Win a Family Weekend Break with Lovereading and VisitWiltshire - click here for details...

tudor queens series debuts of the month
Search our site
The Guilty Wife by Elle Croft Read the opening extract of the brand new Elle Croft book before its publication on 25/01/2018

A Wolf in Hindelheim by Jenny Mayhew
  

Sarah Broadhurst's view...

Rural Germany in 1926 and a man damaged from the trenches returns to his very changed village and a family he hardly recognises. A baby goes missing and suspicion for its disappearance falls on a young Jewish boy. This is a gripping and atmospheric historical mystery with an intriguing plot but it’s the changing times and attitudes that really dominate here as a new world clashes with the old. It is a lovely book, highly recommended.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Win a SIGNED copy of The Wanderers and The Horseman!

To mark the release of second book in The West Country Trilogy by Tim Pears, we are giving away a SIGNED copy of both The Horseman and The Wanderers to THREE lucky winners!

To have a chance of winning one of these fantastic prizes, click the button below. Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once.

The draw closes on 12 February 2018. The winners will be notified by 19 February 2018,

Good luck!

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 12/02/2018

Synopsis

A Wolf in Hindelheim by Jenny Mayhew

This is an atmospheric and gripping novel from an exciting new voice for fans of The Snow Child and The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared. South-West Germany, 1926. The disappearance of a baby girl calls for Constable Theodore Hildebrandt and his son Klaus to visit the remote village of Hindelheim, a place where nothing ever happens. But the news of the missing baby has brought darkness to the community. It is as if someone or something wicked is playing a game. As the wind blows and the mist thickens, tensions rise amongst the villagers as everyone falls under suspicion. And when the rumours begin and secrets start to unravel, the quiet village of Hindelheim is set to change for ever.


Browse inside this book

Reviews

Historical crime fiction is enjoying something of a golden moment and with her often ingenious and unusual debut, Jenny Mayhew adds significantly to the genre. -- The Scotsman

Mayhew can definitely write... with a richness and intelligence, and never a sense of showing-off... [ A Wolf in Hindelheim has] a wide-reaching subject matter pinned down to a strong plot; and in every short chapter a sign that this is an author to watch. -- The Bookbag

About the Author

Jenny Mayhew has worked as a TV researcher, studied International Relations in Sri Lanka and written film screenplays on both contemporary and historical storylines. In 2003, she was nominated for a BAFTA special achievement award for her screenplay for To Kill a King. Jenny has a doctorate in English literature and has taught creative writing courses at Oxford, Bristol and Manchester. She now lives in Edinburgh. A Wolf in Hindelheim is her first novel.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

6th March 2014

Author

Jenny Mayhew

More books by Jenny Mayhew
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Publisher

Windmill Books an imprint of Cornerstone

Format

Paperback
352 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780099558972

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

If you love reading, then you'll love Lovereading! Full of tips & info for every discerning reader.

Lynne Rapson

The books for review are always great reads, brilliantly written, and introduces me to a huge variety of, established and new, authors.

Lesley Hart

I love that Lovereading handpicks very special debut reads.

Magda North

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

It's a lively, independent website with reviews, recommendations and more - with a huge range of books available to buy in all formats.

Alison Layland

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools