A Wolf in Hindelheim

by Jenny Mayhew

Crime / Mystery eBooks of the Month Historical Fiction Thriller and Suspense

A Wolf in Hindelheim Synopsis

This is an atmospheric and gripping novel from an exciting new voice for fans of The Snow Child and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. South-West Germany, 1926. The disappearance of a baby girl calls for Constable Theodore Hildebrandt and his son Klaus to visit the remote village of Hindelheim, a place where nothing ever happens. But the news of the missing baby has brought darkness to the community. It is as if someone or something wicked is playing a game. As the wind blows and the mist thickens, tensions rise amongst the villagers as everyone falls under suspicion. And when the rumours begin and secrets start to unravel, the quiet village of Hindelheim is set to change for ever.

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Win the Poldark Series 4 Box set!

Closing date: 31/08/2018

We are offering THREE lucky people the chance to win the Series 4 box set of the hit ITV period drama (RRP: £24.99). 1796: To defend Cornwall and those he loves from an empowered George, Ross must learn to play the political game on a journey that takes him to the nation's capital and into new perils. While Demelza manages the Poldark’s affairs at home, Elizabeth moves to further secure her marriage. Drake struggles in resigning Morwenna to life with Osborne and the Enyses are tested as never before. Prime Minister Pitt calls an election and uncertainty grips the country. While Ross watches Cornwall suffer under the power of Truro’s MP, George Warleggan, Demelza’s infidelity leaves her strained between her husband and a lovesick Hugh, who is set to rival George in the upcoming election. The Enyses contemplate having a child and Elizabeth seeks the same to secure her marriage. Meanwhile, Morwenna uses Osborne’s affair with her sister Rowella to keep the reverend’s advances at bay and Demelza seeks to reconcile rival local Lords Falmouth and Basset. The draw closes on the 31st August and the winner will be notified by the 7th September.

Enter Now

A Wolf in Hindelheim Press Reviews

Historical crime fiction is enjoying something of a golden moment and with her often ingenious and unusual debut, Jenny Mayhew adds significantly to the genre. -- The Scotsman 

 

Mayhew can definitely write... with a richness and intelligence, and never a sense of showing-off... [ A Wolf in Hindelheim has] a wide-reaching subject matter pinned down to a strong plot; and in every short chapter a sign that this is an author to watch. -- The Bookbag

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Binding
The Angel's Mark
The Ghost Tree
The Mystery of Three Quarters

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780099558972
Publication date: 06/03/2014
Publisher: Windmill Books an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780099558972
Publication date: 6th March 2014
Author: Jenny Mayhew
Publisher: Windmill Books an imprint of Cornerstone
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Genres: Crime / Mystery, eBook Favourites, Historical Fiction, Thriller / Suspense,
Categories: Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945),

About Jenny Mayhew

Jenny Mayhew has worked as a TV researcher, studied International Relations in Sri Lanka and written film screenplays on both contemporary and historical storylines. In 2003, she was nominated for a BAFTA special achievement award for her screenplay for To Kill a King. Jenny has a doctorate in English literature and has taught creative writing courses at Oxford, Bristol and Manchester. She now lives in Edinburgh. A Wolf in Hindelheim is her first novel.

More About Jenny Mayhew

Share this book