elderly Campion investigates. Familiar characters from the series return, while new ones are introduced and gentle, old-fashioned sleuthing is afoot again, with Ripley making matters appear seamless. Traditional but warming fare, for the many fans of straightforward storytelling and cosy crime. A welcome return.

If you like Mike Ripley you might also like to read books by Alan Dunn, Colin Bateman and Danny King.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski


Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley by Mike Ripley

"The idyllic English village of Lindsay Carfax isn't run by the parish council or the local cops as you might suppose. The real bosses are the Carders. They're a syndicate who run this place - with their own rules."

Margery Allingham's Albert Campion returns to centre stage in this quintessentially British mystery, with appearances from all of Allingham's regular characters.

A must for fans of Margery Allingham, Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.

About the Author

Mike Ripley

Described by The Times newspaper as 'England's funniest crime writer', Mike Ripley is the author of the award-winning Angel series which has won the CWA Last Laugh Award on two occasions. As well as his Angel series he has also written several stand alone novels including Boudica, the Lost Roman and most recently The Legend of Hereward. Ripley is a respected critic of Crime Fiction as well as an author and writes for several newspapers including The Guardian, The Times and The Daily Telegraph. Mike's most recent project is completing a Margery Allingham novel, featuring her most famous creation, the gentleman sleuth Albert Campion.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st April 2014


Mike Ripley

More books by Mike Ripley
Author 'Like for Like'


Severn House Publishers Ltd




Crime / Mystery



Lovereading always comes up with great suggestions and has introduced me to enjoyable books and new authors to discover.

Gaynor Passmore

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I love Lovereading because of its ability to connect people that love books & unite them in a friendly, stimulating & interesting community.

Megan Olwen William

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.


Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges