All Editions of The Journey After the Crown

by Andrew Mackie

The Journey After the Crown

The Journey After the Crown

Author: Andrew Mackie Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/04/2022

Set against the sizzling backdrop of Queen Elizabeth II and Prince Philip’s first royal tour to Australia, this is historical fiction simmering with the drama of banquets and betrayal, seduction and scandal! For identical twins Daisy and Violet Chettle, stepping aboard the royal ship marks the start of a new chapter in their lives. A chance to serve at the very highest level, and the opportunity to leave behind the tragedies of their own shared past. Daisy won’t stop at anything for a taste of the high life – much to her sister’s outrage. But when Violet’s own secrets catch up with her on the other side of the world, their fragile relationship grows ever more turbulent. Andrew Mackie has created a tantalising world inhabited by characters that are both desirable and despicable, often behaving badly behind the façade of regal splendor. The consequences are heartbreaking, unexpected and sometimes comical - but that’s all part of the book’s charm. You’re never quite sure how the drama will unfold from chapter to chapter! The Journey after the Crown is most definitely a piece of fiction. But isn’t it thrilling to imagine how life behind the scenes of the real tour of 1954 may have played out? Mackie has given the Queen’s landmark trip the Bridgerton treatment to brilliant effect; the writing sparkles like Queen Elizabeth’s sumptuous wardrobe and the secrets concealed below deck match the intensity of the adoring crowds and landscape above.

eBooks of the Month
The Journey After the Crown

The Journey After the Crown

Author: Andrew Mackie Format: Ebook Release Date: 13/04/2022

A young Queen. Two sisters. A voyage that will change their fates forever. Nineteen-year-old identical twins Violet and Daisie Chettle can hardly believe their luck when they are recruited as maids on newly crowned Queen Elizabeth II's royal ship. It's just the ticket they need away from cold, grey London and the tension that's been brewing at home since the tragic loss of their parents. But the 1954 royal tour to Australia, is a far cry from the glitz and glamour they had imagined. Life below deck is hard-work, and whilst Violet is prepared to keep her head down and be seen and not heard, Daisie has her sights on doing everything she can to hang up her apron and mingle above deck - even if it means leaving Violet behind. But as Daisie begins to win royal favour, she receives a letter from London. The sisters can't outrun their past any longer... Violet has committed an unspeakable act of betrayal that will change their relationship forever. With their positions on the tour hanging in the balance, have the sisters ventured too far from home to ever find their way back? Set against the stunning backdrop of Queen Elizabeth's first royal tour with Prince Phillip prepare to be swept away with this upstairs-downstairs drama, perfect for fans of The Crown and Downton Abbey

eBooks of the Month
The Journey After the Crown

The Journey After the Crown

Author: Andrew Mackie Format: Audiobook Release Date: 13/04/2022

A young Queen. Two sisters. A voyage that will change their fates forever. Nineteen-year-old identical twins Violet and Daisie Chettle can hardly believe their luck when they are recruited as maids on newly crowned Queen Elizabeth II's royal ship. It's just the ticket they need away from cold, grey London and the tension that's been brewing at home since the tragic loss of their parents. But the 1954 royal tour to Australia, is a far cry from the glitz and glamour they had imagined. Life below deck is hard-work, and whilst Violet is prepared to keep her head down and be seen and not heard, Daisie has her sights on doing everything she can to hang up her apron and mingle above deck - even if it means leaving Violet behind. But as Daisie begins to win royal favour, she receives a letter from London. The sisters can't outrun their past any longer... Violet has committed an unspeakable act of betrayal that will change their relationship forever. With their positions on the tour hanging in the balance, have the sisters ventured too far from home to ever find their way back? Set against the stunning backdrop of Queen Elizabeth's first royal tour with Prince Phillip prepare to be swept away with this upstairs-downstairs drama, perfect for fans of The Crown and Downton Abbey

eBooks of the Month