twitter book price comparison make the most of Lovereading
Search our site
Fools and Mortals by Bernard Cornwell Read the opening extract of the brand new Bernard Cornwell book before its publication on 19/10/2017

One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper
  

One Last Thing Before I Go

Family Drama   Family Drama   Literary Fiction   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   

RRP £8.99

Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Literary Contemporary Facebook group Share this book

Lovereading view...

The author of How to Talk to a Widower brings us another witty, impeccably well observed tale of modern America. Silver is a divorced 44 year old who finds out his only daughter is pregnant (which will put more than a wrinkle in her plans to take Princeton by storm) and he has a fatal heart condition. What can he do to make the best of things in his time left? Laugh-out-loud funny and tear-jerkingly sad great for fans of David Nicholls or Nick Hornby.

If you like Jonathan Tropper you might also like to read books by Tony Parsons, Tom Rachman and John Harding.

Win a Set of 10 Bloomsbury Modern Classics!

This month Bloomsbury has launched a series of ten modern classics chosen from highlights of the publisher's last thiry years, each with an eye-catching, iconic illustrated cover - and we have a full set to give away!

The ten titles are Restless by William Boyd, Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke, Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert, Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson, The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini, Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels, The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller, The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje, The Suspicions of Mr Whicher by Kate Summerscale and The Little Friend by Donna Tartt.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 20 November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

One Last Thing Before I Go by Jonathan Tropper

Meet Silver. Forty-four, divorced and living alone. His once celebrated music career is now a faded memory and his ex-wife is about to marry another man. The only good thing in Silver's life is his Princeton-bound teenage daughter, Casey - and she would probably say the exact opposite about him. So in Silver's opinion, things could be going better ...a lot better. Then Casey drops a bombshell: she's pregnant. Yes, it was her first time, and, no, she hasn't told her mom. Silver knows things have got to change, and when he discovers he has a fatal heart condition that means he could drop dead at any minute, he decides it's time to make a list: 1. Be a better father 2. Be a better man 3. Fall in love 4. Die But the question is, can Silver rebuild his life, regain the respect of his family, and be there for Casey when she needs him most, or has he left it all too late?

Reviews

'Genuinely very funny, as well as engaging and rather moving' DAIL MAIL

'Witty story of Silver, a lonely middle-aged ex-rockstar with a pregnant teenage daughter.' HEAT

'Another tear-jerker that's told with great wit, this time written from a bloke's point of view. Jonathan has been a pick on the Richard and Judy Book Club before, and this is a nicely observed poignant take on learning to be a man and a father before time runs out.' STAR magazine

'Tropper is a master of the mid-life male coming-of-age story, and his latest is full of the charm and wit his readers cherish' BOOKLIST

'It's amazing what can happen in the hands of the casually brilliant author... Read and weep with laughter' ENTERTAINMENT WEEKLY

'A poignant story about facing death and celebrating life, even when things seem well beyond repair' THE DAILY BEAST

'Eminently quotable, hilariously funny, and emotionally draining, this arresting tour de force will entertain well after the book is done'
LIBRARY JOURNAL

'A tender and unexpectedly hilarious take on the messiness of family life'
PEOPLE

About the Author

Jonathan Tropper

Jonathan Tropper was born and raised in Riverdale, New York. He attended the creative writing program at New York University Graduate School of Arts and Science, where he received a Masters degree. His novels have been translated into more than ten languages. He lives with his wife and children in Westchester, New York, and teaches writing at Manhattanville College.

Author photo © Greg Yaitanes

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

13th March 2014

Author

Jonathan Tropper

More books by Jonathan Tropper
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.jonathantropper.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Family Drama
Family Drama
Literary Fiction
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9781409128793

You'll always find what you never knew you were looking for and you're always spoilt for choice.

Helen Jones

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading does a stella job in promoting both new and established authors.

Iris Clements

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools