Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Winner: Inside the Wave

The Winner of the 2017 Costa Book of the Year Award is the poetry collection, Inside the Wave by Helen Dunmore. Wendy Holden, chair of the final judges, said: "We all felt this is a modern classic; a fantastic collection, life affirming and uplifting. The poems carry powerful messages that speak to all of us."

Costa Book Awards 2017

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

The judging panel for the 2017 Costa Book Awards includes: Sandeep Mahal, Sophie Raworth, Simon Garfield, Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Nicholas Wroe, Fiona Noble and Piers Torday.

The judges will select their favourite book in each category in early January and these books will then be shortlisted for the 2017 Costa Book of the Year. The overall winner was announced at an awards ceremony in central London on Tuesday 30th January 2018.

The winner receives a £30,000 prize.

For more information visit and keep up with the latest news @CostaBookAwards