LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Piers Torday - Author

About the Author

Books by Piers Torday

The Frozen Sea

The Frozen Sea

Author: Piers Torday Format: Hardback Release Date: 05/09/2019

'If you can imagine it, it exists ... somewhere.' The second incredible instalment of a spellbinding fantasy adventure from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Last Wild trilogy. It is 1984 and forty years since Simon, Patricia and Evelyn and Larry first stepped through a magical library door into the enchanted world of Folio. When Patricia's daughter, Jewel, makes a mysterious discovery in an old bookshop, she begins a quest that will make her question everything she thought she knew. Summoned to Folio, she must rescue her missing aunt, helped only by her rude pet hamster Fizz and a malfunctioning robot. Their mission to the Frozen Sea will bring them face-to-face with a danger both more deadly and more magnificent than they ever imagined. What Jewel discovers will change not just who she thinks she is, but who we all think we are...

The Lost Magician

The Lost Magician

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/06/2018

'If you can imagine it, it exists ... somewhere.' The new spellbinding fantasy adventure from the bestselling, award-winning author of The Last Wild trilogy. 1945. They have survived the Blitz, but when Simon, Patricia, Evelyn and Larry step through a mysterious library door, it is the beginning of their most dangerous adventure yet. They discover the magical world of Folio, where an enchanted kingdom of fairy knights, bears and tree gods is under threat from a sinister robot army. The many stories of the Library are locked in eternal war, and the children's only hope is to find their creator - a magician who has been lost for centuries. What they find will change not just their own lives, but the fate of the world, for ever ... An ode to the world of Narnia, The Lost Magician is a classic in the making from one of the UK's most talented children's authors. Praise for Piers Torday: 'the new master of books for children who like magic and modernity with their lust for adventure' - The Times

Box of Delights

Box of Delights

Author: Piers Torday Format: eBook Release Date: 28/12/2017

Kay Harker is heading home for the school holidays. Recently orphaned, he knows this Christmas will be different but nothing could prepare him for the journey that lies ahead. On the train he meets an old magician, Cole Hawlings, who charges Kay with safeguarding a wondrous device that has time-travelling powers. It's an instrument that Cole's nemesis, the wicked sorcerer Abner Brown, will stop at nothing to steal for himself. And so when the old man mysteriously disappears, Kay faces the fight of his life. He must protect both the Box of Delights and, with it, the people he loves. The Box of Delights is a magical and festive adventure in which one boy must confront the secrets of the past to defeat the evil in his present. The future of Christmas itself depends upon him.Adapted for the stage for the first time by Piers Today, John Masefield's much-loved classic The Box of Delightspremiered at Wilton's Music Hall in December 2017.'One of the greatest children's books ever written.' The Times

There May Be a Castle

There May Be a Castle

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/10/2017

A remarkable story about love, loss and the power of the imagination, from an award-winning, celebrated writer for children. On a frozen Christmas Eve, Mouse Mallory and his family set off across a snow-white valley to visit his grandparents. They never arrive. As the wheels skid off the icy road, Mouse is thrown from the car. When he wakes, he finds himself in a magical landscape, with only a talkative sheep and a very bossy horse for company. And they tell him: this is your story now. So begins Mouse's extraordinary quest through a world of wonder. A world of monsters, minstrels, dangerous knights and mysterious wizards; a world of terrifying danger but also more excitement than Mouse has ever known. All to find a castle, somewhere, beyond. But why is Mouse looking for a castle? As thoughts of his family back at the car begin to surface, Mouse realises this might be the most important journey he will ever make ... This is a novel about love and death. It's about the power of stories to change the way we view the world - and it's about the power of a child to change their own world. Emotionally arresting but ultimately uplifting, this is a remarkable novel for our times.

There May Be a Castle

There May Be a Castle

Author: Piers Torday Format: Hardback Release Date: 06/10/2016

A remarkable story about love and death from the winner of the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize Eleven-year-old Mouse is travelling to see his grandparents on Christmas Eve with his mother and two sisters. But it's snowing, and visibility is bad, and the car goes off the road, and crashes. Mouse is thrown from the car. When he wakes, he's not in his world any more. He meets a sheep named Bar, who can only say Baaa, and a sarcastic horse named Nonky, who is a surprising mix of his beloved toy horse and his older sister. So begins a quest to find a castle in a world of wonder - a world of monsters, minstrels, dangerous knights and mysterious wizards; a world of terrifying danger but also more excitement than Mouse has ever known. But why are they looking for a castle? As the cold grows, we realise it might just have something to do with the family he's left behind; and that Mouse's quest is more important than ever. This is a novel about love and death. It's about the power of stories to change the way we view the world - and it's about the power of a child to change their own world. Emotionally arresting but ultimately uplifting, this is a remarkable novel for our times.

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Wild Beyond Book 3

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Wild Beyond Book 3

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/09/2015

AS SEEN ON BBC'S COUNTRYFILE FROM THE WINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE A thrilling animal adventure for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Katherine Rundell This is the story of a boy named Kester. He has rescued the last wild animals in the world, and saved his capital city from destruction. But now he must face his greatest challenge yet, because: 1. The only blue whale on the planet has brought news from across the ocean 2. A mysterious steel dome has risen from the Four Towers 3. Out there, somewhere, a brave mouse holds the key to the future...

Dark Wild

Dark Wild

Author: Piers Torday Format: eBook Release Date: 22/01/2015

Twelve-year-old Kester Jaynes thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realizes: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too? The sequel to Piers Torday's The Last Wild takes the adventure from country to city, with all of the first book's excitement, humor, and heart.

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Dark Wild Book 2

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Dark Wild Book 2

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/09/2014

AS SEEN ON BBC'S COUNTRYFILE WINNER OF THE GUARDIAN CHILDREN'S FICTION PRIZE 2014. A thrilling animal adventure for fans of Roald Dahl, David Walliams and Katherine Rundell Twelve-year-old Kester thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realises: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?

The Dark Wild

The Dark Wild

Author: Piers Torday Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/05/2014

Twelve-year-old Kester thought he had discovered the last wild animals in the land. He thought his adventure was over. He was wrong. Below the sparkling city of Premium, deep underground, a dark wild remains: animals who believe the time is right to rise up against their human enemies. And soon Kester realises: he is the only one who can stop them. Kester Jaynes saved the animals. Can he save the humans too?

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Last Wild Book 1

The Last Wild Trilogy: The Last Wild Book 1

Author: Piers Torday Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2013

AS SEEN ON BBC'S COUNTRYFILE From the winner of the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize This is a story about a boy named Kester. He is extraordinary, but he doesn't know that yet. All he knows, at this very moment, is this: 1. There is a flock of excited pigeons in his bedroom. 2. They are talking to him. 3. His life will never be quite the same again... A captivating animal adventure destined to be loved by readers of all ages.

The Last Wild

The Last Wild

Author: Piers Torday Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 01/07/2013

In a world where animals no longer exist, twelve-year-old Kester Jaynes sometimes feels like he hardly exists either. Locked away in a home for troubled children, he's told there's something wrong with him. So when he meets a flock of talking pigeons and a bossy cockroach, Kester thinks he's finally gone a bit mad. But the animals have something to say...This recording is unabridged. Typically abridged audiobooks are not more than 60% of the author's work and as low as 30% with characters and plotlines removed.