LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Annie Groves - Author

About the Author

Annie Groves is the psuedonym under which author Penny Jordan wrote a series of novels. She lived in the North-West and had done so all of her life. She has drawn upon her own family's history, picked up from listening to her grandmother's stories when she was a child. Her grandmother's great pride in her hometown - Preston - inspired Annie when naming her heroine in My Sweet Valentine, who is also a butcher's daughter, just like Annie's grandmother was.

Penny Jordan died 31 December 2011.

Author photo © Jerry Bauer

 

Featured books by Annie Groves

The Mersey Daughter

The Mersey Daughter

Author: Annie Groves Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/04/2017

Rita Kennedy has finally seen through her good-for-nothing husband, Charlie. Now he's gone AWOL with his fancy woman and left her at the mercy of the local gossips. Her future is full of uncertainty and the only thing that keeps her going is knowing that her children are safe from the Luftwaffe - and the letters that she receives from Jack Callaghan, her childhood sweetheart - but a life together can is just a distant fantasy. Meanwhile, Kitty Callaghan has joined the WRENS and it's opened up a whole new world. But despite finding romance with a handsome doctor, she still can't forget Frank Feeny, the brave officer from Empire Street who still inhabits her dreams.

ebook of the month
Child of the Mersey

Child of the Mersey

Author: Annie Groves Format: Paperback Release Date: 14/08/2014

A brand new series from the bestselling author of A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn. For the ordinary people of Empire Street, life will never be the same again. Kitty Fisher has plenty on her plate to keep her busy. Since her mother died when she was just a child, she's cooked, cleaned and scraped to make ends meet for her drunken father and her headstrong brothers. Rita Kennedy, living with her husband under the roof of his spiteful mother-in-law, is desperate for their own home. Perhaps that will help them get their marriage back on the rails again? For the two women and others like them on Liverpool's dockside and across the whole country, the threatening clouds of war will bring heartache and tragedy. It will take courage and the bonds of family and friends to help them see this through.

ebook of the month
A Christmas Promise

A Christmas Promise

Author: Annie Groves Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/10/2013

An emotional and heart-warming portrayal of the lives of four women living in wartime London. For the girls living at No. 13 Article Row, life has never been tougher. Tilly is left heartbroken after the love of her life, Drew, returns to his hometown of Chicago to visit his family and decides to stay there. After he ends their relationship via a letter, Tilly is desperate to find out the truth behind their break-up. Agnes is shocked to discover that she has inherited a house from her estranged father who left her at the orphanage all those years ago. After not having family for so long she now has a cousin who is very keen to get to know her, but is it for the right reasons? And for Tilly's mother, Olive, her repressed feelings for the unhappily married Sergeant Dawson are finally in the open, but can either of them ever recover from the guilt? Meanwhile, Sally's life is in turmoil when George is killed in an air raid, leaving her alone and pregnant. With so much tragedy surrounding them, the four girls must support each through the hard times.

ebook of the month

Other books by Annie Groves

Author Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more