Lovereading.co.uk

summer reading newgen books for YA readers debuts of the month susan lewis titles no other darkness sarah hilary
Vouchers

Romantic Fiction Romantic Fiction

Love is all around us, they say. Well, it certainly is here. Romance for the bus, bath, beach, bed or best friend’s birthday!

This Month's Featured Books

Reader Reviewed Daughter of the House
Rosie Thomas
August 2015 Book of the Month. A heartfelt, lovely, interesting story set between 1910 and 1931, where a family with a difference, face everyday and extraordinary difficulties and conflicts. Daughter of the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/07/2015
     
Reader Reviewed Rembrandt's Mirror
Kim Devereux
August 2015 Debut of the Month. This is such a stimulating, penetrating and truly beautiful novel, Kim Devereux obviously has a deeply emotional connection...
Format: Hardback - Released: 06/08/2015
     
The Last Embrace
Pam Jenoff
A lovely warm, evocative story with a lightening sharp edge that highlights the conflict of the Second World War. Set mainly in the USA, with a sojourn in London, the beginning of the book steps back, back and back again...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/08/2015
     
Reader Reviewed Without a Trace
Lesley Pearse
An enjoyable, comforting read, even with murder, intrigue and abuse, sneaking and scheming their way through the pages. Set after the Second World War in 1953, the author deftly takes you back to a time when rationing and making do...
Format: Paperback - Released: 13/08/2015
     
The History of Love
Nicole Krauss
The History of Love explores the lasting power of the written word and the lasting power of love. The book was short-listed for the Orange Prize for Fiction 2006 and was the winner of the 2006 Prix du Meilleur Livre...
Format: Paperback - Released: 06/08/2015
     
The Piano Man Project
Kat French
If you are in search of a flirty, fun read with heart and soul then look no further. ‘The Piano Man Project’ has personality, atmosphere and emotion. There are several charming stories weaving though each other here, the romance enjoys...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/07/2015
     
Pegasus
Danielle Steel
Opening in Germany where cousins owned large adjoining estates, we are on the cusp of World War II. Jewish blood is in the family as one cousin married a Jew. Naturally the kids are in danger and a brilliant plan...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/07/2015
     
Landline
Rainbow Rowell
When the marriage has definite cracks Neal takes his two beautiful daughters to his parents in Omaha for Christmas and Georgie stays in California for her work. She spends a few days with her mum and uses her old...
Format: Hardback - Released: 30/07/2015
     

Last Month's Featured Books


Creature Comforts
Trisha Ashley
One of Trisha Ashley’s best, a charming romance with lots going on and a good central character in Izzy. Some chapters start with her dreams which add a nice touch....
 
 

Afternoon Tea at the Sunflower Cafe
Milly Johnson
They say revenge is sweet and there’s nothing sweeter than chocolate! Cheryl, Connie and Della, respectively in their 30’s, 40’s and 50’s could be your neighbours, colleagues or relatives. Each...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Song Collector
Natasha Solomons
July 2015 Book of the Month. ‘The Song Collector’ subtly tiptoes under your skin, the first few sentences call to you, draw...
 
 

Reader Reviewed Royal Wedding The Princess Diaries 11
Meg Cabot
Mia Thermopolis is one of the most delightful fictional creations ever. Transformed in an instant from ordinary New York teen to princess, her adventures, recounted in Meg Cabot’s bestselling Princess...
 
 

The Chocolate Apothecary
Josephine Moon
A deliciously delightful read, the perfect choice if you like your relationship tales to be thoughtful, discerning and have deeper more meaningful tones. Christmas, in her late 30’s, lives in...
 
 

No Place for a Lady
Gill Paul
With strong characters, a gripping and emotionally intense plot combined with meticulous research No Place for a Lady by Gill Paul is a wonderful read for fans of historical fiction....
 
 

Summer Secrets
Jane Green
A gripping tale of recovery and redemption from bestselling author Jane Green. As the past collides with the present, Cat must confront the darkest things in her own life and...
 
 

Thirst
Kerry Hudson
A love story with a strong will-they-won’t-they element as Dave catches Alena shoplifting, fancies/pities her and takes her in. Two lonely people who are obviously good for each other but...
 
 

Reader Reviewed In Love and War
Alex Preston
A remarkably captivating book that starts as a slow-burner then sparks into an absolute firecracker of a read. The introduction to Fascism in Florence just before World War Two, when...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Book of Lost and Found
Lucy Foley
One of those involved family dramas of uncertain parentage, mystery and secrets. Wonderful stuff. It concerns a young woman, Kate, who at the age of six loses her mother in...
 
 

Some Kind of Wonderful
Sarah Morgan
A delightfully alluring romance, where you know the couple should be together but do they! This is the second in the ‘Puffin Island’ trilogy, this time Brittany and Zachary are...
 
 

Courting Trouble
Kathy Lette
Tilly has the day from hell when she's sacked from her barristers' chambers in the morning, then finds her husband in bed with her former best friend in the afternoon....
 
 

The Month Before's Featured Books


Reader Reviewed A Seaside Affair
Fern Britton
One of the Top 10 Lovereading Reader Review Panel Summer Read selections. Yes, this is the Fern Britton of TV fame and a very good author she is too. This...
 
 

How I Wonder What You are
Jane Lovering
This author often has some fey or magical touch to her romances which I find quite charming. In this one we have lights in the sky which seemingly only our...
 
 

Reader Reviewed We are All Made of Stars
Rowan Coleman
June 2015 Book of the Month. Beautifully thought-provoking and yet simply and effortlessly readable, this is an intimate compassionate dance with life,...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Silent Hours
Cesca Major
June 2015 Debut of the Month. Extraordinarily powerful and emotional, this debut fictional tale,...
 
 

The Dish
Stella Newman
A slice of commercial women's fiction heaven that'll leave you happy and hungry in equal measure. Fiction has never tasted so good.
 
 

One Summer in Venice
Nicky Pellegrino
In the maze of Venice's canals, bridges and piazzas, one woman sets herself a goal to find the ten things that could be the key to her happiness. Once she's...
 
 

Too Charming
Kathryn Freeman
Does a girl ever really learn from her mistakes? Detective Sergeant Megan Taylor thinks so. She once lost her heart to a man who was too charming and she isn't...
 
 

Under a Cornish Sky
Liz Fenwick
For fans of Judy Finnigan and Rosamunde Pilcher, a spelling-binding tale of romance and intrigue, set against the gorgeous Cornish coast. In Under a Cornish Sky Liz Fenwick weaves another...
 
 

The Woman Who Fell in Love for a Week
Fiona Walker
Three years on from a rather messy divorce Jenny does a spot of house-sitting to supplement her proof-reading income. She is off to the country for two weeks to look...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Thirty List
Eva Woods
A loveable hug of a book, one that retains a positive feel of realism while embracing you with its warmhearted wit. Rachel can’t foresee a time when she will ever...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Sunrise
Victoria Hislop
Having told the harrowing tale of the leper colony of Spinalonga in The Island and the history of Thessalonika in The Thread, Victoria Hislop returns to a Mediterranean...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Year I Met You
Cecelia Ahern
Very different from her previous books for there is no supernatural or spiritual element. Just a thoroughly good story of family dynamics, relationships, handicaps in families and it affects all....
 
 
See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category
  

Add to favourites

Love’s Labours Found

_______________________________

Some people say it’s not their cup of tea. But have they tried every blend? From handsome aristocrats to family feuds, holiday flings, to forbidden fruits; local community taboos to young love’s dream there’s something here to ignite passion in the hardest of hearts.

Whether you’re looking for something for the beach, a happy place on the way to work, or the next instalment of a much-loved character’s car-crash love-life, we’ve hand-picked the very best in romantic fiction for all tastes. Why not sign up for our email to keep up to date with new love, check out the Book of the Month recommendations for inspiration, or simply judge a book by its cover? Love at first sight!

_______________________________

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.

A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Jane Dawkins 
Rosamunde Pilcher 
Nora Roberts 
V.C. Andrews 
Mary Jane Staples 
Katie Flynn 
Anna Jacobs 
Audrey Howard 
Anita Burgh 
Catherine Cookson 
Lyn Andrews 
Gilda O'Neill 
Joanna Trollope 
Joanna Lindsey 
Kinley MacGregor 
Barbara Erskine