Dear Amy off the page make the most of Lovereading desmond elliott prize everyone brave is forgiven
Vouchers


Books for the Boys! Books for the Boys!

The things that excite us; the things we laugh at; the things that make us cry. There are some things that make men, men.

Books of the Month

Ravenspur by Conn Iggulden
Ravenspur
Conn Iggulden
May 2016 Book of the Month. A stunning conclusion to ‘The Wars of the Roses’ series, ‘Ravenspur’ launches Henry Tudor, while around him Kings battle for survival. This series is absolutely fascinating and even more compelling...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/05/2016
Orphan X by Gregg Hurwitz
Orphan X
Gregg Hurwitz
May 2016 Book of the Month. Prepare yourself… for the dramatically intense and exciting new kid on the block, except Evan Smoak isn't a kid, he's a highly trained killer with his humanity surprisingly intact. Smoak...
Format: Hardback - Released: 21/04/2016

Other Featured Books this Month

Fire and Sword by Harry Sidebottom
Fire and Sword
Harry Sidebottom
May 2016 eBook of the Month. ‘Fire and Sword’ is a powerful addition to the epic ‘Throne of the Caesars’ series. The Year of the Six Emperors continues in bloody and back stabbing style, covering three...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/05/2016
Warriors of the Storm by Bernard Cornwell
Warriors of the Storm
Bernard Cornwell
The ninth novel in ‘The Last Kingdom Series' is as completely compelling and absolutely wonderful as the first. Bernard Cornwell is a master weaver of stories, the threads join seamlessly together to create an epic tale of history in...
Format: Paperback - Released: 21/04/2016
Star of Africa by Scott Mariani
Star of Africa
Scott Mariani
Quite simply, the most ferocious and brutal book in the ‘Ben Hope’ series yet, and it’s a page turning stunner of a read. ‘Star of Africa’ is the first part of a new two book sequence, and I rubbed my...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
Fire by C. C. Humphreys
Fire
C. C. Humphreys
First came Plague, now comes Fire. The epic tale of the hunt for a serial killer threatening London's rich and poor during the Great Fire of London. Perfect for fans of S J Parris and C J...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/05/2016
Trigger Mortis A James Bond Novel by Anthony Horowitz
Trigger Mortis A James Bond Novel
Anthony Horowitz
James Bond returns in this thrilling new adventure from Anthony Horowitz - with Welcoming back familiar faces, including M and Miss Moneypenny, international bestselling author Anthony Horowitz ticks all the boxes: speed, danger, strong women and fiendish villains, to reinvent...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/05/2016
The Woman Who Walked into the Sea by Mark Douglas-Home
The Woman Who Walked into the Sea
Mark Douglas-Home
Another intriguing and fascinating mystery from the author of ‘The Sea Detective Series’. Oceanographer Cal McGill finds himself in a small Scottish costal town attempting to solve a 26 year old mystery. Violet was abandoned as a baby, the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 14/01/2016
The Sea Detective by Mark Douglas-Home
The Sea Detective
Mark Douglas-Home
This is a compelling and just fabulous start to ‘The Sea Detective’ series. Cal McGill, something of a loner, determined, yet caring, runs Flotsam and Jetsam Investigations in Scotland. As an oceanographer and environmentalist, he finds himself hounded by the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/11/2015
The Malice of Waves by Mark Douglas-Home
The Malice of Waves
Mark Douglas-Home
May 2016 eBook of the Month. The third in the gripping ‘Sea Detective Series’ continues to captivate, with the rather wonderful Cal McGill...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/05/2016

Last Month's Featured Books

The Final Minute by Simon Kernick

Reader Reviewed The Final Minute
Simon Kernick
An action-packed page-turner with a pace that is relentless. A recurring nightmare troubles Matt Barron once he surfaces from his three-month coma after a traumatic car accident. The other horror...

The Madagaskar Plan by Guy Saville

The Madagaskar Plan
Guy Saville
Drawing on the Nazis' original plans for the Jews, Guy Saville has meticulously imagined a world-that-nearly-was to tell an epic tale of love, revenge and survival. 1953 and there has...

Bloodline by Conn Iggulden

Reader Reviewed Bloodline
Conn Iggulden
Wonderfully captivating and so very readable, this is historical fiction at its best. ‘Bloodline’ is the third in ‘The War of the Roses’ series, Henry VI is prisoner, his Queen...

Hunting the Eagles Eagles of Rome by Ben Kane

Reader Reviewed Hunting the Eagles Eagles of Rome
Ben Kane
April 2016 Book of the Month. A truly wonderful and ferocious slice of historical fiction, this is the second in the ‘Eagles of Rome’ series and...

Wicked Game by Matt Johnson

Wicked Game
Matt Johnson
Longlisted for the John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger Award 2016. April 2016 Debut of...

Britannia by Simon Scarrow

Britannia
Simon Scarrow
Marching straight into action, Simon Scarrow has created a wonderfully evocative and energetic addition to the ‘Eagles of the Empire’ series. You could read this as a standalone, however I...

The Month Before's Featured Books

The Revenant by Michael Punke

The Revenant
Michael Punke
Based on a true story, The Revenant is an epic tale of revenge set in the Rocky Mountains and soon to be a major motion picture, starring Leonardo DiCaprio. A...

Blood and Steel by Harry Sidebottom

Reader Reviewed Blood and Steel
Harry Sidebottom
A fabulous foray into the past, AD238 is the Year of the Six Emperors and makes for a fascinating and compelling tale. This is the second in the ‘Throne of...

Three in A Bed The Shady World of the Tabloids. Sex. Spies. Entrapment. by Andrew Croker

Three in A Bed The Shady World of the Tabloids. Sex. Spies. Entrapment.
Andrew Croker
March 2016 Debut of the Month and eBook of the Month. ‘Three In A...

First Response by Stephen Leather

First Response
Stephen Leather
March 2016 Book of the Month. Completely and brilliantly captivating, it all...

See ALL Authors in this category
See ALL Featured Books (with opening extracts) in this category

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

For me, to read is to learn, to reflect, to escape, to think, to contemplate and my time for space and calm.

Sally Ellsmore

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

Books of the month/debuts of the month, kids/adults, fiction/non-fiction, free prize draws and free extracts, what's not to love?

Emma Smith

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney
  
Add to favourites

Snips, Snails and Puppy-dogs tails?

__________________________

Men are from Mars, they like Wars in the Stars, they like swords, they like beasts, they like heroes and feasts.

They like boyish jokes and murder most foul, a spy who smokes, and a Bond-villain’s scowl.

There are softer sides: the losses of War, the pain of Death, the injustice of Law.

We boys like books. But the books we like might not interest you. … yes, well enough of the rhyming perhaps, but we all know that there are things that separate boys from girls and while we’d be delighted for women to enjoy these books too, they are aimed at sport loving, laugh-seeking, spy-reading, code-cracking, politics-following, fighter-piloting, mountain-conquering, sports-car-driving and relationship-rueing BOYS. From Tom Sharpe to Nick Hornby, Hunter S Thompson to Iain Banks, there’s enough here to keep a man quiet for ages!

_______________________________

Wouldn’t it be nice to know that you’re never too far away from your next great read, great events, competitions and discounts? Sign up for our free emails and let the passion of our experts guide you to some wonderful new reading.

That book you loved has finally come to an end. Where do you go next? With our unique Author Like for Like tool, you’ll discover other authors guaranteed to be right up your street. Login, sit back, put your feet up and enjoy.

Reading Groups! Let us help you find your next hot topic. Visit our Special Section bursting with thought provoking titles and get an extra 5% discount if you buy 5 or more copies.

A selection of authors who will feature in this Lovereading category include:

Paul Burke
David Lodge
Ben Elton
Jamie Holland
David Nicholls
Jake Arnott
Brett Easton Ellis
John O'Farrell
David Baddiel
Dougie Brimson
Douglas Adams
Hanif Kureishi
Patrick Neate
William Sutcliffe
Marc Blake

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools