The Polari Prizes are the UK’s leading book awards for LGBTQ+ writing. First Book Prize is awarded annually to a debut book that explores the LGBTQ+ experience, and has previously been won by writers including Kirsty Logan, Diriye Osman, Amrou Al- Kadhi and last year’s winner Mohsin Zaidi for his coming-of-age memoir A Dutiful Boy.

A Dutiful Boy

The Polari Prize also awards an overall book of the year, excluding debuts, and previous winners include Andrew McMillan (Playtime), Kate Davies (In At the Deep End) and last year’s winner Diana Souhami for No Modernism Without Lesbians.

No Modernism Without Lesbians

Books by Shon Faye, Juno Dawson, Alan Cumming and Alice Oseman have been longlisted for the 2022 Polari Prizes for LGBTQ+ literature following a record number of submissions. 

Of the brand new Polari Children’s and YA longlist, chair of the judges Jodie Lancet-Grant said: “It was a total delight to read so many brilliant, joyous and uplifting queer books for children and young people. It is so important that all children see themselves and their families reflected in the stories they read and how lucky we are that so many talented authors and illustrators are helping us do just that.”

Paul Burston, Polari Salon founder, said: “Since the launch of the Polari First Book Prize way back in 2011, watching the awards grow year on year has been so encouraging and so rewarding. With the addition of the new prize for books for younger readers, the awards now celebrate LGBTQ+ writing in all its many varieties and send a clear message to the publishing industry and the wider community – we’re here, we’re queer and our stories are worthy of being told.”

The full longlists for each category are as follows: 

The Polari First Book Prize

Camp Fear – Tom Bland 

These Great Athenians – Valentine Carter 

Lessons in Love and other Crimes – Elizabeth Chakrabarty

The Transgender Issue – Shon Faye 

All The Things She Said – Daisy Jones 

The Split – Laura Kay 

Fetch Your Mother’s Heart – lisa luxx 

This Much is True – Miriam Margolyes 

The Right to Sex – Amia Srinivasan 

Rotten Days in Late Summer – Ralf Webb 

The Go-Between – Osman Yousefzada 

Deep Sniff – Adam Zmith

The Polari Prize

Address Book – Neil Bartlett =

Valentine Ackland – Frances Bingham

Scent – Isabel Costello 

Baggage – Alan Cumming 

Lullaby Beach – Stella Duffy 

All of You Every Single One – Beatrice Hitchman 

The Great Good Time – Roz Kaveney 

The Origins of Iris – Beth Lewis

Rocksong – Golnoosh Nour 

C*nto and Othered Poems – Joelle Taylor 

The Dinner Guest – BP Walter 

Records of an Incitement to Silence – Gregory Woods 

The Polari Children’s and YA Prize

Ace of Spades – Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé 

The Accidental Diary of B.U.G – Jen Carney 

Wranglestone – Darren Charlton 

Adam-2 – Alastair Chilsholm 

Stay Another Day – Juno Dawson 

What’s the T? – Juno Dawson 

Nen and the Lonely Fisherman – Ian Eagleton and James Mayhew 

Queerly Autistic – Erin Ekins 

Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating – Adiba Jaigirdar 

Loveless – Alice Oseman 

Not My Problem – Ciara Smyth

Grandad’s Camper – Harry Woodgate 

The Polari First Book Prize and Polari Prize shortlists will be announced on 1st September at The Printworks, Hastings. The Polari Children’s and YA Prize shortlist will be announced on 10th September at the Book Nook, Hove.