books of the month win prizes join us on facebook
Search our site
The Course of History Ten Meals That Changed the World by Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh Read the opening extract of the brand new Struan Stevenson, Tony Singh book before its publication on 24/10/2017

A Wolf in Hindelheim by Jenny Mayhew
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Rural Germany in 1926 and a man damaged from the trenches returns to his very changed village and a family he hardly recognises. A baby goes missing and suspicion for its disappearance falls on a young Jewish boy. This is a gripping and atmospheric historical mystery with an intriguing plot but it’s the changing times and attitudes that really dominate here as a new world clashes with the old. It is a lovely book, highly recommended.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a signed copy of stunning debut Blue Light Yokohama

We have 10 signed copies (using signed book plates) of Blue Light Yokohama, a stunning debut novel. It is a beautifully plotted police procedural set in Japan by Nicolas Obregon, a new British author. Evocative and serpentine, this marks the debut of a fresh new voice and a remarkable maverick detective with a difference.

To have a chance of winning this fantastic prize, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 6 November 2017. The winners will be notified by 12th November 2017.

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 06/11/2017

Synopsis

A Wolf in Hindelheim by Jenny Mayhew

This is an atmospheric and gripping novel from an exciting new voice for fans of The Snow Child and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. South-West Germany, 1926. The disappearance of a baby girl calls for Constable Theodore Hildebrandt and his son Klaus to visit the remote village of Hindelheim, a place where nothing ever happens. But the news of the missing baby has brought darkness to the community. It is as if someone or something wicked is playing a game. As the wind blows and the mist thickens, tensions rise amongst the villagers as everyone falls under suspicion. And when the rumours begin and secrets start to unravel, the quiet village of Hindelheim is set to change for ever.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Historical crime fiction is enjoying something of a golden moment and with her often ingenious and unusual debut, Jenny Mayhew adds significantly to the genre. -- The Scotsman

Mayhew can definitely write... with a richness and intelligence, and never a sense of showing-off... [ A Wolf in Hindelheim has] a wide-reaching subject matter pinned down to a strong plot; and in every short chapter a sign that this is an author to watch. -- The Bookbag

About the Author

Jenny Mayhew has worked as a TV researcher, studied International Relations in Sri Lanka and written film screenplays on both contemporary and historical storylines. In 2003, she was nominated for a BAFTA special achievement award for her screenplay for To Kill a King. Jenny has a doctorate in English literature and has taught creative writing courses at Oxford, Bristol and Manchester. She now lives in Edinburgh. A Wolf in Hindelheim is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

6th March 2014

Author

Jenny Mayhew

More books by Jenny Mayhew
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Windmill Books an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
320 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780099558972

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

It gives a chance to read about new titles, invites comments from all kinds of readers and is run by such a nice bunch of book lovers.

Joy Bosworth

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading - a community of people passionate about reading and sharing their views. An incomparable website for book lovers.

Helen Clark

Lovereading is a wonderful way to expand my literary horizons, discover inspiring authors & get the chance to read new novels first. #loveit

Zarina de Ruiter

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools