make the most of Lovereading win prizes
Search our site
Are You Sleeping by Kathleen Barber Read the opening extract of the brand new Kathleen Barber book before its publication on 27/12/2017

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley by Mike Ripley
  

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley

Crime / Mystery   Maxim Jakubowski's Selection   
Notify me
when in stock

As soon as this book is back in stock we will send you an email.

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group Share this book

Maxim Jakubowski's view...

A Maxim Jakubowski selected title.

Albert Campion is one of the great characters of Golden Age British crime fiction. Following Margery Allingham's death, her husband Youngman Carter completed her last book Cargo of Eagles and then wrote two further Campion tales before passing away himself with a a third posthumous novel still incomplete, which Ripley, acclaimed author of the Angel novels, has now completed. Shenanigans are afoot in a dusty Suffolk town and the elderly Campion investigates. Familiar characters from the series return, while new ones are introduced and gentle, old-fashioned sleuthing is afoot again, with Ripley making matters appear seamless. Traditional but warming fare, for the many fans of straightforward storytelling and cosy crime. A welcome return.

If you like Mike Ripley you might also like to read books by Alan Dunn, Colin Bateman and Danny King.

Who is Maxim Jakubowski

Win a Family Break to Salisbury!

Don’t miss out! Enter to win a family break to Salisbury!

Here at Lovereading.co.uk and Lovereading4kids.co.uk we have joined with VisitWiltshire. You could see yourself indulging in the finest food and slumbering comfortably into one of the grand rooms at The Red Lion Salisbury for two nights. The Red Lion Hotel is located in medieval city of Salisbury, which is home to all your favourite stores as well as independent shops, restaurants, cafes and parks and green spaces. Nearby is Stonehenge, Salisbury Plain and numerous sites of historic and archaeological interest.

There are many seasonal events in Salisbury, and you can find out what’s on here. You will also receive a family ticket to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, the gardens are especially beautiful in the winter, with bold coloured stems, scents, and fabulous foliage, you can be sure to be impressed. For the children there is also a play park, and you can stop off in the Victorian tea room to warm up and treat yourself to a traditional cream tea.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. Entries close 31st January 2018.

Good luck!

Terms and Conditions

Red Lion: Two night stay includes breakfast for two adults and up to two children sharing a family room. Subject to availability and cannot be exchanged or redeemed for cash value. Not to be used in combination with any other offer. Valid until 1st Dec 2018 and excludes bank holidays.

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens: Valid for day entry, Not to be used for special events or group entry. Voucher is not transferable or refundable, no Cash Value. Ticket must be redeemed on entry. Valid until 31 Dec 2018. Gardens open daily from 10am – closed Christmas Day and Boxing Day. Prize admits 2 adults and accompanying children Under 17 FREE to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens.

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/01/2018

Synopsis

Margery Allingham's Mr Campion's Farewell: the Return of Albert Campion Completed by Mike Ripley by Mike Ripley

"The idyllic English village of Lindsay Carfax isn't run by the parish council or the local cops as you might suppose. The real bosses are the Carders. They're a syndicate who run this place - with their own rules."

Margery Allingham's Albert Campion returns to centre stage in this quintessentially British mystery, with appearances from all of Allingham's regular characters.

A must for fans of Margery Allingham, Agatha Christie and Dorothy L. Sayers.

About the Author

Mike Ripley

Described by The Times newspaper as 'England's funniest crime writer', Mike Ripley is the author of the award-winning Angel series which has won the CWA Last Laugh Award on two occasions. As well as his Angel series he has also written several stand alone novels including Boudica, the Lost Roman and most recently The Legend of Hereward. Ripley is a respected critic of Crime Fiction as well as an author and writes for several newspapers including The Guardian, The Times and The Daily Telegraph. Mike's most recent project is completing a Margery Allingham novel, featuring her most famous creation, the gentleman sleuth Albert Campion.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st April 2014

Author

Mike Ripley

More books by Mike Ripley
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Severn House Publishers Ltd

Format

Hardback

Categories

Crime / Mystery
Maxim Jakubowski's Selection


ISBN

9780727883834

At Lovereading there are fabulous books available in every genre, with great reviews to help you pick the right book for you.

Teresa O'Halloran

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading is like booking a holiday, you don't know what it will be like and it is a whole new experience.

Sue Burton

Thanks to Lovereading I have discovered new writers and read books I would never had looked twice at - and enjoyed them.

Angela Rhodes

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Love books. Love reading. Love reading books. And, here's the trick. Here's a website which caters for people like me.

Ian Harvey-brown

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools