Lovereading.co.uk

join us on facebook win prizes fern britton a good catch you me and other people summer reading
Vouchers

'new gen' - Great Fiction for Teens and Young Adults 'new gen' - Great Fiction for Teens and Young Adults

All authors and books in this category
Show this month's 'new gen' - Great Fiction for Teens and Young Adults Books
Show Author List

Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 38 pages in total
Girl Online
Zoe Sugg
December 2014 NewGen Debut of the Month. Vlogger Zoella’s fans will fall headlong into this sharply observed, super-realistic teen story. Against a background of first the ordinary ups and downs of...
Format: Hardback - Released: 25/11/2014
     
Shadows on the Moon
Zoe Marriott
A prize-winning reinvention of the familiar Cinderella story set in a richly created Japanese setting, this is a powerful and haunting novel shot through with romance. Suzume is a shadow-weaver; she can become whoever she wants except her true self....
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/07/2011
     
Frostfire
Zoe Marriott
Perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare this is a literary fantasy about war, racial identity and first love, in which Frost has left her homeland to travel to the neighbouring country of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/07/2012
     
Reader Reviewed The Night Itself
Zoe Marriott
Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. Great for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare. ...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
     
Darkness Hidden
Zoe Marriott
Against all odds, Mio, Jack and Shinobu have defeated the terrifying Nekomata and got home alive. But Mio is still compelled to protect the katana, and now the Underworld has spawned a worse monster - one carrying a devastating plague...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
     
No Use Crying
Zannah Kearns
This warm and powerful coming-of-age story is a sparkling debut from a brilliant fresh talent, filled with colourful characters that will stay with you long after the book is finished.
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/09/2011
     
Dead Beautiful
Yvonne Woon
Dark romance meets haunting murder mystery in this captivating tale of love, death and destiny.At Gottfried Academy, just one kiss will take your breath away. After Renee discovers her parents dead in what appears to be a strange...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/05/2011
     
Life Eternal
Yvonne Woon
May 2012 New Gen Book of the Month. Matters of life and death and the role of a passionate romance in them lie at the heart of this spellbinding story of how...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/05/2012
     
Dance of Shadows
Yelana Black
Passionate, sinister and thrilling, this captures both the friendship and the pressure on a group of highly talented young dancers whose lives are at risk from the dark mystery that haunts their school. Vanessa is newly arrived at the New...
Format: Paperback - Released: 12/02/2013
     
The Ghost Bride
Yangsze Choo
Drawing on traditional Malayan folklore and superstition, The Ghost Bride is a haunting, exotic and romantic read perfect for fans of Empress Orchid and Memoirs of a Geisha. A Piece of Passion from Emily Thomas, Publisher ...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/08/2013
     
Reader Reviewed Why We Took the Car
Wolfgang Herrndorf
Winner of the German Teen Literature Prize, this is a hugely entertaining hair-raising and tender story of two boys on the road trip of a lifetime. Mike tells the story of the summer that changes his life. With a reputation...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/02/2014
     
The Wall
William Sutcliffe
This is the sort of book that sends shivers down your spine so disturbing is it. It tells of a wall that divides a city, the Jews on one side, the Arabs on the other. A 13-year old boy discovers...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/03/2014
     
Rich and Mad
William Nicholson
April 2010 'new gen' Book of the Month title. Full of the myriad and criss-crossing emotions of adolescent love, this is a warm-hearted and finely observed view of two teenagers’...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/04/2009
     
The Princess Bride
William Goldman
Simply one of the best swashbuckling, romantic, adventure stories ever written. From pirates and duels to giants and hunchbacks and romance and comedy there is something here that will appeal to everyone. It may all sound a bit corny but...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/08/2008
     
Lord of the Flies
William Golding
June 2012 Guest Editor Joanne Harris on Lord of the Flies... I first read this when I was ten. It terrified and fascinated me. It still does. The Lovereading view... William Golding’s iconic and enduring novel is interesting...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/08/2011
     
The Inheritors
William Golding
This was Golding’s 2nd published novel and hailed by critics as his best, so startling was it that one, Arthur Koestler, described it as ‘an earthquake in the petrified forests of the English Novel’.55 years on the novel...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/08/2011
     
Department 19
Will Hill
This is a well crafted debut paranormal novel for teens but it's much more than that for it features a cleverly laid plot that revolves around a government secret agency who pull into the organisation a 14 year old Jamie...
Format: Hardback - Released: 31/03/2011
     
Reader Reviewed Department 19
Will Hill
One of our New Gen Debuts of the Year 2011. This is a well crafted debut paranormal novel for teens but it's much more than that for it features a cleverly laid plot that revolves around a government secret agency...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/09/2011
     
Department 19: The Rising
Will Hill
The pulse-pounding sequel to Department 19- 'The best action horror story I have ever read' according to Bookzoneforboys!
Format: Hardback - Released: 29/03/2012
     
Department 19: The Rising
Will Hill
This is a well crafted debut paranormal novel for teens but it's much more than that for it features a cleverly laid plot that revolves around a government secret agency who pull into the organisation a 14 year old Jamie...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/08/2012
     
Department 19: Battle Lines
Will Hill
Book 3 from the talent behind the bestselling hardback YA debut of 2011. Dracula is on the verge of coming into his full power. Department 19 is on the back foot. Department 19 faces a new and potentially deadly threat,...
Format: Hardback - Released: 28/03/2013
     
Department 19: Zero Hour
Will Hill
Department 19 is utterly addictive. Packed with great characters and brilliantly plotted, the series sets a new benchmark for YA thrillers. This is book four in the explosive series from bestselling author, Will Hill. if you're looking for a fast-paced...
Format: Hardback - Released: 05/06/2014
     
Department 19: Zero Hour
Will Hill
Department 19 still stands against the darkness. But for how much longer? Book four in the explosive series from bestselling author, Will Hill, that captivates teens. Page-turning action combines with compelling characters, intriguing historical events, modern day warfare and full...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2015
     
Reader Reviewed Darkest Night
Will Hill
The epic conclusion in the blood-poundingly brilliant Department 19 series, from bestselling author, Will Hill. Since 1891 when Abraham Van Helsing and a group of friends faced Dracula, the world's first vampire and won, the survivors of that battle founded...
Format: Hardback - Released: 04/06/2015
     
The Moonstone
Wilkie Collins
One of Sue Perkins' favourite books. T S Eliot called The Moonstone 'the first and greatest of English detective novels'. A fabulous yellow diamond becomes the dangerous inheritance of Rachel Verinder. Outside her Yorkshire country house watch the Hindu...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/11/1998
     
Reader Reviewed The Rain
Virginia Bergin
One of our Books of the Year 2014 A dystopian story told with the refreshing addition of a dollop of good humour. Ruby thinks nothing of it when it begins to rain. Why should she? But, what she doesn’t know...
Format: Paperback - Released: 17/07/2014
     
The Storm
Virginia Bergin
Virgina Bergin’s debut The Rain has already won her a large following among fans of YA. It’s the story of dippy Ruby, who manages, almost in spite of herself, to survive a devastating apocalypse brought about by a killer contagion...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/02/2015
     
Friday Brown
Vikki Wakefield
A gritty tale of self discovery - Friday is alone in the world after her mother's death but she is saved by Silence, a strange, mute street boy. She briefly finds solace in Silence and his gang until they need...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/07/2013
     
Slumdog Millionaire
Vikas Swarup
A great slant on the phenomenon of "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" with a young boy from the streets of India winning a million rupees, only to be thrown in jail as a fraudster. However, there is no coughing...
Format: Paperback - Released: 02/01/2009
     
Witchstruck
Victoria Lamb
Winner of the Romantic Novelists' Association Young Adult Romantic Novel Award 2013. Meg Lytton has always known of her dark and powerful gift. Raised a student of the old magick by her Aunt Jane, casting the circle to see visions...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/07/2012
     
Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 38 pages in total
  
Add to favourites

Life-lessons, loves, laughs & LOADS more! _________________________ Especially compiled for Young Adults, this section is awash with wonderful worlds to escape to, great stories and characters you’ll love. _________________________

The teenage years are such a vibrant and vivid time in your life. Adventure, friendships, self-discovery are all there in spades, but there’s frustration too, impatience and a strong desire to be understood. This section of fantastic books for teens and young adult readers is filled with stories that reflect all of these feelings in settings that will give flight to your imagination. Be inspired by tales of self-discovery, run the rocky road of first romance, battle big issues in mysterious worlds, beat the bleak future of dystopian regimes, or laugh out loud at the ridiculousness of it all. There’s something here for all tastes and moods from half-god heroes to horseback holidays and literally everything in between.

You can download a free Opening Extract of each book, usually about the first chapter. Read it on your screen, or print it off and enjoy anywhere. We give you enough of a book to see whether it’s your sort of thing.

The Wishlist feature is great if it's your birthday or Christmas coming up. Make an online list of books you'd like to read and email Mum, Dad or generous relatives with credit cards.

Try the Author Like-for-Like tool when you've finished all the books by one author you love, and don't know what to read next. Just type in a favourite writer's name, and we'll suggest others, equally brilliant and with a similar style.

It's all completely free. All we need from you is an email address and password. But don't worry; we don't go passing on your contact details to anyone else.

facebook logo