Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

Christmas Gift Guide: Festive Reads

By Charlotte Walker on 2nd November 2018

Christmas is here, bringing good cheer

To young and old, meek and the bold

It's the perfect time to start getting ready for Christmas, and the best way to get into the festive spirit is to settle down with a hot chocolate and a festive, feel-good book. There are lots of fabulous books out there that will get you ready for the "most wonderful time of the year", but here are some that we think you will love.

A Gift From the Comfort Food Café 

This is the latest in Debbie Johnson's Comfort Food Café series, and out Editorial Expert Liz Robinson fell in love:

Ahh, what a lovely, engaging read this is, there is also an edge to be found too, which makes it particularly relatable. Katie has made running away from difficult times an art form, now she is settled on the Dorset coast with her four-year-old son, she is determined to stay put. A Gift from the Comfort Good Café forms part of the 'Comfort Food Café' series of books, it reads quite beautifully as a standalone, yet you will recognise the other characters and of course the café if you’re already a fan. The romance is of course as delicious as the cake on offer and a light sparkling sense of fun bounces from the pages. All in all a quite gorgeous and beautifully comforting read.

Christmas at the Beach Hut

Veronica Henry is back with a beautiful book that is bound to make you think of what's important during these busy times of year family. Liz had this to say:

This gorgeous festive book sweeps you up in a great big squishy loving hug. A glorious beach hut acts as a haven for Lizzy after she runs away from the stress of Christmas. Will her family realise what they are missing without her there to cater to their every need, and can Lizzy fall back in love with Christmas? Christmas at the Beach Hut is a book you can curl up with, relax into, and really enjoy, and it is also perfect for anyone who adores Christmas in all its wonderful slightly mad glory.

The Perfect Fit

The second in the 'Love in the Dales' series by Mary Jane Baker, this wonderful romance isn't quite a Christmas book, but the story focuses on the planning of the Egglethwaite Christmas Pantomime. 

A delightfully warm and easy to sink into romance. Becky returns home to the Yorkshire Dales, wanting to fit back into the local community she and a group of villagers decide a Christmas Pantomime may just save the local village hall. There are some wonderfully larger than life supporting characters who certainly encouraged several smirks to come forth and there are enough pantomime innuendos to please the most devilish of dames! I could see where The Perfect Fit was heading, and that was the joy of the read, as it was comforting, supportive, and highly entertaining.

A Ration Book Christmas

A family-focused Christmas story, A Ration Book Christmas follows the Brogan family as they brave the horrors of the Blitz. Read how the family work to pull off a traditional family Christmas among the devastated buildings and hardships of rationing. Here are Liz's thoughts:

A lovely, fascinating, proper treat of a read set during the Blitz of World War Two. The Brogan family sit at the heart of A Ration Book Christmas which is the start of a new saga series. Concentrating on sisters Jo and Mattie, we see their lives unfold as the bombing raids take their toll. I let myself simply sink into the story, and it wrapped itself cosily around me. Romance, gossip, scandal, pain, friendship and love make their mark and I was left wanting to know more about this family. A Ration Book Christmas is food for the soul, it’s simply deliciously readable and enjoyable.

The Christmas Sisters

Sarah Morgan, author of How to Keep a Secret (one of our hits from the summer) has released a festive read full of family, romance and drama.

Suzanne McBride is eager to have all her family home for a big happy Christmas. But in this story (as in life) things don't necessarily turn out that way. Old tensions arise in their Scottish Highland home and while Suzanne fights to create the perfect family Christmas, old issues need to be addressed before anyone can move forward. This is a brilliant book that will have you laughing out loud in some parts and falling in love in others. 

Miss Marley

Perfect for fans of A Christmas Carol, Vanessa LaFaye's book is a reworking of a tale everyone knows so well. A Dickensian prequel that is filled with ghosts, hope and goodwill - the perfect festive read taken from a traditional christmas classic.

Clara and Jacob Marley are orphans, forced to live on their wits and scavenge what they can in London's alleyways. the children dream of a better life and Jacob Marley promises his little sister things will improve. When an opportunity to escape poverty comes their way, they grab for it, and so Jacob Marley starts on the path to his partnership with Ebenezer Scrooge.

I hope this quick guide will help you find the perfect gift for you!

Click here to check out our full Christmas Gift Guide for the perfect gift this Christmas!