Lovereading.co.uk

debuts of the month the cellar minette walters slaughter man tony parsons museum of things left behind seni glaister we are all made of stars
Vouchers

Search our site
Read the opening extract of the brand new Dr. A. Warren Dockter book before its publication on 28/05/2015

Horror - Fantasy - SciFi Horror, Fantasy and Sci Fi Books

Reach for the stars, get dropped into strange worlds, or shut your eyes and dive into the darkest recesses of the imagination of horror. Enjoy!

This Month's Featured Books

The Cellar
Minette Walters
May 2015 eBook of the Month. Offered as a Hammer novella, you may well expect a substantial amount of supernatural horror, however a more rational yet none the less uncomfortable and captivating...
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/05/2015
     
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Sarah J. Maas
Pure and completely engaging escapism in the form of high fantasy. Feyre; stubbon, independent and loving has taught herself how to provide for her impoverished family, however on a winters day, one arrow changes her life forever. The world in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2015
     
News from the Clouds
Robert Llewellyn
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Considering the author's track record and fame as an actor (Kryten in the classic Red Dwarf series) his imaginative SF trilogy, concluding with this volume, following...
Format: Hardback - Released: 21/05/2015
     
Reader Reviewed Day Four
Sarah Lotz
Walking in the footsteps of Stephen King, Lotz follows up on her impressive horror breakthrough The Three with yet another literal descent into unimaginable dread with this gripping tale of the cruise from hell (or should it be...
Format: Hardback - Released: 21/05/2015
     
Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell
Susanna Clarke
A very special book indeed, magical in all its senses, which won the Hugo Award and the World Fantasy Award for best book. Slow to get into and long, it is written in the style of the period in which...
Format: Paperback - Released: 09/04/2015
     
Broken Monsters
Lauren Beukes
A truly sensational thriller; intelligent, pacey and unusually beautiful. It borders on the supernatural, taking you just as far as “suspension of disbelief” will allow, and is certainly not just your ordinary cop-chases-serial-killer. Disparate characters drawn from the seething streets...
Format: Paperback - Released: 23/04/2015
     
Station Eleven
Emily St. John Mandel
Winner of the Arthur C Clarke Award for Science Fiction 2015. Longlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2015. Following four wonderful literary crime novels (to be issued in the UK later), Canadian author Mandel breaks through with a...
Format: Hardback - Released: 10/09/2014
     
A Shiver of Light
Laurell K. Hamilton
Ninth in the wonderful Merry Gentry series. The babies have finally arrived so Merry has far less sex than usual, but still manages to give a few earth-shattering blow jobs even if she can’t go all the way just yet....
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/05/2015
     
The Incorruptibles
John Hornor Jacobs
Is it a simple adventure or an analysis of class structure? Either way it’s a great read. Down at the bottom, half-breed mercenary Shoestring is unaware of the political struggle into which he and his friend Fisk are being drawn...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/05/2015
     
Thief's Magic
Trudi Canavan
A highly enjoyable fantasy adventure and the start of a new series by an acclaimed and prolific author. Two parallel stories unfold in very different locations. The first plot concerns a young sorcerer who steals a truly remarkable book, leading...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/05/2015
     
The Day Shift
Charlaine Harris
The second volume in Charlaine Harris's Midnight, Texas new series, sees the saga growing in scope, and could well soon be rivalling her Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) predecessor in reader popularity. A close-knit community where supernatural activities are a quiet...
Format: Hardback - Released: 07/05/2015
     
The High Druid's Blade
Terry Brooks
Settle in for a rollicking good yarn; discover a tale stuffed full of adventure, sorcery, survival and heroics. The author has set this book within the world of his well known Shannara series, you don't need prior knowledge, but...
Format: Paperback - Released: 28/04/2015
     
No Harm Can Come to a Good Man
James Smythe
This is a dark dystopian thriller set in the not very distant future (2020) where a new technology, Clear Vista, can seemingly predict the future based on a handful of questions. Laurence Walker is a Senator who uses Clear Vista...
Format: Paperback - Released: 07/05/2015
     

Last Month's Featured Books


Reader Reviewed A Discovery of Witches
Deborah E. Harkness
The first in the All Souls trilogy, it’s 640 pages of pure pleasure. Involving, intriguing and compelling, this book may look long but, trust me, it’s well worth it. The...
 
 

Reader Reviewed Shadow of Night
Deborah E. Harkness
Have you ever fallen irrefutably in love, been transported to another existence and then felt thoroughly dazed when you've turned the last page and realised with a wrench you're back...
 
 

The Death House
Sarah Pinborough
Maxim Jakubowski's April 2015 Book of the Month. British author Pinborough has a strong record in the horror and SF field, and...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Bees
Laline Paull
Shortlisted for the Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2015. Longlisted for the Desmond Elliott Prize 2015. An excellent book unlike any other. The life of bees is examined and fictionalised...
 
 

Robot Overlords Robots Never Lie
Mark Stay
The robots have taken over planet Earth and imposed a seven year curfew in order to collect information the better to resist and conquer other organic life forms. A bunch...
 
 

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances
Neil Gaiman
It is almost impossible to talk about how good Neil Gaiman’s writing is in a short review like this; once started it is hard to stop. He is wonderful. Truly....
 
 

The Empire of Time Roads to Moscow
David Wingrove
Time travel and secret agents, this is imaginative stuff. It’s of German origin so we have the German group vying with a Russian one. They are able to escape tricky...
 
 

Acts of the Assassins
Richard Beard
Sequel to Lazarus is Dead but it easily stands alone. It is a wonderful piece of speculative fiction, a ‘what if’ story. Here it asks ‘what if the Roman Empire...
 
 

Dreams of Gods and Monsters
Laini Taylor
The third in the amazing trilogy which began with Daughter of Smoke and Bone. These books are like nothing else. The depth of imagery, the twisting of plot and ideas,...
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Book of Life
Deborah E. Harkness
April 2015 Book of the Month. The arrival of this book on my desk made me extraordinarily happy. It allowed me to...
 
 

The Hawley Book of the Dead
Chrysler Szarlan
It starts with what could be a murder; a magician’s theatrical trick gone fatally wrong. It continues into a magic-laced family drama. It ends up as a vision-fuelled thriller full...
 
 

Kill Baxter
Charlie Human
Teenage involuntary super hero, Baxter Zevcenko was first introduced in the manic Apocalypse Now Now, which managed to feature high school porn rings, zombies, pan dimensional octopi and transsexual valkyries....
 
 

The Long Mars
Terry Pratchett, Stephen Baxter
With its origins in a 'doodle' of a few thousand words that Terry Pratchett wrote nearly thirty years ago, 'The Long Earth' series, written with Stephen Baxter, goes from strength...
 
 

Sleeping Late on Judgement Day
Tad Williams
This is the third in the trilogy which began with The Dirty Streets of Heaven. Bobby Dollar is an angel, though he often seems to have more in common...
 
 

The Month Before's Featured Books


The Invisible Library
Genevieve Cogman
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. I've always been a sucker for bibliomysteries, stories involving books, lost, real or apocryphal and Cogman's science...
 
 

The Fire Sermon
Francesca Haig
A futuristic tale set some 400 years after a global nuclear war where conditions have reverted back to a sort of medieval state. Births are always twins, one alpha, healthy...
 
 

Those Above
Daniel Polansky
The first in an explosive new epic fantasy series by Daniel Polansky, perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence.
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Catalyst
Helena Coggan
Positively and dynamically different, this debut provokes and challenges your interest from the first few pages. Although classed as fantasy, it doesn't feel as though it should be exclusively pigeon-holed...
 
 

The Edge of Dark
Pamela Hartshorne
An enthralling dual-time novel with a large country house finally giving up its secrets. In the present day it is to become an events centre. In its past, back in...
 
 

Gleam
Tom Fletcher
This book is seriously weird. I loved it. Not the ordinary post-apocalypse, dystopian discontent, not by a long way. It’s twisted, meaty and original, surprising and certainly hard to put...
 
 

In Dark Service
Stephen Hunt
Stephen Hunt is a masterful writer and I don’t know why he is not more popular. Well, this is the book to launch him to new heights. Old fans, here’s...
 
 

A Man Lies Dreaming
Lavie Tidhar
There have been many alternate histories with a crime setting before but this new novel by a young Israeli author writing in English is one of the most challenging and...
 
 

Rook Song
Naomi Foyle
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. The second instalment in The Gaia Chronicles (following debut volume Astra) by young British science fiction...
 
 

The Facades
Eric Lundgren
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. Kafka meets the 21st century in this fascinating debut literary dystopia with not a hint of rebellious...
 
 
See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category
  
Add to favourites

Boldly Going … with a Bump! __________________________

Mankind has always looked to the heavens and wondered what’s out there. We have always lapped up stories of strange visitors, of gods and monsters, of things going bump under the bed. Using the extremes of human imagination to conjure worlds at the far reaches of darkness and light, this is a collection of authors who have the power to transport us to the vastest plains or the smallest black holes.

Horror fans of Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Peter Straub, James Herbert will find a bloody pool of psychological mind-meddlers here to keep them shaking with delight.

Sci-fi lovers of Asimov, Phillip K Dick, Arthur C Clarke, and Ray Bradbury will find others to launch them to new beginnings. Using our Book of the Month recommendations or ‘Author Like for Like’ tool, your next bone shaking book is just a click away… if you dare, that is.

_______________________________

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.

A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Clive Barker 
Peter Straub 
Stephen Leather 
Richard Laymon 
Laurell K Hamilton 
Alastair Reynolds 
Philip K Dick