Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

IPG'S 2019 Independent Publishing Awards


By LoveReading on 15th April 2019

The Independent Publishers Guild (IPG) has announced the shortlists for the 2019 Independent Publishing Awards. The IPG sets out to encourage the enthusiasm and creativity of independent publishers while also helping to acknowledge their contribution to the UK publishing industry. The IPG also supports publishers to do better business and become a part of a real community. 

The shortlists for the 13th annual Awards highlight the diversity and creativity of independent publishing. Please find the 12 shortlists below:

IPG Trade Publisher of the Year

Atlantic Books, Bloomsbury Publishing, Elliott & Thompson, Faber & Faber

Blackwell’s Children’s Publisher of the Year

Bloomsbury Children’s Books, Nosy Crow, Wonderbly

ProQuest Academic and Professional Publisher of the Year

Bloomsbury Publishing, Academic and Professional Division,

Class Publishing, Kogan Page, SAGE Publishing

PLS Education Publisher of the Year

Bloomsbury Publishing, Crown House Publishing

IPG Specialist Consumer Publisher of the Year

Cicerone Press, Nick Hern Books, SPCK

Nick Robinson Newcomer Award

404 Ink, Muswell Press, UCLan Publishing

The Bookseller International Achievement Award

Jolly Learning, Kogan Page, Nosy Crow, Sweet Cherry Publishing

Haremi Digital Publishing Award

Bloomsbury Publishing, Class Publishing, Search Press, SPCK

IPG Marketing Award

Nosy Crow, Pluto Press, Walker Books

Alison Morrison Diversity Award

Aurora Metro Books, Carcanet Press, Zed Books

Inspired Selection Young Independent Publisher of the Year

Gemma Butler, How2Become; Ola Gotkowska, Nosy Crow;

Zeshan Qureshi, Zeshan Qureshi Ltd

GBS Services to Independent Publishers Award

BooksoniX, Inpress, Turnaround Publisher Services

The winners of the 12 awards will be announced at a Gala Dinner during the IGP's Spring Conference on Thursday 2nd May 2019. This year's lists are a combination of long-established publishing names as well as newer start-ups. In addition to the winners of the 12 awards being revealed at the Spring Conference Gala Dinner, the title f Ingram Content Group Independent Publisher of the Year will be chosen from a shortlist, created from the winners of the five Publisher of the Year categories.

LoveReading would like to congratulate all of the publishers shortlisted, and wish them luck for the rest of the competition.

If you would like to find out more about the IPG Independent Publishing Awards, please head to the IPG website.

Keep up to date with IPG

Facebook: @independentpublishersguild

Twitter: @ipghq

Comments (0)

Leave A Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.