Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Winner: The Cut Out Girl

Bart van Es' winning novel has been described by the judges as "the hidden gem of the year" and uses his own family history to recall holocaust survival and the Dutch resistance during WWII.

Costa First Novel Award 2018 Shortlisted Titles

WINNER - The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

Costa Poetry Award 2018 Shortlisted titles

WINNER - Assurances by J. O. Morgan

Costa Children's Book Award 2018 Shortlisted titles

WINNER - The Skylarks' War by Hilary McKay

Costa Book Awards 2019

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

The judging panel for the 2018 Costa Book Awards includes: Emma Corfield Walters, Nina Pottell, Sathnam Sanghera, Justine Jordan, Rachel Joyce, Zool Verjee, Paula Byrne, Anita Sethi, Paul Wallace, Mimi Khalvati, James Munroe, Sameer Rahim, Rick O'Shea, Fleur Sinclair, Imogen Russell Williams.

The judges will select their favourite book in each category and these books will then be shortlisted for the 2018 Costa Book of the Year. The overall winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in central London on Monday 29th January 2019. 

For more information visit and keep up with the latest news @CostaBookAwards