Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

The Comedy Women in Print Prize 2019 - Longlist Announced!


By LoveReading on 3rd April 2019

On the 30th March, the longlist of the first Comedy Women in Print Prize was announced. The CWIP has been split into two categories, Published Writers and Unpublished Writers in order to support and give recognition to the amazingly funny women writers out there.

The twelve witty women writers include the Sunday Times Bestsellers Gail Honeyman, (Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine), Lindsey Kelk (One in a Million), Jane Fallon (Tell Me A Secret), Gill Simms (Why Mummy Drinks), and A. J. Pearce (Dear Mrs Bird) as well as some hilarious up-and-coming, and previously unpublished authors. 

The Full Longlist for Comedy Fiction by Published Female Writers is:

• Dear Mrs Bird by AJ Pearce (Picador)

• Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman     (Harper Collins)

• Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows by Balli Kaur Jaswal (Harper   Collins)

• Faking Friends by Jane Fallon (Penguin Random House)

• Forging On by Catherine Robinson (Orion)

• Hot Mess by Lucy Vine (Orion)

• Killing It by Asia Mackay (Bonnier Zaffre)

• Miss Blaine’s Prefect and the Golden Samovar by Olga Wojta     (Contraband/Saraband)

• One in a Million by Lindsey Kelk (Harper Collins)

• The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven (Electric Monkey)

• The Wedding Date by Zara Stoneley (HarperImpulse)

• Why Mummy Swears by Gill Sims (Harper Collins)

The Full Longlist for the Comedy Fiction by Unpublished Female Writers is:

• Captain Mintcake by Kristen Bailey

• The Ladies' Guide to Finding Love by Helen Doyle

• I Blame Jane Austen by Laura Dugdale

• Cow Girl by Kirsty Eyre

• The Kiss of Death by Stella Glorie

• TEFLland by Catherine Higgins-Moore

• The Best Days by Catherine Knight

• New Year at the Duck and Grapes by Jo Lovett-Turner

• The Lonely Fajita by Abigail Mann

• Love is Strange by Lotte Mullan

• It's (Not) Unusual by Sarah Palmer

• Little Lives Like Mine by Eva Verde

The Comedy Women In Print (CWIP) prize aims to bring female comedy writing the exposure and recognition it deserves. All of the books that were selected for the longlist are different but are linked by their humour. Each of the twelve longlisted books embraces a rich and varied backdrop of witty content. 

The CWIP judges now have to whittle the longlist down to a shortlist, which will be announced on the 30th May, with the winner of the inaugural prize announced at a CWIP party, held at The Conduit, London on the 10th July. 

The Judges

There are three Judges on the judging panel who will be joined by an additional three judges for the Published Prize, and six additional judges for the Unpublished writers prize.

The members of the judging panel are:

  • Allison Pearson
  • Marian Keyes
  • Jennifer Young

The Judges for the Published Writers Prize are:

  • Katy Brand
  • Kathy Lette
  • Shazia Mizra

The Judges for the Unpublished Writers' Prize are:

  • Martha Ashby
  • Fanny Blake 
  • Susan Calman
  • Jenny Éclair
  • Lara Marshall
  • Karen McPherson

The Prize

The winning author in the published category will be offered a £2000 cash reward, with £250 awarded to each shortlisted author. Alongside this the CWIP Prize will offer the winner of the unpublished category a publishing contract and a £5000 advance with HarperFiction, the unpublished runner-up will receive a free place on the MA course in Creative Writing at the University of Hertfordshire.

For more information head to the Comedy Women in Print Website.

You can also keep up to date on social media:

Facebook: @CWIPprize



Comments (0)

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.