LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Annie Clarke - Author

About the Author

Books by Annie Clarke

Wedding Bells on the Home Front A heart-warming story of courage, community and love

Wedding Bells on the Home Front A heart-warming story of courage, community and love

Author: Annie Clarke Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/05/2020

March 1942 As the war continues, wedding bells are ringing for the factory girls. Sarah is happily settling into married life with new husband Stan, whilst Fran is busy planning her upcoming wedding to sweetheart Davey, who's still conscripted to Bletchley Park. With limited resources, the girls must make do to create the perfect day. Meanwhile, Beth has other things on her mind. She hasn't heard from her husband Bob since he returned to the navy, and she's starting to fear the worst. And new friend Viola is still recovering from a nasty accident. Life on the home front can be challenging, but with the support of one another, the factory girls can get through anything.

Heroes on the Home Front A wonderfully uplifting wartime story

Heroes on the Home Front A wonderfully uplifting wartime story

Author: Annie Clarke Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/09/2019

The second novel in the wonderfully uplifting Factory Girls series. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell, Daisy Styles and Donna Douglas. 'Clarke's tale is one to lift the spirits and touch the hardest hearts' Northern Echo __________________________________ December 1941, North East England: It takes courage to risk your life every day. Despite the recent loss of her father, Sarah is settling well into her new role at the munitions factory. Her blossoming romance with pitman Stan is a welcome distraction from the dangerous working conditions. But a shocking revelation is about to put everything on the line. Meanwhile Fran is desperately missing her sweetheart Davey, who has been conscripted to work at Bletchley Park. Beth is longing for someone too - and it's not her husband on the front line... As the factory girls face hardship on the home front, they will discover that the heroes they need are already by their side. __________________________________ Look out for the next book in the series, Wedding Bells on the Home Front, available for pre-order now!

Girls on the Home Front An inspiring wartime story of friendship and courage

Girls on the Home Front An inspiring wartime story of friendship and courage

Author: Annie Clarke Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/05/2019

The first novel in the wonderful Factory Girls series. Perfect for fans of Nancy Revell and Ellie Dean. 'A brilliantly written and uplifting WWII story' Nancy Revell, author of the Shipyard Girls series 'A delightful authentic-feeling saga' Peterborough Telegraph 'Highlights the strength of women during the toughest of times...Clarke's love and respect for her family's roots really shines through' Culture Fly 'Beautifully written, the warmth shines from every page and the layers are as deep and rich as the coal seams the men work upon.' Frost Magazine _________________________________________ August 1941: As war sweeps across Britain and millions of men enlist to serve their country, it's up to the women to fight the battle on the home front. Fran always thought she would marry her childhood sweetheart and lead a simple life in Massingham, the beloved pit village she has always called home. But with war taking so many men to the front line, the opening of a new factory in the north-east of England presents an opportunity for Fran to forge a new path. Against her father's wishes and with best friends Sarah and Beth by her side, Fran signs up to join the ranks of women at the factory. It's dangerous work but as the three friends risk life and limb for their country, they will discover that their lives are only just beginning... ___________________________________________ Look out for the next book in the series, Heroes on the Home Front, available now!

Mind Body Bowl Think, Move and Eat Your Way to a More Balanced Life

Mind Body Bowl Think, Move and Eat Your Way to a More Balanced Life

Author: Annie Clarke Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/02/2017

`Mind Body Bowl is the perfect balance. The recipes are simple, delicious and something you will want to eat every day. It will become your go-to recipe book' Madeleine Shaw Annie Clarke, creator of the popular Mind Body Bowl blog, shares her journey from poor health to strength and happiness by way of her three pillars of wellness - a healthy mind; a fit body and delicious new recipes. Inspired by Annie's own experience, this book is a celebration of eating well and finding the right balance for you. We are all individuals and one prescriptive programme will never suit us all. Mind Body Bowl helps to guide and sign post some key parts of the journey towards connecting with our own body and mind in order to find our own individual sense of balance. The book includes a selection of plant based recipes that are nourishing and delicious, focusing on simple, fresh ingredients that are easy to source. With half of the book devoted to recipes, the other half focusses on Annie's lifestyle advice, including how we can use the breath, meditation, yoga and other practices to calm our minds; how we can discover the best style of exercise to suit our bodies and how by eating natural food we can heal inflammation. By linking the mind and body practises together and applying some small changes, it is possible to set yourself on the path to wellness and greater happiness.