Lovereading.co.uk

katie fforde author of the month book price comparison debuts of the month endless numbered days books of the month
Vouchers

One Last Dance by Judith Lennox
  

One Last Dance

Judith Lennox

Family Drama   eBook Favourites   

Price £15.99

RRP £19.99 saving £4.00 (20%)

Currently not available. See 'Other Formats' for alternatives including eBooks or click 'Compare Book Price' to see if it is stocked by another bookshop.

Lovereading view...

This is one of those long, multi-generational, family sagas where the sins of the fathers resound down the years. It is only once a huge amount of damage has been done that one realises so much pain could have been avoided if only … and history repeats itself. Straddling both World Wars, it’s an absorbing tale of the dangers of sibling rivalry.

If you like Judith Lennox you might also like to read books by Penny Vincenzi, Santa Montefiore and Sarah Harrison.

Synopsis

One Last Dance by Judith Lennox

For fans of Downton Abbey and MY LAST DUCHESS...'Times change, and sometimes for the better...' As the twentieth century draws to a close, Esme Reddaway knows that she must uncover the truth. A truth that began during the First World War when Devlin Reddaway fell passionately in love with Esme's elder sister, Camilla, and promised to rebuild his ancestral home, Rosindell, for her. But the war changes everything and Devlin returns to England to find that Camilla is engaged to someone else. Angry and vengeful, he marries Esme, who has been secretly in love with him for years. Esme tries to win Devlin's heart by reviving the annual summer dance. But as the years pass she fears that Rosindell has a malign influence on those who live there, and the revelation of a shocking secret on the night of the dance at Rosindell tears her life apart. Decades later, it is she who must lay the ghosts of Rosindell to rest. Spanning the last century, Esme's story of sibling rivalry, heartbreak, betrayal and forgiveness is sure to appeal to fans of Kate Morton, Rachel Hore and Downton Abbey.

Reviews

'A fast-moving, complex story' - The Times

'A beautifully turned, compassionate novel. Judith Lennox's writing is so keenly honest it could sever heartstrings' Daily Mail

'Completely unputdownable...a lovely, entrancing book' - New Books magazine

About the Author

Judith Lennox

Judith Lennox was born in Salisbury, Wiltshire. She read English at Lancaster University and now lives in Cambridgeshire with her husband and three sons. She is the author of highly praised and topselling novels, including the following titles: The Secret Years, The Winter House, Some Old Lover's Ghost, Footprints on the Sand, The Shadow Child, The Dark-Eyed Girls, and Written on Glass

Photograph © Robin Matthew

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

30th January 2014

Author

Judith Lennox

More books by Judith Lennox
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

judithlennox.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Headline Review an imprint of Headline Publishing Group

Format

Hardback
512 pages

Categories

Family Drama
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780755384129

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

The selections are so varied and the reader reviews are so helpful. A fantastic website for those who love books.

Ann Quintilla

It's the first site that I visit when deciding on the next set of books to buy. A particular treat is being able to download an extract.

Tessa Olson

I read new, exciting writers and established authors before publication and there is a great website full of brilliant books and opinions.

Lynda

Lovereading helps me decide what real people read.

Kerry Bridges

I love Lovereading because I get to read great books and then get to tell everybody how good they are.

Sally Doel

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

Lovereading is a world of books. It has everything you need from new to old and much loved classic books. It even give you recommendations!

Kate Thurston

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools