Get 2 top 10 audiobooks free with a LoveReading exclusive

LoveReading has teamed up with Audiobooks.com to give you the chance to get 2 free audiobooks when you sign up. Try it for 30 days for free with no strings attached. You can cancel anytime, although we're sure you'll love it. Click the button to find out more:

Find out more

E V Seymour - Author

About the Author

E.V. Seymour was born in West Bromwich in the West Midlands and spent much of her early years in the surrounding area. Through an unhappy chain of events, she was sent away to school in Malvern then Cheltenham, later fleeing institutional life for the bright lights of the Edinburgh Festival. Captivated by the city, she decided to stay – home being a grotty bed-sit next to a football ground – and paid the rent by selling stationery supplies.

After a move to London, she began an arts degree, which she dropped out of to join a public relations consultancy – home moving up several gears to a flat in Kensington, shared with a couple of old school-friends. During her P.R. career, she was involved in a number of accounts, mainly medical and nutritional, and included the Woman’s Own Children of Courage awards, which she ran for two years.

After another move to a P.R. consultancy in Birmingham, she married and moved to South Devon. Five children later, she began writing in her spare time. Previous writing credits include a number of short stories broadcast on BBC Radio Devon, and articles in Devon Today magazine. She has since bent the ears of a number of police officers in Devon, West Mercia and West Midlands, including Scenes of Crime and firearms, in a ruthless bid to make her writing career more enduring than previous attempts.

 

 

Below is a Q&A with this author.

 

 

How would you describe your novel ‘The Last Exile’?
It’s easier to describe what ‘The Last Exile’ isn’t! The novel is broader than a straight crime thriller and, although it combines typical elements of the spy story, it doesn’t really fall into that genre either. Cutting to the chase, I’d say it’s a distinctly British thriller with political overtones. It’s also very character driven. Our main man is Paul Tallis, former soldier and ex-firearms officer turned off-the-books spook.

What gave you the inspiration for the story?
Tragically, the inspiration for the story resulted from the shooting of Jean Charles de Menezes at Stockwell Tube station in July 2005.

Following the incident, there was a radio discussion and phone-in programme examining the actions of the firearms officers involved. Criticism was strong and in some cases highly emotive. The officers were variously accused of being ‘cowboys’ and ‘gunslingers,’ and this got me thinking. What must it feel like to be in their shoes?

While the killing of an innocent man was a tragedy, I wondered whether the blame was being aimed at the wrong people. It seemed to me that the firearms officers were following orders based on what they considered to be credible intelligence. Catapulted into a situation where they believed their target was a terrorist, the threat of losing their lives in a possible retaliatory response was all too real. With that as my starting point, the rest of the story developed reasonably easily.

Who do you base your characters on?
I’m not sure I base my characters on anyone. They’re a composite of people I’ve come across, but I also rely heavily on imagination. Tallis, my main protagonist, is less easy to explain. As a woman writing as a man, I can hardly say that he’s my alter ego! His physical appearance, his values, and beliefs probably come close to what I find most desirable in a bloke. Having said that, I recognise that some of his attributes are mine, which is probably a bit odd! Safe to say, if Tallis were to walk into the room, I’d recognise him immediately.

From where do you get your ideas?
I’m a bit of a news junkie and my ideas are ripped straight from the headlines – hence the focus on immigration in ‘The Last Exile.’ But I also think you require an X-factor element, a way of stamping that idea as your own and, therefore, making it unique. To try and do this, it definitely helps to approach an existing idea or story from an oblique angle. I always go back to the classic ‘What if?’

Featured books by E V Seymour

Other books by E V Seymour

Final Target

Final Target

Author: E. V. Seymour Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/01/2018

The old ways die hard... A gripping thriller full of shocking twists from E. V. Seymour, perfect for fans of Mark Dawson, Lee Child and David Baldacci. There's always one who gets away... Ex-assassin Josh Thane has given up his life of murder and bloodshed and gone to ground in London. But when glamorous MI5 agent, McCallan, needs his help with a dangerous operation in Berlin, Josh can't resist being pulled back into the game. Soon he realises that a deadly organization is out not just to get him but those closest to him. As crime bosses and intelligence officers are picked off one by one, McCallen disappears and Josh is faced with a choice that could make this mission his last: either he walks into the trap set for him, or McCallen dies.

A Deadly Trade A Gripping Espionage Thriller

A Deadly Trade A Gripping Espionage Thriller

Author: E. V. Seymour Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/12/2017

This time there are no rules... An unputdownable new thriller from E. V. Seymour, introducing hired assassin Josh Thane, perfect for fans of Lee Child, Mark Dawson and Alan McDermott. One moment of weakness can cost you everything... Rogue assassin Josh Thane is an artist in murder. His next target is a British microbiologist suspected of creating devastating chemical weapons. Breaking into her house, he discovers someone has beaten him to it - she's already dead. In a moment of weakness, he saves the life of her son. A single mistake that destroys everything he's worked for and puts him and the boy in immediate danger... When Josh embarks on an international quest to find the real killer, he uncovers a criminal conspiracy with truly terrifying consequences. Yet it's in his own past that the darkest truth lies hidden.

Final Target (Josh Thane Thriller, Book 2)

Final Target (Josh Thane Thriller, Book 2)

Author: E. V. Seymour Format: eBook Release Date: 24/11/2017

The old ways die hard...A gripping thriller full of shocking twists from E. V. Seymour, perfect for fans of Mark Dawson, Lee Child and David Baldacci.There's always one who gets away...Ex-assassin Josh Thane has given up his life of murder and bloodshed and gone to ground in London. But when glamorous MI5 agent, McCallan, needs his help with a dangerous operation in Berlin, Josh can't resist being pulled back into the game.Soon he realises that a deadly organization is out not just to get him but those closest to him. As crime bosses and intelligence officers are picked off one by one, McCallen disappears and Josh is faced with a choice that could make this mission his last: either he walks into the trap set for him, or McCallen dies.

Deadly Trade: A gripping espionage thriller (Josh Thane Thriller, Book 1)

Deadly Trade: A gripping espionage thriller (Josh Thane Thriller, Book 1)

Author: E. V. Seymour Format: eBook Release Date: 03/11/2017

This time there are no rules...An unputdownable new thriller from E. V. Seymour, introducing hired assassin Josh Thane, perfect for fans of Lee Child, Mark Dawson and Alan McDermott.One moment of weakness can cost you everything...Rogue assassin Josh Thane is an artist in murder. His next target is a British microbiologist suspected of creating devastating chemical weapons.Breaking into her house, he discovers someone has beaten him to it - she's already dead. In a moment of weakness, he saves the life of her son. A single mistake that destroys everything he's worked for and puts him and the boy in immediate danger...When Josh embarks on an international quest to find the real killer, he uncovers a criminal conspiracy with truly terrifying consequences. Yet it's in his own past that the darkest truth lies hidden.

House of Lies A Gripping Thriller with a Shocking Twist

House of Lies A Gripping Thriller with a Shocking Twist

Author: E. V. Seymour Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2017

`A wicked twist and a killer ending' Publishers Weekly Somewhere in Vixenhead, I'm certain the truth lies... A sudden disappearance... When Roz Outlaw's partner Tom mysteriously vanishes, she knows his life is in danger. Tom has been distracted lately, afraid, as though he is being hunted... A desperate search... With the police showing little interest Roz knows it falls to her to find Tom. But as Tom's secrets are uncovered nothing can prepare Roz for the dark lies and twisted truths she finds. She thought she loved Tom, but quickly realises she has been living with a stranger - a man with murder in his past. A house of evil. The key to unlocking Tom's past lies in his childhood home - Vixenhead. A house of wickedness that keeps its secrets well hidden. Can Roz find Tom before it's too late or will the evil within Vixenhead claim her too...

House of Lies: A gripping thriller with a shocking twist

House of Lies: A gripping thriller with a shocking twist

Author: E. V. Seymour Format: eBook Release Date: 24/03/2017

'A wicked twist and a killer ending' Publishers WeeklySomewhere in Vixenhead, I'm certain the truth lies...A sudden disappearance...When Roz Outlaw's partner Tom mysteriously vanishes, she knows his life is in danger. Tom has been distracted lately, afraid, as though he is being hunted...A desperate search...With the police showing little interest Roz knows it falls to her to find Tom. But as Tom's secrets are uncovered nothing can prepare Roz for the dark lies and twisted truths she finds. She thought she loved Tom, but quickly realises she has been living with a stranger - a man with murder in his past.A house of evil.The key to unlocking Tom's past lies in his childhood home - Vixenhead. A house of wickedness that keeps its secrets well hidden. Can Roz find Tom before it's too late or will the evil within Vixenhead claim her too...

Author Info

Author's Website

http://www.evseymour.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×