LoveReading

Becoming a member of the LoveReading community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unadulterated book loving, with your favourite books saved to your own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop Plus lots lots more…

Find out more

Audiobooks Narrated by Alister Austin

Browse audiobooks narrated by Alister Austin, listen to samples and when you're ready head over to Audiobooks.com where you can get 2 FREE audiobooks on us

LoveReading Top 10

  1. 488 Rules for Life: The Thankless Art of Being Correct Audiobook 488 Rules for Life: The Thankless Art of Being Correct
    1
  2. Magpie Audiobook Magpie
    2
  3. A Midwinter Promise Audiobook A Midwinter Promise
    3
  4. Lessons In Lust Audiobook Lessons In Lust
    4
  5. Behind the Mask: My Autobiography Audiobook Behind the Mask: My Autobiography
    5
  6. Peaky Blinders: The Real Story: The new true history of Birmingham's most notorious gangs Audiobook Peaky Blinders: The Real Story: The new true history of Birmingham's most notorious gangs
    6
  7. The Hunting Party Audiobook The Hunting Party
    7
  8. The Butterfly Room Audiobook The Butterfly Room
    8
  9. Unstoppable: Transforming Your Mindset to Create Change, Accelerate Results, and Be the Best at What Audiobook Unstoppable: Transforming Your Mindset to Create Change, Accelerate Results, and Be the Best at What
    9
  10. The Giver of Stars: Fall in love with the enchanting Sunday Times bestseller from the author of Me B Audiobook The Giver of Stars: Fall in love with the enchanting Sunday Times bestseller from the author of Me B
    10
Filter
Tenets: A Lamentation's End Novella Audiobook

Tenets: A Lamentation's End Novella

Author: Wade Lewellyn-Hughes Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: January 2019

Taking place prior to the events in OPPROBRIUM, TENETS is a twisting story that can be enjoyed on its own or used to supplement the larger narrative of the series, revealing the events that led Stille van Veen to join the Ukrestian monastery. After a break from his older brother's shadow, Stille van Veen returns with his mercenary band to his home island of Lekelith. Rumors relay strange events across the island: lowlander villagers are being abducted, prisoners have escaped from the Five Snakes, and Racinian nobles are being assassinated. But his band has their own mission to fulfill. Little do they realize how intertwined these events truly are. A secret society seeking to enslave the magi and to restore Merith's rule, a god's relic, and an unrelenting necromancer force Veen down paths that demand sacrifices. For the greater good.

Show more
Fragile Cord: DS Coupland Book 1 Audiobook

Fragile Cord: DS Coupland Book 1

Author: Emma Salisbury Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: April 2019

Fragile Cord is an emotional rollercoaster charting the psychological meltdown of a mother with a deadly secret. Tracey Kavanagh was her usual upbeat self; right up until the moment she drowned her son and tied a rope around her neck killing herself and her unborn child. For Alex Moreton, this case couldn't have come at a worse time, battling with her partner over whether to have another child, she is superstitious about pushing their luck - they're happy enough as they are...aren't they? DS Kevin Coupland is dealing with a serious assault outside a wine bar in Swinton. Devoted family man Ricky Wilson is brutally stabbed following an altercation with youths while out with his wife and their children to celebrate her birthday. Coupland and Moreton's cases merge when it transpires that Tracey and Ricky were tragically connected. Is it possible that there could be more to these two investigations than pure coincidence? "Emma is the latest to join an elite club of authors." SUNDAY MAIL

Show more
A Place of Safety: DS Coupland Book 2 Audiobook

A Place of Safety: DS Coupland Book 2

Author: Emma Salisbury Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: April 2019

A PLACE OF SAFETY is a fast paced, brutal account of struggling families, overstretched police and modern-day gang culture. DS Kevin Coupland, still coming to terms with his wife's illness has a new DCI to contend with. DS Alex Moreton, due to start her maternity leave at the end of the week has a replacement DC snapping at her heels. When another witness is murdered Coupland comes under increasing pressure to track down the killer but then tragedy strikes, testing him to the limits. Someone is intimidating the remaining witnesses with a cold blooded callousness that smacks of a professional. As Coupland sifts the truth from the lie he discovers the drive-by shooting wasn't so random after all, and that Abby Marlowe is in the worst possible danger... "Emma is the latest to join an elite club of authors." SUNDAY MAIL

Show more
One Bad Turn: DS Coupland Book 3 Audiobook

One Bad Turn: DS Coupland Book 3

Author: Emma Salisbury Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: April 2019

No sooner has Detective Sergeant Kevin Coupland stepped off the plane from a family holiday than he gets the call that a woman's body has been found on a path beside a recreation park in a smart suburb in Salford. Sharon Mathers suffered a brutal blow to the head following a night out with friends from work. Teamed with DC Ashcroft who has transferred from the Met under a cloud, Coupland struggles to find a motive for the killing when two days later another body is found, this time at the bottom of a footbridge at Salford Station. Could the same person be responsible? "Emma is the latest to join an elite club of authors." SUNDAY MAIL

Show more
Absent: DS Coupland Book 4 Audiobook

Absent: DS Coupland Book 4

Author: Emma Salisbury Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: May 2019

A gripping warts and all police procedural which will hook fans of Angela Marsons and Ed James. When he stopped a serial killer in his tracks earlier in the year he thought that would be the end of it, but for DS Kevin Coupland his nightmare has just begun. A child's body is discovered hidden in a bag, kicking off a major investigation for Salford Precinct's murder squad. Soon the National Crime Agency roll into town and Coupland is under strict instructions to play nice. DS Alex Moreton returns from maternity leave to find her partner deeply troubled, but with a cold case to review she's in no position to prevent him hitting the self-destruct button. As he hunts down the child's killer Coupland is forced to reflect upon his own life and find an answer to the question he's been avoiding. Is it possible to accept the things you cannot change? "Emma is the latest to join an elite club of authors." SUNDAY MAIL

Show more
Hired: Six Months Undercover in Low-Wage Britain Audiobook

Hired: Six Months Undercover in Low-Wage Britain

Author: James Bloodworth Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: June 2019

From the Orwellian reach of an Amazon warehouse to the time trials of a council care worker and the grim reality behind the glossy Uber App, Hired is a clear-eyed analysis of a divided nation and a riveting dispatch from the very frontline of low-wage Britain. We all define ourselves by our profession. But what if our job was demeaning, poorly paid, and tedious? Cracking open Britain's divisions journalist James Bloodworth spends six months living and working across Britain, taking on the country's most gruelling jobs. He lives on the meagre proceeds and discovers the anxieties and hopes of those he encounters, including working-class British, young students striving to make ends meet, and Eastern European immigrants. From the Staffordshire Amazon warehouse to the taxi-cabs of Uber, Bloodworth narrates how traditional working-class communities have been decimated by the move to soulless service jobs with no security, advancement or satisfaction. This is a gripping examination of Brexit Britain, a divided nation which needs to understand the true reality of how other people live and work before it can heal. 'A very discomforting book, no matter what your politics might be... very good' Sunday Times 'Potent, disturbing and revelatory' Evening Standard

Show more
Breaker Audiobook

Breaker

Author: Rob Aspinall Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: March 2019

Can the villain be the hero? If you like Lee Child and Mark Dawson, meet the tough new antihero with a particular set of skills. Charlie Cobb - aka 'Breaker' - is a mafia fixer on the gritty, crime-ridden streets of Manchester, England. He's the guy the mafia send in to deal with the worst of the worst. The legendary underworld 'fixer' who keeps the peace between rival gangs. But after his idealistic daughter makes him swear to give up his life of crime, Breaker finds himself torn between two futures. Play assassin and pull the trigger on young murder witness, Danny Platt? Or act as protector, taking on vicious mob boss, Ivan Rudenko? Whatever happens, it won't be pretty. Breaker is the first in a brand new thriller series. An 'origins' novella packed full of action, adventure, dark humour and suspense. So strap yourself in for a white-knuckle ride and say hello to the baddest new good guy on the block. Download Breaker today.

Show more
Trapped Audiobook

Trapped

Author: Nick Louth Narrator: Alister Austin, Larner Wallace-Taylor Release Date: July 2019

A nerve-shredding suspense thriller from bestselling author Nick Louth. Trapped is perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, JP Delaney and Rachel Abbott. In Manchester, two hardened gang members on the run take Catherine Blake and her one-year-old son hostage at gunpoint. She is in the wrong place at the wrong time. Held in a Transit van, Catherine needs a plan fast. But it means diving into her captors' risk-drenched world, and playing them at their own game. Catherine has been through cancer, miscarriages and five draining years of IVF in order to have her son Ethan. He is the most precious thing in the world. She may be terrified out of her wits, but she'd do anything to protect him. Anything, no matter the cost...Brace yourself.

Show more
The Bad Boy of Athens Audiobook

The Bad Boy of Athens

Author: Daniel Mendelsohn Narrator: Alister Austin Release Date: October 2019

Over the past three decades, Daniel Mendelsohn's essays and reviews have earned him a reputation as 'our most irresistible literary critic' (New York Times). This striking new collection exemplifies the way in which Mendelsohn - a classicist by training - uses the classics as a lens to think about urgent contemporary debates. There is much to surprise here. Mendelsohn invokes the automatons featured in Homer's epics to help explain the AI films Ex Machina and Her, and perceives how Ted Hughes sought redemption by translating a play of Euripides (the 'bad boy of Athens') about a wayward husband whose wife returns from the dead. There are essays on Sappho's sexuality and the feminism of Game of Thrones; on how Virgil's Aeneid prefigures post-World War II history and why we are still obsessed with the Titanic; on Patrick Leigh Fermor's final journey, Karl Ove Knausgaard's autofiction and the plays of Tom Stoppard, Tennessee Williams, and Noël Coward. The collection ends with a poignant account of the author's boyhood correspondence with the historical novelist Mary Renault, which inspired his ambition to become a writer. In The Bad Boy of Athens, Mendelsohn provokes and dazzles with erudition, emotion and tart wit while his essays dance across eras, cultures and genres. This is a provocative collection which sees today's master of popular criticism using the ancient past to reach into the very heart of modern culture. 'Mendelsohn takes the classical costumes off figures like Virgil and Sappho, Homer and Horace ... He writes about things so clearly they come to feel like some of the most important things you have ever been told.' SEBASTIAN BARRY

Show more