summer reading off the page Dear Amy debuts of the month books of the month
Vouchers


Marathon by Christian Cameron
  

Marathon

Christian Cameron

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2012 Book of the Month.

The author first came to prominence by penning a series of fictional books on the pharaohs of ancient Egypt that proved incredibly popular. Now he is writing about epic times in ancient Greece. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris will love this story based around the dramatic and fascinating battle of Marathon 490BC between King Darius’s mighty Persian Army and a much smaller force of Athenians, sworn to defend Athens.

The Long War Series:
1. Killer of Men
2. Marathon
3. Poseidon's Spear

If you like Christian Cameron you might also like to read books by Simon Scarrow, Christian Jacq and Robyn Young.

Synopsis

Marathon by Christian Cameron

Arimnestos of Plataea grew up wanting to be a bronze-smith, like his father. Then, in the chaos of war, he was taken to a city in the Persian empire and sold as a slave. To win his freedom he had to show that he could fight and kill. Now, to preserve that freedom, he must kill again. For the Persians are coming. A vast army sent by King Darius to put down the rebellious Greeks and burn the city of Athens to the ground. Standing against them on the plain of Marathon, a much smaller force of Athenians, alongside their Plataean allies. To defeat such overwhelming force seems impossible. And yet to yield would mean the destruction of everything the Greeks have dreamed of. In the dust and heat of Marathon, in the clash of shields and the rush of spears, amidst the thunder of hooves and the screams of the dying, those dreams will undergo their fiercest test - and Arimnestos and his Greek comrades will discover the true price of freedom.

About the Author

Christian Cameron

Christian Cameron is a writer, re-enactor and military historian. He is a veteran of the United States Navy, where he served as both an aviator and an intelligence officer. He now lives in Toronto with his wife and daughter, where he writes full time.

Author photo © Leonard Schlichting

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012

Author

Christian Cameron

More books by Christian Cameron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.hippeis.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781409118060

Love Reading - it not only does what it says on the tin, it does it with Jam on!!

Maz Tucker

You can trust Lovereading to show unbiased reviews by actual, ordinary readers that help likeminded booklovers choose their next great read.

Linda Hill

If you LOVE reading then you will love LOVEREADING! It's a 'novel' idea. Seriously though I could not recommend them enough.

Rebecca Whymark

Lovereading takes the guesswork out of finding your next read with "if you like you'll love" and extracts to help with your decision.

Sarah Bruch

Lovereading is an amazing place to be, the website is wonderful and to me if I'm sad I'll go here and it cheers me up!

Sophia Upton

I recommend Lovereading because you get honest reviews on a whole range of genres-there's something for everyone. It's the only site I need.

Sian Spinney

I love reading books I wouldn't normally choose before everyone else gets to read them!

Dawn Lynch

Discover new authors and enjoy old favourites; oodles of literary gems to uncover at Lovereading with candid reviews from real reviewers.

Emily Wright

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools