LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Lorna Cook - Author

Books by Lorna Cook

The Girl from the Island

The Girl from the Island

Author: Lorna Cook Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/04/2021

The brilliant new emotional tale of sisters and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village and The Forbidden Promise ______________ A world at war. One woman will risk everything. Another will uncover her story. 1940: When the island of Guernsey is invaded by the Nazis, two sisters are determined to rebel in any way they can. But when forced to take in a German soldier, they are shocked to find a familiar face on their doorstep - a childhood friend who has now become their enemy. 2016: Two generations later, Lucy returns to Guernsey after the death of a distant cousin. As she prepares the old family house for sale, Lucy discovers a box of handwritten notes, one word standing out: resistance. Lucy's search for the author will uncover the story of a forgotten sister who vanished from the island one night, never to be seen again. A timeless story of love and bravery, perfect for fans of Gill Paul and Kathleen McGurl. Praise for The Girl from the Island 'With a descriptive backdrop this story offers intrigue and tender romance. Highly recommended' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan 'Paints an evocative picture of the bravery, fortitude and heart-breaking decisions of two British sisters living under German occupation on the beautiful island of Guernsey during WWII' Adrienne Chin, author of The English Wife 'A book to get lost in... Love, suspense and a page-turning story' Tracy Rees, Richard and Judy bestselling author 'A heart-rending, devastating, beautiful book that brings Guernsey's past to life in a fresh and thoroughly readable way' Louise Douglas, author of The House by the Sea 'A sweeping tale of love and courage, The Girl from the Island is tender and shocking in equal measure. Get ready for an utterly absorbing, heart-rending read. I loved it' Emma Rous, author of The Au Pair

The Forbidden Promise

The Forbidden Promise

Author: Lorna Cook Format: Paperback Release Date: 19/03/2020

The stunning new story of love and secrets from the Number One bestselling author of The Forgotten Village Can one promise change the fate of two women decades apart? Scotland, 1940 War rages across Europe, but Invermoray House is at peace - until the night of Constance's 21st birthday, when she's the only person to see a Spitfire crash into the loch. Rescuing the pilot and vowing to keep him hidden, Constance finds herself torn between duty to her family and keeping a promise that could cost her everything. 2020 Kate arrives in the Highlands to turn Invermoray into a luxury B&B, only to find that the estate is more troubled than she'd imagined. But when Kate discovers the house has a dark history, with Constance's name struck from its records, she knows she can't leave until the mystery is solved . . . A sweeping tale of love and secrets, perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Lucinda Riley. First readers love The Forbidden Promise . . . 'Compelling, dramatic, with a great twist - everyone who loved The Forgotten Village will be sure to love this too' Jenny Ashcroft, author of Beneath a Burning Sky 'Kept me turning the pages eagerly. A real treat!' Tracy Rees, author of Amy Snow 'Entrancing . . . an evocative and romantic mystery' Woman's Weekly 'A wonderfully romantic love story, full of twists and turns' Nikola Scott, author of My Mother's Shadow 'A dual delight of love stories, with hugely likeable characters and a corker of a twist!' Mandy Robotham, author of A Woman of War 'A wonderful tale of forbidden love, full of cliffhangers that kept me reading late into the night. And it has a fabulous twist' Kathleen McGurl, author of The Forgotten Secret 'Nobody does cliffhangers like Lorna Cook does. I inhale everything she writes' Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

The Forgotten Wife

The Forgotten Wife

Author: Lorna Cook Format: Paperback Release Date: 25/04/2019

A timeless story of love and sacrifice, perfect for fans of Martha Hall Kelly, Pam Jenoff and Gill Paul. An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more.'- Gill Paul, author of The Lost Daughter and The Secret Wife 1943: The world is at war, and the people of Tyneham are being asked to make one more sacrifice: to give up their homes to the British army. But on the eve of their departure, a terrible act will cause three of them to disappear forever. 2018: Melissa had hoped a break on the coast of Dorset in England would rekindle her stagnant relationship, but despite the idyllic scenery, it's pushing her and Liam to the brink. When Melissa discovers a strange photograph of a woman who once lived in the forgotten local village of Tyneham, she becomes determined to find out more about her story. But Tyneham hides a terrible secret, and Melissa's search for the truth will change her life in ways she never imagined possible. Don't miss Lorna Cook's next book, THE FORBIDDEN PROMISE, available to pre-order now... What others are saying about THE FORGOTTEN WIFE: Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told, The Forgotten Wife explores love and its darker side against the backdrop of a fascinating and little known slice of WW2 history. Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton. -NIKOLA SCOTT I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day. -KATE RIORDAN, author of The Girl in the Photograph A gripping tale of secrets and love... I loved it. -LIZ FENWICK, author of The Cornish House I was utterly sucked in and swept away by the story, the vivid scenery, the characters, the secrets... I can't wait to read whatever Lorna writes next!. -JENNY ASHCROFT, author of Island in the East

The Forgotten Village

The Forgotten Village

Author: Lorna Cook Format: Paperback Release Date: 04/04/2019

Lorna Cook's stunning new book, The Forbidden Promise, is out now... _________ THE #1 BESTSELLER WITH OVER 150,000 COPIES SOLD 1943: The world is at war, and the villagers of Tyneham are being asked to make one more sacrifice: to give their homes over to the British army. But on the eve of their departure, a terrible act will cause three of them to disappear forever. 2018: Melissa had hoped a break on the coast of Dorset would rekindle her stagnant relationship, but despite the idyllic scenery, it's pushing her and Liam to the brink. When Melissa discovers a strange photograph of a woman who once lived in the forgotten local village of Tyneham, she becomes determined to find out more about her story. But Tyneham hides a terrible secret, and Melissa's search for the truth will change her life in ways she never imagined possible. Winner of the Romantic Novelists' Association Katie Fforde Debut Romantic Novel Award, as well as the Joan Hessayon Award for New Writers What others are saying about THE FORGOTTEN VILLAGE: 'I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day' Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph 'A highly captivating, dramatic and emotional read, I literally could not turn the pages fast enough' Mixing Reality with Fiction 'Utterly brilliant... a fabulous work of intrigue that keeps you captivated 'til the very last page. Worth more stars than I can give' Reader review 'Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told... Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton' Nikola Scott, author of My Mother's Shadow 'An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more' Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter 'A gripping tale of secrets and love... I loved it' Liz Fenwick, author of The Cornish House