LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Lynette Rees - Author

About the Author

Books by Lynette Rees

A Daughter's Promise A gritty saga from the bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif

A Daughter's Promise A gritty saga from the bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif

Author: Lynette Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of The Workhouse Waif. Eighteen-year-old seamstress Kathryn Flynn lives in Whitechapel, London, struggling to support her widowed mother and younger siblings. But when her work starts drying up and her mother falls ill, she is forced to consider desperate measures . . . Then she meets 'Squire', an older city gentleman, who falls instantly in love with her and offers to take her under his wing. 'Squire' could give Kathryn the life she's always wanted . . . but is there something darker lurking beneath his kindness? What readers are saying about Lynette Rees: 'The best read I have had in a long time' Amazon reviewer ***** 'Another brilliant read from this amazing author' Amazon reviewer ***** 'Absolutely enthralled ... Would highly recommend for anyone that enjoys a good drama' Amazon reviewer ***** 'A beautiful story that I couldn't put down' Amazon reviewer *****

The Workhouse Waif A heartwarming tale, perfect for reading on cosy nights

The Workhouse Waif A heartwarming tale, perfect for reading on cosy nights

Author: Lynette Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

Destined to a life of poverty, this little girl has bigger plans in life... After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet. But one day she meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market and together, they set out on a path to find a better life for themselves... A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine Dorries Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

The Matchgirl Will this factory girl have her happy ending?

The Matchgirl Will this factory girl have her happy ending?

Author: Lynette Rees Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/05/2019

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIF Sixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make... Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...? Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

Matchgirl

Matchgirl

Author: Lynette Rees Format: eBook Release Date: 26/07/2018

A heartwarming saga, from the ebook bestselling author of THE WORKHOUSE WAIFSixteen-year-old Lottie Perkins has an important decision to make...Conditions at the match factory she works at are dire. The girls get treated badly by the management and there is a severe risk to their health. But then a young journalist, Annie Besant, begins asking questions. Will Lottie and the other girls welcome her help, even when it could cost them their jobs - and their livelihoods...?Please note: this edition contains editorial revisions

Workhouse Waif

Workhouse Waif

Author: Lynette Rees Format: eBook Release Date: 19/04/2018

Destined to a life of poverty, this little girl has bigger plans in life...After the death of her father in a mining accident, Megan and her family had no choice but to move to the local workhouse. Separated from her mother and five siblings, young Megan must learn how to stand on her own two feet. But one day she meets a young boy who's stealing apples from the local market and together, they set out on a path to find a better life for themselves...A heartwarming saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Katie Flynn and Nadine DorriesPlease note: this edition contains editorial revisionsReaders love Lynette's uplifting sagas!'Lynette Rees deserves to be up there amongst the best historical romance writers of this decade!' 'Readers who like Dilly Court and Nadine Dorries should give Lynette Rees a try''It's the best read I have had in a long time''What a lovely, moving book, and what a dear, sweet child Megan is!'Also coming soon from Lynette Rees:The MatchgirlA Daughter's PromiseThe Cobbler's Wife