LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The 7 YA Fiction Books You Should Be Reading!

Charlotte Walker

By Charlotte Walker on 22nd May 2019

Across LoveReading we celebrate reading in all forms. We have LoveReading4Kids to focus on the wonderful array of great children's books, encouraging children to develop creatively or ask questions about the world around them. We have LoveReading4Schools, a space that focuses on books which help encourage reading for pleasure as well as resources for teachers, school librarians and parents. Then, we have LoveReading which is packed full of amazing books for every adult reader. 

But things aren't always as black and white as that, Harry Potter is a very obvious example of a children's book that is loved by all ages, and then we have YA Fiction Books. Focusing on coming-of-age, these books are perfect for teens but tackle emotions and situations that can engross adult readers too. This cross-over appeal is why we not only have 13+ and YA sections on LoveReading4Kids but also have the 'new gen' / YA Fiction genre on LoveReading. 

Personally, I will always have a space on my bookshelf for Young Adult Fiction books. The genre was the focus of my undergraduate dissertation and the opportunity to step into a teenage character's shoes and experience the highs and the lows of coming-of-age. It's also really nostalgic (albeit, it reminds me of curling up and reading YA Fiction as a teen!)

So, without further ado - discover some amazing new YA Fiction books that are perfect for anyone to sink their teeth in to:

All We Could Have Been, T. E Carter

All We Could Have Been YA Fiction Book Cover 

The novel is brilliant in its portrayal of relatable real-life, coming-of-age universals  - fitting in, standing out, anxieties, friendships, falling in love  - within the context of Lexi’s agonising situation. Her story is impressively honest in its portrayal of life’s darknesses, and also shot-through with heart and hope as she finds friends she can truly trust, and her own inner strength to survive.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

Serious Moonlight, Jenn Bennett

Serious Moonlight YA Fiction Book CoverUnderpinned by relatable real-life complications and curveballs aplenty, this engaging feast of young adult fiction fizzes with multiple mysteries and the jittery joys of first love. Head here to discover the author’s previous novels, which come equally recommended for their compassionate championing of offbeat, authentic young adult characters.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

Toffee, Sarah Crossan

Toffee YA Fiction Book Cover

The writing is compellingly fluid, flowing freely between Allison’s precarious present and the tragic, abusive circumstances that sent her careering down this path. While fleeting, the impact of their time together is monumental, and I felt privileged to have spent time in their company.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

Opposite of Always, Justin Reynolds

Opposite of Always YA Fiction Book CoverTake away the pulse-quickening time travel element and you’d still have a novel heated by much heart and humour. With it, this is a firework of urgent, impactful YA fiction, a book that’s ablaze with tough choices and all kinds of love. Throughout there’s a whole lot of heart-melting cuteness - the trio’s friendship, the sweet relationship between Franny and Jillian, Jack’s parents’ perfect marriage. The plot progression and developments revealed through the various play-outs of the past are brain-flippingly smart, with twists wending through to Jack’s desperate need for “one more re-set to undo this tragedy”. Reader, I cried on the bus.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

We Are Blood And Thunder, Kesia Lupo

We Are Blood and Thunder YA Fiction Book Cover

This lithe and lucidly lyrical YA fiction debut is a delectable treat for fans of inventive, trope-busting fantasy. 

Immersive world building, intriguing characters, unexpected twists – this is a smart and atmospheric debut from an author to watch, and comes recommended for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Melinda Salisbury.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

The Gifted, the Talented and Me, William Sutcliffe

The Gifted The Talented and Me YA Fiction Book Cover

This entertaining romp around pressures to fit in and teenage boy-dom in all its involuntary undercarriage-twitching awkwardness truly shows the diverse talent of its author, whose previous YA fiction novels are every bit as brilliant, but have heavier themes. This is a laugh-out-loud witty wonder of a book.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

Piglettes, Clementine Beauvais

Piglettes YA Fiction Book Cover

Suffused in the exuberance of a yellow-jersey-wearing cyclist freewheeling down the Champs-Élysées with a bottle of Champagne, this wildly witty novel tells of three fine young women who rise above body-shaming bullies to become Queens of the Mountain.

What an inspired, amusing, enchanting ride this is.

Joanne Owen, Expert Reviewer

Comments (0)


Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.