LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks Narrated by Jonathan McClain

Browse audiobooks narrated by Jonathan McClain, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 2 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. The Handmaid's Tale Audiobook The Handmaid's Tale
    1
  2. The Rosie Result Audiobook The Rosie Result
    2
  3. In at the Deep End Audiobook In at the Deep End
    3
  4. The Hate U Give Audiobook The Hate U Give
    4
  5. The Future of Capitalism: Facing the New Anxieties Audiobook The Future of Capitalism: Facing the New Anxieties
    5
  6. Best Self: Be You, Only Better Audiobook Best Self: Be You, Only Better
    6
  7. 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World Audiobook 10 Minutes 38 Seconds in This Strange World
    7
  8. The Beekeeper of Aleppo: A moving testament to the human spirit Audiobook The Beekeeper of Aleppo: A moving testament to the human spirit
    8
  9. Hired: Six Months Undercover in Low-Wage Britain Audiobook Hired: Six Months Undercover in Low-Wage Britain
    9
  10. The Whisper Man: The chilling must-read thriller of summer 2019 Audiobook The Whisper Man: The chilling must-read thriller of summer 2019
    10
Filter
Psyched Up: How the Science of Mental Preparation Can Help You Succeed Audiobook

Psyched Up: How the Science of Mental Preparation Can Help You Succeed

Author: Daniel McGinn Narrator: Johnathan Mcclain, Jonathan McClain Release Date: June 2017

Closing the sale. Asking for a raise. Nailing the big presentation. Of the 2,000 hours you work every year, your success or failure is determined in the couple of dozen crucial hours when you need to bring your absolute best. Will you? The last few minutes before a major challenge can be terrifying. Ever wished you knew how to make sure you ace the make-or-break test, audition, or interview? We often feel the most powerless just before we're expected to act powerful. As you'll learn in this life-changing book, practice might make perfect, but perfection is useless if you can't summon it when it counts. Pulling off a great speech or the pivotal at bat also requires the right kind of mental preparation. In Psyched Up, journalist Daniel McGinn dives into the latest psychological research and interviews athletes, soldiers, entertainers, and others who, despite years of practice and enviable track records, will ultimately be judged on their ability to delivera solid performance when it's their turn to shine. For instance, he reveals... • How Jerry Seinfeld's jacket and Stephen Colbert's pen help them get laughs. • What General Stanley McChrystal said to Special Forces before they entered the battlefield. • Why the New England Patriots hired the DJ from the Red Sox to help them win. Among other counterintuitive insights, McGinn reveals why trying to calm your backstage jitters can be worse for your performance than channeling it into excitement; how meaningless rituals can do more to prepare you in the final moments than last-minute rehearsal; and how a prescription from your doctor could help you unleash your best skills. Whether you're a sportsperson or a salesperson, an actor or an entrepreneur, one bad hour can throw away months of hard work. There's so much conflicting popular advice that we often end up doing the wrong things. McGinn separates the facts from the old wives' tales and shares new, research driven strategies for activating your talent, optimizing your emotions, and getting psyched up to take the spotlight.

Show more
Psyched Up: How the Science of Mental Preparation Can Help You Succeed Audiobook

Psyched Up: How the Science of Mental Preparation Can Help You Succeed

Author: Daniel McGinn Narrator: Jonathan McClain Release Date: June 2017

Penguin presents the unabridged, downloadable audiobook edition of Psyched Up by Daniel McGinn, read by Jonathan McClain. What's the difference between succeeding and failing in life's big moments? In Psyched Up, acclaimed journalist Daniel McGinn explains why mental preparation is the key to mastering any challenge. Examining the latest scientific research into the smartest ways to deal with a flood of adrenaline, increase focus, minimize negative thoughts, and optimize emotions, Psyched Up teaches you what do in the last few minutes before a major event. Drawing on interviews with high-performing professionals such as retired General Stanley McChrystal, NASCAR champion driver Jimmie Johnson and legendary tennis coach Nick Bollettieri, McGinn illustrates how to develop a personal psyching up routine and reveals why introverts and extroverts might employ different methods.

Show more
Little White Lies Audiobook

Little White Lies

Author: Brianna Baker, F. Bowman Hastie Narrator: Cherise Boothe, Jonathan McClain Release Date: February 2016

Having achieved fame and thousands of followers with her Tumblr expose of her brilliant-yet-clueless parents, a seventeen-year-old African American honors student tries to keep secret that her microblog is ghostwritten by a forty-one-year-old white man.

Show more
The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B Audiobook

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B

Author: Teresa Toten Narrator: Johnathan Mcclain, Jonathan McClain Release Date: March 2015

Filled with moments of deep emotion and unexpected humor, this understated and wise novel explores the complexities of living with OCD and offers the prospect of hope, happiness and healing. Perfect for readers who love Eleanor & Park and All the Bright Places.ADAM'S GOALS:Grow immediately.Find courage.Keep courage.Get normal.Marry Robyn Plummer.The instant Adam Spencer Ross meets Robyn Plummer in his Young Adult OCD Support Group, he is hopelessly, desperately drawn to her. Robyn has an hypnotic voice, blue eyes the shade of an angry sky, and ravishing beauty that makes Adam's insides ache. She's also just been released from a residential psychiatric program the kind for the worst, most difficult-to-cure cases; the kind that Adam and his fellow support group members will do anything to avoid joining.Adam immediately knows that he has to save Robyn, must save Robyn, or die trying. But is it really Robyn who needs rescuing? And is it possible to have a normal relationship when your life is anything but?Select praise for The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B:. . . achingly authentic. Like Augustus Waters before him, Adam Spencer Ross will renew your faith in real-life superheroes and shatter your heart in equal measures. Kirkus Reviews, StarredThis book made me laugh, cry, think, and kept me coming back for more. The GuardianAdam is a protagonist that readers will root for. VOYAHonest, fresh, and funny . . . Toten employs information about OCD like grace notes in this deft and compelling narrative. BooklistAdam is a fresh and complex character, and far more than the sum of his symptoms. Publishers WeeklyFrom the Hardcover edition.

Show more
Die Trying Audiobook

Die Trying

Author: Lee Child Narrator: Johnathan Mcclain, Jonathan McClain Release Date: October 2012

When a woman is kidnapped off a Chicago street in broad daylight, Jack Reacher's in the wrong place at the wrong time. He's kidnapped with her. Chained together and racing across America toward an unknown destination, they're at the mercy of a group of men demanding an impossible ransom. Because Reacher's female companion is worth more than he imagines. Now he has to save them both-from the inside out-or die trying.

Show more
Tripwire Audiobook

Tripwire

Author: Lee Child Narrator: Johnathan Mcclain, Jonathan McClain Release Date: October 2012

Reacher's anonymity in Florida is shattered by an investigator who's come looking for him. But hours after his arrival, the stranger is murdered. Retracing the PI's trail back to New York, Reacher's compelled to find out who was looking for him and why. He never expected the reasons to be so personal--and twisted.

Show more
Running Blind Audiobook

Running Blind

Author: Lee Child Narrator: Johnathan Mcclain, Jonathan McClain Release Date: October 2012

Across the country women are being murdered by a killer who leaves no evidence, no fatal wounds, no signs of struggle, and no clues to a motive. They are, truly, perfect crimes. In fact, the only thing that links the victims is the man they all knew: Jack Reacher.

Show more