Lovereading.co.uk

rosemary goring after flodden books of the month amitav ghosh the good life martina cole fern britton a good catch
Vouchers

Romantic Fiction Romantic Fiction

Love is all around us, they say. Well, it certainly is here. Romance for the bus, bath, beach, bed or best friend’s birthday!

Books of the Month

Reader Reviewed We are All Made of Stars
Rowan Coleman
June 2015 Book of the Month. Beautifully thought-provoking and yet simply and effortlessly readable, this is an intimate compassionate dance with life, death and hope. Read the first letter, followed by the...
Format: Hardback - Released: 21/05/2015
     

Other Featured Books this Month

Reader Reviewed The Silent Hours
Cesca Major
June 2015 Debut of the Month. Extraordinarily powerful and emotional, this debut fictional tale, based around a true event that occurred during the Second...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/06/2015
     
Afternoon Tea at the Sunflower Cafe
Milly Johnson
They say revenge is sweet and there’s nothing sweeter than chocolate! Cheryl, Connie and Della, respectively in their 30’s, 40’s and 50’s could be your neighbours, colleagues or relatives. Each of them has been let down in some way and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/06/2015
     
Creature Comforts
Trisha Ashley
One of Trisha Ashley’s best, a charming romance with lots going on and a good central character in Izzy. Some chapters start with her dreams which add a nice touch. Izzy has been travelling for three years in India and...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/06/2015
     
Reader Reviewed A Seaside Affair
Fern Britton
One of the Top 10 Lovereading Reader Review Panel Summer Read selections. Yes, this is the Fern Britton of TV fame and a very good author she is too. This is set in the Cornish seaside town of Trevay, as...
Format: Paperback - Released: 26/03/2015
     
Reader Reviewed The Year I Met You
Cecelia Ahern
Very different from her previous books for there is no supernatural or spiritual element. Just a thoroughly good story of family dynamics, relationships, handicaps in families and it affects all. It’s pensive, soul searching stuff concentrating on two people who...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/06/2015
     
Reader Reviewed The Thirty List
Eva Woods
A loveable hug of a book, one that retains a positive feel of realism while embracing you with its warmhearted wit. Rachel can’t foresee a time when she will ever want to rejoin the dating game, while Patrick has created...
Format: Paperback - Released: 18/06/2015
     
One Summer in Venice
Nicky Pellegrino
In the maze of Venice's canals, bridges and piazzas, one woman sets herself a goal to find the ten things that could be the key to her happiness. Once she's found them, she'll construct a new life around them, but...
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/05/2015
     
Reader Reviewed The Sunrise
Victoria Hislop
Having told the harrowing tale of the leper colony of Spinalonga in The Island and the history of Thessalonika in The Thread, Victoria Hislop returns to a Mediterranean island, Cyprus. Sunrise was the name of Famagusta's most luxurious...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/06/2015
     
The Woman Who Fell in Love for a Week
Fiona Walker
Three years on from a rather messy divorce Jenny does a spot of house-sitting to supplement her proof-reading income. She is off to the country for two weeks to look after a beautiful house and an unruly dog. The gardener...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/06/2015
     
Under a Cornish Sky
Liz Fenwick
For fans of Judy Finnigan and Rosamunde Pilcher, a spelling-binding tale of romance and intrigue, set against the gorgeous Cornish coast. In Under a Cornish Sky Liz Fenwick weaves another deliciously irresistible tale.
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/05/2015
     
Too Charming
Kathryn Freeman
Does a girl ever really learn from her mistakes? Detective Sergeant Megan Taylor thinks so. She once lost her heart to a man who was too charming and she isn't about to make the same mistake again - especially not...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/06/2015
     
The Dish
Stella Newman
A slice of commercial women's fiction heaven that'll leave you happy and hungry in equal measure. Fiction has never tasted so good.
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/05/2015
     
How I Wonder What You are
Jane Lovering
This author often has some fey or magical touch to her romances which I find quite charming. In this one we have lights in the sky which seemingly only our two main characters can see. Set on the Yorkshire moors...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/05/2015
     

Last Month's Featured Books


Reader Reviewed A Good Catch
Fern Britton
May 2015 Book of the Month. Four young people, friends since school, are the main players in this fine portrayal...
 
 

Cake Shop in the Garden
Carole Matthews
Struggling to keep the family home by running the main rooms of the house as a café keeps Fay ultra-busy. Add a demanding, bedridden mother and a narrow boat at...
 
 

Wild and Free
Wendy Holden
A witty, at times cynical look at life through the antics of a group of people at a music/literary festival. Some are going there to forget, some to reclaim...
 
 

The Illusionists
Rosie Thomas
May 2015 Book of the Month. A bit of a diversion for Rosie Thomas for this is a period novel of the...
 
 

Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Diana Gabaldon
This is an incredible series which began with Cross Stitch in 1994. Back then Claire stepped through a stone circle in Scotland in 1945 and found herself in the...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Heat of Betrayal
Douglas Kennedy
May 2015 Book of the Month. A riveting, powerful exploration of love, guilt, survival and how echoes of the past can clamour...
 
 

Gwendolen
Diana Souhami
Set in the middle of the 19th century, this is the story of Gwendolen Harleth from her early twenties on. It is always from her point of view and told...
 
 

The Month Before's Featured Books


Reader Reviewed That Girl from Nowhere
Dorothy Koomson
April 2015 MEGA Book of the Month. What a terrific and powerful book, I reckon it is her best yet. It covers...
 
 

Otherwise Engaged
Amanda Quick
Amanda Quick is one of the pseudonyms of Jayne Ann Krentz, one of the bestselling romance writers in the world. Many of Krentz’s books have a supernatural element but this...
 
 

The Forever Girl
Alexander McCall Smith
Clover (real name Sally) meets James in primary school. She is six years old. By the time she is 13 she realises she is truly in love with James but...
 
 

Reader Reviewed If You Were Me
Sheila O'Flanagan
A very classic Sheila O’Flanagan tale with a strong message and a charming tale of will she/won’t she while we know exactly what she should do. Whether she does or...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Cavendon Women
Barbara Taylor Bradford
April 2015 Book of the Month. This follows on from Cavendon Hall and is a projected series of novels set around...
 
 

The Heroes' Welcome
Louisa Young
The sequel to My Dear, I Wanted To Tell You which was set during World War I. This is 1919 and Riley has returned from the front with part...
 
 

It's Not Me, it's You
Mhairi McFarlane
The overall message in this witty read is that even if things don’t work out, risks are worth taking. This is Mhairi’s third romantic comedy and I would recommend them...
 
 
See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category
  

Add to favourites

Love’s Labours Found _______________________________

Some people say it’s not their cup of tea. But have they tried every blend? From handsome aristocrats to family feuds, holiday flings, to forbidden fruits; local community taboos to young love’s dream there’s something here to ignite passion in the hardest of hearts.

Whether you’re looking for something for the beach, a happy place on the way to work, or the next instalment of a much-loved character’s car-crash love-life, we’ve hand-picked the very best in romantic fiction for all tastes. Why not sign up for our email to keep up to date with new love, check out the Book of the Month recommendations for inspiration, or simply judge a book by its cover? Love at first sight!

_______________________________

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.

A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Jane Dawkins 
Rosamunde Pilcher 
Nora Roberts 
V.C. Andrews 
Mary Jane Staples 
Katie Flynn 
Anna Jacobs 
Audrey Howard 
Anita Burgh 
Catherine Cookson 
Lyn Andrews 
Gilda O'Neill 
Joanna Trollope 
Joanna Lindsey 
Kinley MacGregor 
Barbara Erskine