LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Kate Myers - Author

About the Author

Books by Kate Myers

The Deranged A Young Adult Dystopian Romance - Book One

The Deranged A Young Adult Dystopian Romance - Book One

Author: Kate Myers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 08/07/2019

In Plain Sight

In Plain Sight

Author: Kate Myers Format: eBook Release Date: 28/11/2017

"e;Rest easy, William, Leicester will look after you and keep you safe from harm."e;A heartwarming biography of William Bentney,Leicester's long-forgotten Jesuit priest.For fans of Niall Williams and James Martin, SJ.In Plain Sightdocuments the life of a man who deserves to be remembered. He died for his faith and was loved and respected by a town that was tolerant, a relatively safe haven for nonconformists.When it was treasonous to be a priest, William Bentney kept a low profile in Leicester for forty years. Not judged a high flyer by the Jesuits, he was sent as chaplain to a prosperous but not distinguished wool merchant. Those who knew him guessed his real role, but they liked the 'gardener' and out of kindness they let him be.Betrayed when old and frail, the people of Leicester refused to testify against him. Confined to his prison cell, he felt useless without a sacramental life, without the chance to look after those who had been placed in his care. Father Bentney survived into his eighties. He felt a burden to those who supported him. Until he found a new vocation.Something was different about this man. Something was different about Leicester.

In Plain Sight Based on the True Story of Leicester's Jesuit Martyr

In Plain Sight Based on the True Story of Leicester's Jesuit Martyr

Author: Kate Myers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 23/11/2017

Rest easy, William, Leicester will look after you and keep you safe from harm. A heartwarming biography of William Bentney, Leicester's long-forgotten Jesuit priest. For fans of Niall Williams and James Martin, SJ. In Plain Sight documents the life of a man who deserves to be remembered. He died for his faith and was loved and respected by a town that was tolerant, a relatively safe haven for nonconformists. When it was treasonous to be a priest, William Bentney kept a low profile in Leicester for forty years. Not judged a high flyer by the Jesuits, he was sent as chaplain to a prosperous but not distinguished wool merchant. Those who knew him guessed his real role, but they liked the 'gardener' and out of kindness they let him be. Betrayed when old and frail, the people of Leicester refused to testify against him. Confined to his prison cell, he felt useless without a sacramental life, without the chance to look after those who had been placed in his care. Father Bentney survived into his eighties. He felt a burden to those who supported him. Until he found a new vocation. Something was different about this man. Something was different about Leicester.

I Can't Believe it's Not.....

I Can't Believe it's Not.....

Author: Kate Myers, Judy Hendren Format: eBook Release Date: 12/10/2011

Totally grain free, gluten free, sugar free, soy free and cow's milk free cooking, came about when the authors Kate Myers and Judy Hendren were diagnosed with food intolerances that we find are quite common in modern society. After finding the shops limiting in suitable foods and a general lack of suitable recipes, they went about creating their own. Their aim has been to create recipes that are delicious, nutritious and most importantly taste like regular food that the whole family will enjoy. Try some of the authors' favourites like, Best Ever Muffins, Apple Crumble, Pizzas, Shepherd's Pie, Grain Free Bread, and Delicious Fruit Cake. Yes you can have your cake and eat it too!This book even includes a section called "e;The Pantry"e; that talks about the ingredients used in the book and where to buy them. If you suffer from food intolerances and are finding it hard to find good delicious food and are a loss at what to cook then this book is for you.

Genderwatch Still Watching....

Genderwatch Still Watching....

Author: Kate Myers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2007

Teachers Behaving Badly? Dilemmas for School Leaders

Teachers Behaving Badly? Dilemmas for School Leaders

Author: Kate Myers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/10/2004

Behaviour that involves an abuse of a teacher's position of trust or a breach of the standards of propriety is regarded as misconduct and may lead to a teacher being barred from the teaching profession. This book offers the school leader advice on making decisions arising from misconduct or alleged misconduct of their staff. It addresses issues such as: how to deal with an allegation of a teacher's sexual misconduct how to judge when a relationship between a pupil and teacher becomes abusive how to decide what to do about drug abuse how to support an 'outed' gay or lesbian teacher how to decide when private matters become public ones how to deal with the media. Often there are no clear-cut answers, or easy solutions, but this book will raise the dilemmas and explain the employment and criminal law in jargon-free language. School leaders have to make important decisions about such incidents, considering their responsibility to their staff, to the local community, and to their pupils. Leadership training rarely includes exposure to these issues, but most people working in schools may have to face them at some point in their career. Teachers Behaving Badly draws on real cases and explores the dilemmas faced, offering practical and legal advice to help school leaders prepare for such critical incidents.

School Improvement In Practice Schools Make A Difference - A Case Study Approach

School Improvement In Practice Schools Make A Difference - A Case Study Approach

Author: Kate Myers Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/10/1995

Effective change leading to school improvement is the focus of this practical text. Designed to be dipped into, or read as a whole, the contributors recount their experiences of effecting change in schools in one inner-city LEA. The story unfolds through the eyes of the project manager, the Director of Education, headteachers and project co- ordinators, and the external evaluator. Adopting a case study approach, evidence is presented of what happened in three schools investigated and the book includes contributions from students, parents and governors.; The volume examines what actually works to improve and make schools more effective, and should be of interest to all those involved in any way with school improvement.