LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Alexandra Connor - Author

About the Author

Books by Alexandra Connor

The Jeweller's Niece An engrossing saga of family, love and intrigue

The Jeweller's Niece An engrossing saga of family, love and intrigue

Author: Alexandra Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 18/02/2010

To save her father, one young woman takes justice into her own hands... The Jeweller's Niece is a thrilling saga from Alexandra Connor that follows a young woman as she uncovers shocking truths to clear her father's name. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Catherine Cookson. Emma Coles' life is shattered when her widowed father, Frederick, is imprisoned for theft. She never believes that he is guilty - but her intimidating uncle, David Hawksworth, thinks otherwise. Reluctantly giving Emma a home over his jewellery shop, he forbids all contact with the convicted man. But Emma secretly visits her father in prison. Emma's relationship with friend Ricky, who works at the prison, deepens and for a while it seems that the future might not be as difficult as she feared. Then tragedy strikes. Caught in a welter of family politics and feuds, Emma remains determined to prove her father's innocence. Yet when the identity of the real culprit is uncovered, the revelations are shattering. Only by facing the truth about the past can Emma find happiness - and see justice finally done. What readers are saying about The Jeweller's Niece: 'An excellent read' 'An unexpected and thoroughly satisfying ending' 'Five stars'

The Soldier's Woman A dramatic saga of love, betrayal and revenge

The Soldier's Woman A dramatic saga of love, betrayal and revenge

Author: Alexandra Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/03/2009

The end of the war brings more than just her husband home... Alexandra Conner writes a heart-rending saga of family strife, dreams abandoned and love triumphant, in The Soldier's Woman. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Catherine Cookson. When Faith Granger's husband Samuel comes back from the First World War he is a changed man. Although still loving to his wife and daughter, Samuel struggles to settle down to normal, civilian life, and Faith seems unable to reignite their old passion. Then Leonie Bonnard, a shy young Frenchwoman, arrives. She tells Faith she is a war widow looking for a room to rent for herself and her young child, and Faith takes her in, but when Samuel comes face to face with the 'lodger' he realises that his past has caught up with him: he is the father of her child. Leonie threatens to tell Faith everything, and insists that Samuel leave his family for her. How will Faith react when she realises her life has been ruined by a trusted interloper? What readers are saying about The Soldier's Woman: 'Love Alexandra Connor books. Totally involving characters, believable plots, always with surprising twists. Excellent!' 'What a wonderful story. I couldn't put the book down' 'This is the first time I have read a book by this author, and I have to say, Alexandra Connor is an author I will come back to. A very good book to read, you will not want to put it down, a storyline on the move that keeps you wanting more'

The Watchman's Daughter A powerful saga of tragedy, war and undying love

The Watchman's Daughter A powerful saga of tragedy, war and undying love

Author: Alexandra Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/01/2008

When those you love depend on you, how much would you be willing to sacrifice? Alexandra Connor writes a moving saga in The Watchman's Daughter - a tale of true love, set against the backdrop of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Rita Bradshaw. Growing up in Preston's poorest area, Kate Shaw knows just how harsh life can be. With her father unable to do his night watchman rounds, Kate does all she can to help her family survive. But when Andrew Pitt comes into her life, everything changes. True happiness seems to be on the horizon for Kate as she and Andrew make plans to marry. Then tragedy strikes and Kate takes the only course she can to protect the people who depend on her. With her future looking hopeless, Kate must find a way to escape - and to get back the man she loves. What readers are saying about The Watchman's Daughter: 'I am addicted to Alexandra Connor books. Always so well written, drawing you into the story and characters but never letting you totally guess the story line, always little twists and turns, totally enthralling' 'This book held your attention all the way through. Fantastic book'

The Lydgate Widow A heartrending saga of tragedy, family and love

The Lydgate Widow A heartrending saga of tragedy, family and love

Author: Alexandra Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/01/2007

Life has been hard for Adele Ford. Will she ever find the happiness she deserves? Alexandra Connor writes a moving saga in The Lydgate Widow, the tale of a young woman facing unbearable heartache, and her ultimate triumph over adversity. Perfect for fans of Rita Bradshaw and Catherine Cookson. Adele Ford's clearest childhood memory is of her father telling her about the enigmatic Lydgate Widow, whose abandoned house dominates the village. But the stories end abruptly on the day Adele and her sister are orphaned, and they grow up with only each other to rely on. Adele finds work in an antiques shop, but when a wrongful accusation robs her of her reputation, her future looks bleak. So it's not hard for Col Vincent, a successful businessman, to persuade Adele to marry him. Adele grows to love him - until she realises that her husband is a violent man. In the 1930s, a woman who leaves her husband faces penury. Somehow Adele survives, and then news comes that will transform her life, bringing back the haunting memory of the Lydgate Widow - and the man who has loved Adele for decades... What readers are saying about The Lydgate Widow: 'Thoroughly enjoyed this book... a brilliant ending that binds all characters together. This is the first book that I have read by this author, and it won't be the last' 'A superb read - five stars'

The Tailor's Wife A compelling saga of scandal, love and family feuds

The Tailor's Wife A compelling saga of scandal, love and family feuds

Author: Alexandra Connor Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/02/2006

The path to happiness is rarely easy... A young woman struggles against family loyalty and class prejudices in The Tailor's Wife, an engrossing saga from Alexandra Connor. Perfect for fans of Josephine Cox and Rosie Goodwin. Widowed Jacob Clark has been training his daughter, Suzannah, to take over his tailoring business. Suzannah is the sensible one and she's happy with the unconventional role her father has found for her. Suzannah's also a beauty, and she's caught the eye of the most eligible of bachelors, Edward Lyle, the son of a powerful local politician who is horrified at the thought of being connected by marriage to such a lowly family. When Suzannah's brother, Girton, is taken in by the charms of scheming Rina Taylor, Suzannah is right to fear that chaos and scandal will follow, giving Noel Lyle the ammunition he needs to prise his son away from Suzannah ... or so Noel thinks. But the two young people whose lives he is setting out to destroy are less malleable than he imagines... What readers are saying about The Tailor's Wife: 'I've read all Alexandra Connor's books and they are all so compelling that I can't put them down once started. This one's set in Manchester and really captures the times, and the characters are all well drawn' 'Alexandra Connor is one of my favourite authors. Her stories are full of twists and turns, and are hard to put it down' 'This was a wonderful story from start to finish, I did not want it to end'