Geraldine O'Neill - Author

About the Author

Geraldine O’Neill grew up in Cleland, a small mining village, in Lanarkshire, Scotland. The second of six children, she was educated in St Mary’s Primary in Cleland then Holy Cross High School in Hamilton.

Whilst working as a teacher in the local primary school in Ireland, Geraldine helped start up a local writers’ group which is still going strong 13 years later.  She is an accomplished public speaker, and was President of Tullamore Toastmasters in 2002.

She started up a Book Circle in Tullamore which is now in its 6th year, and one of their meetings was broadcast live on National Radio from Geraldine’s house in April 2004!

Geraldine O’Neill has been writing since the early 90’s and had gained a number of awards for her short stories before embarking on her first novel. She has also had a number of poems published.


She  has had three novels published in Ireland by Poolbeg to date: Tara Flynn, Tara’s Fortune and Aisling Gayle. Both Tara Flynn and Tara’s Fortune are now published in the UK and Commonwealth by Orion.

Her forthcoming book, The Grace Girls (which is set in 50’s Scotland) is due to be published in the UK and Ireland in Summer 2005.

She is currently working on her fifth novel, which has the working title of Kate Larkin.

Featured books by Geraldine O'Neill

Other books by Geraldine O'Neill

Music Across the Mersey

Music Across the Mersey

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 05/04/2018

When a Dublin family is torn apart, can a new start in Liverpool help heal the wounds? 1940s Dublin Handsome widower Johnny Cassidy is out of work, broken-hearted and lost as to how to look after his four children. At his lowest ebb, he's forced to realise that help sometimes comes from the strangest places. With Johnny's family over the sea in Liverpool, it's his wife's spinster cousin Nora who comes to the rescue and has her life turned upside down by this brood of children. With Nora around, Ella Cassidy can be a teenager again rather than trying to raise her younger siblings, while older brother, Sean, finds that music might be his salvation. It seems that each member of the Cassidy family cherishes secret dreams, but will they bring them together or tear them apart? A warm and inviting story of family and friendship, duty and desire, perfect for fans of Maureen Lee and Lyn Andrews.

The House on Silver Street

The House on Silver Street

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 23/03/2017

The House on Silver Street

The House on Silver Street

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/10/2016

A Letter from America

A Letter from America

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 01/04/2016

Sarah Love

Sarah Love

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/03/2011

Leaving Clare

Leaving Clare

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 31/03/2010

Tara's Destiny

Tara's Destiny

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/04/2008

A Different Kind of Dream

A Different Kind of Dream

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 20/02/2007

Aisling Gayle

Aisling Gayle

Author: Geraldine O'Neill Format: Paperback Release Date: 30/04/2003

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.geraldine-oneill.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Geraldine O'Neill on Facebook

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more