LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Donald McCaig - Author

About the Author

Donald McCaig is the award-winning author of Canaan as well as Jacob's Ladder. He was chosen by the Margaret Mitchell estate to write Rhett Butler's People, an authorized sequel to Gone with the Wind. He lives on a sheep farm in the mountains near Williamsville, Virginia, where he writes fiction, essays, and poetry, and trains and trials sheep dogs.

Featured books by Donald McCaig

Ruth's Journey

Ruth's Journey

Author: Donald McCaig Format: Hardback Release Date: 23/10/2014

Set against the backdrop of the American South from the 1820s until the dawn of the Civil War, this is a remarkable story of fortitude, heartbreak, and indomitable will - and a tale that will forever illuminate the reading of Margaret Mitchell's unforgettable classic, Gone with the Wind. On the Caribbean island of Saint Domingue, an island consumed by the flames of revolution, a senseless attack leaves only one survivor: an infant girl. She falls into the hands of two French emigres, Henri and Solange Fournier, who take the beautiful child they call Ruth to the bustling American city of Savannah. What follows is the sweeping tale of Ruth's life as shaped by her strong-willed mistress and other larger-than-life personalities she encounters in the South: Jehu Glen, a free black man with whom Ruth falls madly in love; the shabbily genteel family that first hires Ruth as Mammy; Solange's daughter Ellen and the rough Irishman, Gerald O'Hara, whom Ellen chooses to marry; the Butler family of Charleston and their shocking connection to Mammy Ruth; and finally Scarlett O'Hara-the irrepressible Southern belle Mammy raises from birth.

ebook of the month

Other books by Donald McCaig

A Useful Dog

A Useful Dog

Author: Donald McCaig Format: Hardback Release Date: 15/02/2007

Alternately comical, melancholic, pragmatic, and poetic, Donald McCaig's collection A Useful Dog offers a delightful exploration of the simple yet rich relationship between dogs and humans. Having cast aside urban life in the 1970s in favor of working and living on a sheep farm in Virginia, McCaig has spent the past three decades raising working sheepdogs and writing about his experiences with them. A Useful Dog comprises a selection of short pieces - vintage McCaig - that reveal not only the ins and outs of sheepdog work and trials but also the joy and devotion that dogs bring to our daily lives. For any dog enthusiast, this little book will prove a telling reminder of why the dog became known as man's best friend.

Nop's Hope

Nop's Hope

Author: Donald McCaig Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/1998

Nop's Hope is the long-awaited sequel to the beloved animal classic Nop's Trials. As Nop's Hope begins, Penny Burkholder is on the road in her battered pickup, earning what money she can on the sheepdog trial circuit. She is fleeing from a terrible tragedy, and her only friend in the world is her dog, Hope, a remarkable Border Collie. During her hard and dangerous journey, Penny meets two men who fall in love with her: Oren Wright, the steady, dependable Texas sheepman, and Ransome Barlow, laconic, strange, and brilliant with dogs. At the national finals in Wyoming, these humans and their dogs come together in the final searing test of skill, animal savvy, and love. For when Lewis Burkholder, Penny's father, walks onto the trial field with the great dog Nop at his side, what is at risk is no less than Penny's sanity and soul. As wise about animals as it is about the mystery of human love, Nop's Hope will be warmly received by those who remember Nop's Trials and by countless others who will encounter this enthralling saga for the first time.

Eminent Dogs, Dangerous Men

Eminent Dogs, Dangerous Men

Author: Donald McCaig Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/1998

When the author of Nop's Trials, one of America's best-loved dog books, searches Scotland for a Border Collie, the result is both a vivid history of an astonishing breed and an exploration of the ancient, extraordinary pact between man and dog.

An American Homeplace

An American Homeplace

Author: Donald McCaig Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/09/1997

In the tradition of Wendell Berry and John McPhee, Donald McCaig wites with a powerful sense of place, and of history of Virginia's Highland County, in An American Homeplace. On the fast track in the New York advertising world, McCaig gave it all up to move to a ramshackle farm in Virginia's upper Cowpasture River Valley. Enhanced by the author's evident love for his land and for the stories it has to tell, An American Homeplace is an inviting combination of personal memoir and narrative history.

Nop's Trials

Nop's Trials

Author: Donald McCaig Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/12/1992

A classic dog story, told by one of America's best writers.

Author Info

Author's Facebook

Find Donald McCaig on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more