• Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter


Search our site
Read the opening extract of the brand new Daisy Goodwin book before its publication on 24/04/2014

Read Extract Free Author of the Month -<b> Gordon Ferris</b> Book or Novel Online - as well as Sports and Suspense

Author of the Month -<b> Gordon Ferris</b>

Author of the Month - Gordon Ferris

Gordon Ferris executes a pretty fabulous post-war crime thriller, basing McRae in London and Brodie in Glasgow. Gallowglass the final novel in the Glasgow quartet is published this month. Discover more about both series today...

Douglas Brodie series
Danny McRae series

Douglas Brodie series
Back to top
Gordon Ferris
This is an excellent series. It stars a former World War II soldier now a crime reporter in Scotland, one Douglas Brodie. He becomes involved in some pretty big stories, here uncovering Nazi loot on its way to South America....
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/04/2014
Lovereading Price: £5.99 - Saving £2.00 (25%)

The Hanging Shed
Gordon Ferris
A riveting and stimulating read, this tenacious thriller grabs your attention and refuses to let it go. Set in Scotland, just after the Second World War, when men who had survived the horrors of conflict returned altered, damaged, different; Ferris...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/09/2011
Lovereading Price: £5.99 - Saving £2.00 (25%)

Bitter Water
Gordon Ferris
Douglas Brodie is an ex-policeman, an ex-major in the Highlanders during World War II and now a journalist for the Glasgow Gazette. It is 1946 and Glasgow is sweltering in a late summer heat wave and in a wave of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/01/2013
Lovereading Price: £5.99 - Saving £2.00 (25%)

Pilgrim Soul
Gordon Ferris
Described as ‘the new Ian Rankin’ by the Daily Mail, Gordon Ferris writes disturbingly good post WW2 Glasgow-based crime thrillers with ex policeman turned journalist Douglas Brodie at their centre. Pilgrim Soul is the 3rd and finds a hard up...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/08/2013
Lovereading Price: £5.99 - Saving £2.00 (25%)

Danny McRae series
Back to top
Truth Dare Kill
Gordon Ferris
Fast paced, punchy and chilling in its intensity, this is a compelling and fascinating novel. Enter London just after the Second World War, a London without; torn, broken, perplexed but surviving. Ferris describes thoughts, feelings and surroundings with such depth...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/10/2012
Lovereading Price: £6.74 - Saving £2.25 (25%)

The Unquiet Heart
Gordon Ferris
Gutsy Danny McRae returns ready for action in this dynamic and riveting read, set a few months on from Truth Dare Kill. This can be most definitely be read as a stand alone novel, however you will understand so much...
Format: Paperback - Released: 01/11/2012
Lovereading Price: £6.74 - Saving £2.25 (25%)

Share this genre Email this page to a friend

About this category

tangled tales of life,
love and death


April 2014 Author of the Month - Gordon Ferris

Gordon Ferris, an ex-techy in the Ministry of Defence and an ex-partner in one of the Big Four accountancy firms, writes about the important things in life: conflicted heroes and headstrong women embroiled in tangled tales of life, love and death.


He is the author of the No. 1 bestselling eBook The Hanging Shed in the Brodie series as well as Truth Dare Kill and The Unquiet Heart. His latest book, Gallowglass, is out now in paperback.




Author photo © Jerry Bauer


Click here to visit Gordon Ferris' website.

Douglas Brodie series:
1. The Hanging Shed

2. Bitter Water

3. Pilgrim Soul

4. Gallowglass


Danny McRae series:

1. Truth Dare Kill

2. The Unquiet Heart

Get Adobe Flash player


Lovereading 4 schools


See ALL Featured Books, with Opening Extracts, in this category 

Share or bookmark this page

Share this page on Facebook and Twitter.

Tell a friend about this page on

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)

LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS