Irish Book Awards 2021 Winners are Revealed

The winners of the An Post Irish Book Awards 2021 were announced at an online ceremony yesterday evening, 23rd November. 

Exclusively Irish, inclusive in every other sense, the Awards bring together the entire literary community – readers, authors, booksellers, publishers and librarians – and celebrating Irish writing.

A record number of votes from the Irish public saw Maureen Gaffney, Séamas O’Reilly, Sally Rooney, Louise Nealon, Fintan O’Toole, Laura De Barra, Keith Earls and Tadgh Mac Dhonnagain among the winners.

Eason Novel of the Year

Beautiful World, Where Are You by Sally Rooney

Irish Independent Crime Fiction Book of the Year

56 Days by Catherine Ryan Howard

Eason Sport Book of the Year in Association with Ireland AM

Fight Or Flight: My Life, My Choices by Keith Earls, with Tommy Conlon

Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year 

Snowflake by Louise Nealon

Odgers Berndtson Non-Fiction Book of the Year

We Don't Know Ourselves: A Personal History of Ireland Since 1958 by Fintan O'Toole

Dubray Biography of the Year

Did Ye Hear Mammy Died? by Séamas O'Reilly

Bookselling Ireland Cookbook of the Year

Everyday Cook by Donal Skehan

National Book Tokens Popular Fiction Book of the Year 

Aisling and the City by Emer McLysaght and Sarah Breen

Bookstation Lifestyle Book of the Year

Décor Galore by Laura De Barra Best Irish Published Book of the Year

The Coastal Atlas of Ireland by Val Cummins, Robert Devoy, Barry Brunt, Darius Bartlett, Sarah Kandrot

Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Junior)

A Hug for You by David King, illustrated by Rhiannon Archard

Specsavers Children's Book of the Year (Senior)

The Summer I Robbed a Bank by David O'Doherty, illustrated by Chris Judge

Teen and Young Adult Book of the Year

The New Girl by Sinead Moriarty

RTÉ Audience Choice Award

Your One Wild And Precious Life by Maureen Gaffney

Library Association of Ireland Author of the Year

Marian Keyes Short Story of the Year

"Little Lives" by Deirdre Sullivan

Listowel Writers' Week Irish Poem of the Year

"Longboat at Portaferry" by Siobhan Campbell

The Love Leabhar Gaeilge Irish Language Book of the Year

Madame Lazare by Tadgh Mac Dhonnagain

The An Post Bookshop of the Year

Kennys Bookshop and Art Gallery, Galway

The Bob Hughes Lifetime Achievement Award went to Sebastian Barry.

Comments (0)

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.