Are you between 5 and 25? If so, enter the Wicked Young Writer Awards NOW - click here for details...

newgen books for YA readers join us on facebook
Search our site
Last Letter from Istanbul by Lucy Foley Read the opening extract of the brand new Lucy Foley book before its publication on 19/03/2018

The Stone Boy by Sophie Loubiere
  

Lovereading view...

The Stone Boy is an award-winning and darkly atmospheric psychological thriller from a critically acclaimed French author. Packed with shocking twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Barbara Vine and Erin Kelly, Madame Preau's story will hold you entranced until the very last page.

Synopsis

The Stone Boy by Sophie Loubiere

When the elderly Madame Preau returns to her own house after several years spent in a convalescent home, she immediately notices that the neighbourhood has changed. A new family has moved in next door and, from her window, she watches their three children playing in the garden after school. Two of the children seem perfectly healthy, but Madame Preau is struck by the third child, who seems listless and stands apart from the others. When she reports this to social services, they refuse to believe her. Cut off some years ago from her own grandson, she begins a mission to help this boy, even when those around her start to fear for her sanity.

Reviews

'An absorbing psychological thriller.' Marcel Berlins - The Times

'Translated in a deliciously forthright style by Nora Mahony, The Stone Boy mischievously toys with the reader's expectations, blending elements from the traditional mystery tale with those of the paranormal...The irascible and irrepressible Madame Preau makes for a delightfully ambiguous protagonist, and Loubiere deftly plots a compelling tale that is as poignantly heartbreaking as it is thrilling.' Irish Times

'A thoroughly menacing psychological thriller.' Morning Star

About the Author

Sophie Loubiere is the author of five novels, including The Stone Boy, for which she won the French Prix Lion Noir for crime writing in 2011.

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

25th February 2014

Author

Sophie Loubiere

More books by Sophie Loubiere
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Trapdoor an imprint of Little, Brown Book Group

Format

Paperback
384 pages

Categories

Thriller / Suspense
Crime / Mystery
eBook Favourites

Crime & mystery

ISBN

9781847445834

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

With literary excellence, humour and drama, Lovereading's got value and is a real stress-calmer!

Siobhan McDowell

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

As for why I'd recommend Lovereading, it's simple - it's a great place to get information and reviews about new books!

Margaret Freeman

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools