LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Sheila O'Flanagan - Author

About the Author

Sheila O'Flanagan pursued a very successful career in banking, foreign exchange dealing and treasury management before becoming a full-time writer based in Dublin. She started her first novel, DREAMING OF A STRANGER, at the age of thirty-five and it was published in 1997. She also writes a weekly column for the Irish Times and in her spare time plays badminton at competition level.

 

Featured books by Sheila O'Flanagan

The Missing Wife

The Missing Wife

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback Release Date: 09/03/2017

Readers of Marian Keyes, Lisa Jewell and Santa Montefiore will love Sunday Times bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's THE MISSING WIFE - the riveting story of a woman determined to escape, the man who wants to find her and the friends and family unaware of the dark truth. Set in the glorious, sunny south of France. Have you ever wanted to disappear? When Imogen Naughton vanishes, everyone who knows her is shocked. She has a perfect marriage. Her handsome husband treats her like a princess. She's always said how lucky she is. So why has she left? And how will she survive without Vince? What goes on behind closed doors is often a surprise, and Imogen surprises herself by taking the leap she knows she must. But as she begins her journey to find the woman she once was, Imogen's past is right behind her...Will it catch up with her? And will she be ready to face it if it does?

ebook of the month
Things We Never Say

Things We Never Say

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback Release Date: 24/04/2014

 Abbey Andersen's life in San Francisco is in serious danger of hitting a rut. She's pretty sure it doesn't get worse than being dumped by post-it note, and her current job is hardly the best outlet for her creative talents. Meanwhile in Ireland Fred Fitzpatrick is finding it impossible to keep his grown-up children and their families on side, and they're a demanding lot at the best of times. But when Fred asks solicitor Ryan Gilligan to contact Abbey about a long-buried family secret, things start to change dramatically. And not everyone affected is happy about it...

ebook of the month
Better Together

Better Together

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback Release Date: 11/04/2013

The fabulously addictive new novel from No. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan. When high-flying journalist Sheridan Gray loses her job, her boyfriend and her flat, she knows she must pick herself up and make a new start. But how will she adjust to small-town living and local reporting? Meanwhile, home-loving Nina Fallon's life is shattered when the exploits of her actor husband become national news. Now she's avoiding friends as she runs Ardbawn's guesthouse on her own. When Sheridan moves into Ardbawn, she realises Nina holds the key to a story that will make her name as a reporter again. But as she gets closer to the truth, Sheridan risks jeopardising her relationship with the man she has come to love. Is she better off going it alone? Or is love the greatest prize of all?

ebook of the month
All For You

All For You

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback Release Date: 26/04/2012

The new fabulously addictive read from the No. 1 bestselling author As TV's favourite weather forecaster, Lainey is good at making predictions. But what she doesn't foresee is that her own life is about to hit a stormy patch. With a string of failed relationships behind her, surely history isn't about to repeat itself with her beloved Ken? To add fuel to the fire, her estranged mother announces that she's returning to Dublin. Deanna has always been dismissive of Lainey's choices - particularly in men. And Deanna's lectures are the last thing Lainey needs now. Yet is there more to her mother than she knows? Uncovering some long-concealed family secrets, Lainey begins to reassess her life. Is the happy-ever-after she's always dreamed of really what she wants after all?

ebook of the month

Other books by Sheila O'Flanagan

My Favourite Goodbye

My Favourite Goodbye

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2006

Sheila O'Flanagan's MY FAVOURITE GOODBYE is a delicious novel about finding love in unexpected places - not to be missed by readers of Veronica Henry and Freya North. Ash O'Halloran is happy with her futon, her flat, her cat and her job as a party caterer. She doesn't do impulsive. She is absolutely, perfectly in control of her single woman's life. And if she can't have relationships without complications - then she's content to carry on as she is. Ms Self-Contained. But when she's employed to cook the supper over which Dan Morland plans to propose to his girlfriend, suddenly she becomes party to someone else's relationship - in all its tangled, heart-breaking complexity. And, as she watches Dan struggling to sort out the mess his emotions have got him into, Ash starts to realise she's not Ms Invulnerable after all... What readers are saying about My Favourite Goodbye: 'An absolutely excellent book - I don't think I've read a more touching story since' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'I have read a couple of Sheila O'Flanagan's books already but this one is by far the best. I wanted to read it all in one go but I just didn't want it to end so like a delicious bar of chocolate I allowed myself a bit at a time' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'What a delightful read! I cannot imagine anyone not enjoying this charming, light-hearted and humorous book' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Isobel's Wedding

Isobel's Wedding

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2006

In ISOBEL'S WEDDING from no. 1 bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan, Isobel faces every bride-to-be's worst nightmare. Not to be missed by readers of Freya North and Veronica Henry. Four hundred and twenty pearls hand-sewn onto the wedding dress. The Mediterranean honeymoon booked for months. A pile of presents bigger than Everest. And her lovely Tim, the most perfect bridegroom a girl could wish for. Except, two weeks before the wedding, he changes his mind... Isobel's wedding is off. Her world in tatters, Isobel turns to Spain, a new job, a new life and as many men as she can decently manage. Including the very appealing Nico with whom, she feels, there could be a long-term future. But part of Isobel knows that she will have to go back home some day. And that, despite all that's happened since she left, she still has unfinished business... What readers are saying about Isobel's Wedding: 'The best book I have ever read. I wish Sheila O'Flanagan would write another novel about Isabel as she was such a fantastic, normal, real character' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Fabulous! Not only do I feel like I was taken on a stunning journey through Madrid, but the ending was spot on. I just wanted more, more, more!' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'A great novel with an unbelievable ending' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'I would strongly recommend this to anyone looking for a compelling and light-hearted funny book' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Destinations

Destinations

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 29/04/2006

Bestselling author Sheila O'Flanagan's DESTINATIONS takes readers into the lives of women on a journey who have some surprises in store. A delightful read perfect for fans of Catherine Alliott and Freya North. Two eavesdropping train passengers learn more than they bargained for about their own love lives; an office-party fling has unforeseen consequences for a young woman and for a marriage; a suburban housewife is forced to face her past when her estranged mother, famous and exotic, makes contact after many years; an office worker who imagines herself an undercover agent finds her commute to work livened up by the daily sightings of a handsome stranger...whose life she decides to investigate; an adopted woman journeys to meet the woman who gave her up all those years ago, and finds that all is not what she imagined... A myriad lives brilliantly captured through the keen lens of one of Ireland's best-loved and best-selling storytellers. What readers are saying about Destinations: 'Loved it! These stories are great and ideal for dipping into if you travel to work each morning on public transport' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Just fabulous' Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars 'Each story catches the imagination and tells the tale in a simple yet effective manner. Look out for the connected stories!' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Every story held me. Fantastic author' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Suddenly Single

Suddenly Single

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2006

In her page-turning bestseller SUDDENLY SINGLE Sheila O'Flanagan makes readers wonder just what they would do if Alix's situation happened to them... Not to be missed by readers of Marian Keyes and Veronica Henry. What do you do when you find yourself suddenly single? Go suddenly suicidal? Suddenly sex-crazed? Or simply slump into self-pity? Alix Callaghan, who thought she was in control of her busy life, feels like doing all three when her long-term boyfriend insists on settling down to a sensible existence - complete with children, proper meals and early nights - but without her. Little by little, though, Alix begins to think there might be more to the single life than the first shock of rejection suggests... What readers are saying about Suddenly Single: 'Had me enthralled from the start. The kind of story you don't want to put down' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Sheila O'Flanagan has a gift for making you read on. Her strength lies in strong characters and emotions' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'The depth of emotions that [Sheila O'Flanagan] can conjure up is nothing short of stunning' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Far From Over

Far From Over

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/04/2006

Sheila O'Flanagan's bestseller FAR FROM OVER is a captivating novel for anyone who ever wondered if they made the right decision about the man they used to love. Not to be missed by readers of Marian Keyes and Freya North. Gemma Garvey's marriage has been over for ages. Gemma ended it and chose to be a single mother rather than continue the pretence that her marriage to work-obsessed David Hennessy was working. So why is she so upset when he marries bimbo Orla O'Neill? Is it that Orla's thin and gorgeous whilst Gemma, at thirty-five, feels more like fifty-five? Or that David's starting a new life whilst she's facing middle age alone? For Orla, being wife no. 2 isn't all she's imagined, always aware of how Gemma coped with a house, family and job while she can't even cook dinner without setting the kitchen alight. To David, who has loved them both, there isn't a problem. But actually the trouble's just begun... What readers are saying about Far From Over: 'If you want a fun book which will keep you amused then you don't get much better than Far From Over' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Pacy, interesting, poignant' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars 'Emotions run high as the story focuses in on the feelings of each character, including those of the 'other woman'. I really got to know the characters well' Amazon reviewer, 5 stars

Maggie's Story

Maggie's Story

Author: Sheila O'Flanagan Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 30/10/1999