twitter
Search our site
Letters to Iris by Elizabeth Noble Read the opening extract of the brand new Elizabeth Noble book before its publication on 05/04/2018

A Wolf in Hindelheim by Jenny Mayhew
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Rural Germany in 1926 and a man damaged from the trenches returns to his very changed village and a family he hardly recognises. A baby goes missing and suspicion for its disappearance falls on a young Jewish boy. This is a gripping and atmospheric historical mystery with an intriguing plot but it’s the changing times and attitudes that really dominate here as a new world clashes with the old. It is a lovely book, highly recommended.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a signed copy of Circe

Circe

Circe is the amazing sequel to The Song of Achilles by Madelline Miller.

"I remember Circe was one of the challenges met by Odysseus, the one who turned men into pigs. The beautiful character who narrates this story is that same “wicked witch” but a far cry from how Homer portrayed her. She is lovely, misunderstood, wilful and brilliant, a strong woman slowly growing into her power." - Sarah Broadhurst

Get your hands on a SIGNED copy of this innovative new take on Greek Mythology by clicking the button below and entering this prize draw! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 30 April 2018. The winner will be notified by 7 May 2018.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 30/04/2018

Synopsis

A Wolf in Hindelheim by Jenny Mayhew

This is an atmospheric and gripping novel from an exciting new voice for fans of The Snow Child and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. South-West Germany, 1926. The disappearance of a baby girl calls for Constable Theodore Hildebrandt and his son Klaus to visit the remote village of Hindelheim, a place where nothing ever happens. But the news of the missing baby has brought darkness to the community. It is as if someone or something wicked is playing a game. As the wind blows and the mist thickens, tensions rise amongst the villagers as everyone falls under suspicion. And when the rumours begin and secrets start to unravel, the quiet village of Hindelheim is set to change for ever.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Historical crime fiction is enjoying something of a golden moment and with her often ingenious and unusual debut, Jenny Mayhew adds significantly to the genre. -- The Scotsman

Mayhew can definitely write... with a richness and intelligence, and never a sense of showing-off... [ A Wolf in Hindelheim has] a wide-reaching subject matter pinned down to a strong plot; and in every short chapter a sign that this is an author to watch. -- The Bookbag

About the Author

Jenny Mayhew has worked as a TV researcher, studied International Relations in Sri Lanka and written film screenplays on both contemporary and historical storylines. In 2003, she was nominated for a BAFTA special achievement award for her screenplay for To Kill a King. Jenny has a doctorate in English literature and has taught creative writing courses at Oxford, Bristol and Manchester. She now lives in Edinburgh. A Wolf in Hindelheim is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

6th March 2014

Author

Jenny Mayhew

More books by Jenny Mayhew
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Windmill Books an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780099558972

Lovereading is pitched at just the right level for all the various types of people who enjoy reading in its many forms.

Pam Woodburn

I love the newsletter with reviews of all the new books coming out. Can't wait to open it when it arrives in my inbox.

Rachel Aygin

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

A well laid out site, I love the fact that is separates paranormal fiction from fantasy and horror, which other sites don't.

Jen Rainbow

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

Hooked on books? Give Lovereading a go - for the chance to discover brilliant books, and to see why our members love it so.

Claire Hill

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools