LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Erica Spindler - Author

About the Author

Erica Spindler has published more than twenty novels. Her titles have been published all over the world and Red  was turned into both a wildly popular graphic novel and daytime drama in Japan. Critics have dubbed her stories as “thrill-packed, page turners, white knuckle rides, and edge-of-your-seat whodunits” and The Times Picayune praised 2003’s In Silence, calling it “Creepy and compelling; a real page turner.”

In 2002, her novel Bone Cold  won the prestigious Daphne du Maurier Award for excellence. An RWA honor roll member, she received a Kiss of Death award for her novel  and is a three-time RITA award finalist. In 1999 Publishers Weekly awarded the audio version of her Forbidden Fruit novel Shocking Pink  a Listen-Up award, naming it one of the best audio mystery books of 1998. Praised by booksellers as “The best suspense novel I’ve ever read” and “A perfect 10 out of 10,” Erica's 2004 release See Jane Die  is the story of a woman who must face her darkest fears when her husband becomes the prime suspect in the brutal murders of two women.

Erica and her husband — a man she describes as funny, handsome and way too sassy — met in art school and have been together ever since. They have two sons, born nine and a half years apart. Erica makes her home in the New Orleans area, although she originally hailed from Illinois.

Featured books by Erica Spindler

Don't Look Back

Don't Look Back

Author: Erica Spindler Format: Paperback Release Date: 06/11/2014

Ten years ago, Kat McCall left her home town in Louisiana after being accused of murdering her sister. Now, despite the fact there are those in the town who are still convinced of her guilt, she has returned, determined to unearth the real killer. With the help of police officer Luke Tanner, Kat starts to get to the truth about who really killed her sister, but there are plenty of people who don't like her digging up secrets from the past...Utterly gripping and compulsively readable, Don't Look Back is the sensational new thriller from internationally bestselling author Erica Spindler.

ebook of the month

Other books by Erica Spindler

Watch Me Die

Watch Me Die

Author: Erica Spindler Format: eBook Release Date: 21/06/2011

In Spindler's thrilling new psychological drama, one woman's journey to recovery becomes her worst nightmare... Before Hurricane Katrina struck New Orleans, stained-glass restoration artist Mira Gallier had it all: a thriving business doing work she loved and an idyllic marriage to the perfect man. But the devastating storm stole her beloved husband - his body swept away by floodwaters, never to be found.Now, after years of pain and turmoil, it looks as if Mira is finally on the verge of peace and emotional stability. But her life, like the magnificent windows blown to bits by Hurricane Katrina, is about to be shattered once again. And this time, it's not a killer storm she faces, but a psychopath who will stop at nothing until he possesses her, body and soul...First, church windows that she restored are vandalized, and the priest who looked over them brutally murdered. Spray-painted across the glass are the words: He Will Come to Judge the Living and the Dead. Then, New Orleans is rocked by a terrifying chain of murders that all seem to be linked to Mira. The police, led by homicide detective Spencer Malone, are following a string of clues left by the killer on each victim - and beginning to wonder if the murderer isn't Mira Gallier herself.As Mira begins to unravel under pressure from all sides - and fear for her life - it's unclear whom she can trust. And when a man from her past appears out of nowhere, sparking something long forgotten in her heart, he quickly becomes the police's new prime suspect. One by one, the people in Mira's life are targeted, until it's clear that the killer has been saving her for last . . . and that there's nowhere left to run.

Blood Vines

Blood Vines

Author: Erica Spindler Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 28/10/2010

'Pulse-pounding, page-turning, absolutely can't put it down.' Lisa Gardner THE OUTSTANDING THRILLER FROM NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER ERICA SPINDLER What have readers been saying about Blood Vines? 'If you want a superb thriller this is the one to buy.' Amazon reviewer, 5***** 'Ms Spindler is up there with the best.' Amazon reviewer, 5***** 'Fantastic characters and a twisty turny storyline!' Amazon reviewer, 5***** Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and Karen Rose, Erica Spindler is master of classic crime fiction and the twist you won't see coming. Alex Owens knows very little about her childhood or who she really is - her only family an absent, emotionally fragile mother. Alex has always felt something was missing and has spent most of her life searching for what that could be. When an infant's remains are unearthed, Alex realises she has a connection to the case. Suddenly long-lost memories start flooding in, leading her back to a small town in California and to dark and terrifying nightmares that haunt her every waking moment. Greeted with silence and suspicion, Alex is determined to get to the heart of a secret no one wants to see uncovered. As violent deaths and a series of pagan rituals terrify the tightly-knit community, Alex is forced to confront the terrible truth about a single night that changed her family's lives for ever... Praise for Erica Spindler: 'Pulse-pounding, page-turning, absolutely can't put it down.' Lisa Gardner 'Neat, taut and written with panache that forces you to turn each page.' Daily Mail 'I can put Spindler on my growing list of favourite crime-fiction authors.' Evening Standard 'Has enough twists to keep you riveted right to the final page.' Image

Blood Vines

Blood Vines

Author: Erica Spindler Format: eBook Release Date: 02/03/2010

In this bare-knuckled adrenaline ride from New York Times bestselling author Erica Spindler, Alex Clarkson's worst nightmares are about to come true...A sinister, hooded figure...When Alexandra Clarkson starts having terrifying visions filled with blood and ceremonial images, she tries to find a rational explanation - maybe her mind is playing tricks on her, resurrecting creepy tableaux from her research on religious ceremonies and sects. But when Alex's mother, Patsy, commits suicide without leaving behind any information, Alex is left wondering: could she be haunted by something from the childhood she doesn't remember?Naked, writhing bodies...Detective Daniel Reed was the last person to speak to Patsy. What he reveals to Alex is shocking. Twenty-five years earlier, Patsy was married to Harlan Sommer, one of Sonoma County's most prominent vintners, when their infant son disappeared without a trace. The loss destroyed the Sommers' marriage, causing Patsy to leave and take Alex with her.A dead child...Called on to investigate the identity of a baby's remains unearthed in a Sonoma vineyard, Reed had picked up a trail that led him to Patsy in San Francisco. Now Reed and Alex both wonder if the cold bones could be her baby brother Dylan, and Alex decides to accompany Reed back to Sonoma for the investigation. No sooner does she arrive, however, than she is drawn deep into the search for a twisted killer...

Breakneck

Breakneck

Author: Erica Spindler Format: eBook Release Date: 20/01/2009

Breakneck marks the return of Detectives Mary Catherine (MC) Riggio and Kitt Lundgren, partners in the police department's Violent Crimes Bureau in industrial, blue-collar Rockford, Illinois. The two detectives are faced with tracking down a monster unlike any they have encountered before. The clean, seemingly emotionless kills leave MC and Kitt little but the growing string of victims to follow--all young adults, clean cut, kid-next-door types who've never taken a step outside the law. And this time around, it's personal for MC: The first victim is her cousin Tommy Mariano, oldest son of her favorite aunt. As MC and Kitt hunt a faceless killer, they are led deep into the cyberuniverse, where no one is who they seem and you never know who's watching. At the heart of this fast-paced thriller is the relationship between the two headstrong women, their struggle to balance their dual roles, to learn to trust, and to walk the fine line between upholding the law--and taking it into their own hands as they race to find a murderer.

Last Known Victim

Last Known Victim

Author: Erica Spindler Format: eBook Release Date: 25/09/2007

August 2005.Amid death and destruction, hurricane-savaged New Orleans has a new dark force to fear.As the rescue efforts unfold, a grisly discovery is made at one of the massive refrigerator graveyards. One of these metal hulks contains six human hands - all female, all right hands. The press has dubbed the unknown perpetrator The Handyman. But with no way to trace the origin of this refrigerator, and with evidence lost to time and the elements, the case dead-ends.Captain Patti OShay is a straight-arrow, by-the-book cop who is assigned to the case. Her tough, unflinching character is fractured when her husband and fellow police captain is found murdered - surprised by looters taking advantage of the post-storm chaos.August 2007Patti, still grieving and disillusioned, gets a call from homicide: skeletal remains have been unearthed in City Park. The unknown victim - a female - is missing her right hand. But for Patti, this grave holds something even more shocking. Found beside the victims bones is her husbands police badge.Casting aside the very rule book by which she has lived her life, Patti is fearless - but so is the killer. As he stalks her she is forced to question all she believes in, to doubt the code she has lived bybecause she knows that if she doesnt find The Handyman first, she will become his last known victim.