everyone brave is forgiven the girls book price comparison off the page lovereading canvas bags
Vouchers


Marathon by Christian Cameron
  

Marathon

Christian Cameron

Historical Fiction   Action Adventure / Spy   Books for the Boys   Books of the Month   
Download an extract Add to wishlist Share this book

Lovereading view...

March 2012 Book of the Month.

The author first came to prominence by penning a series of fictional books on the pharaohs of ancient Egypt that proved incredibly popular. Now he is writing about epic times in ancient Greece. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris will love this story based around the dramatic and fascinating battle of Marathon 490BC between King Darius’s mighty Persian Army and a much smaller force of Athenians, sworn to defend Athens.

The Long War Series:
1. Killer of Men
2. Marathon
3. Poseidon's Spear

If you like Christian Cameron you might also like to read books by Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Ben Kane.

Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

This month we have 3 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 31 May 2016. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 June 2016.

lovereading canvas bags

Our canvas bags are also available for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright

Enter prize draw Draw closes: 31/05/2016

Synopsis

Marathon by Christian Cameron

Arimnestos of Plataea grew up wanting to be a bronze-smith, like his father. Then, in the chaos of war, he was taken to a city in the Persian empire and sold as a slave. To win his freedom he had to show that he could fight and kill. Now, to preserve that freedom, he must kill again. For the Persians are coming. A vast army sent by King Darius to put down the rebellious Greeks and burn the city of Athens to the ground. Standing against them on the plain of Marathon, a much smaller force of Athenians, alongside their Plataean allies. To defeat such overwhelming force seems impossible. And yet to yield would mean the destruction of everything the Greeks have dreamed of. In the dust and heat of Marathon, in the clash of shields and the rush of spears, amidst the thunder of hooves and the screams of the dying, those dreams will undergo their fiercest test - and Arimnestos and his Greek comrades will discover the true price of freedom.

About the Author

Christian Cameron

Christian Cameron is a writer, re-enactor and military historian. He is a veteran of the United States Navy, where he served as both an aviator and an intelligence officer. He now lives in Toronto with his wife and daughter, where he writes full time.

Author photo © Leonard Schlichting

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012

Author

Christian Cameron

More books by Christian Cameron
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

www.hippeis.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...
Loading twitter updates...

Publisher

Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Format

Paperback
464 pages

Categories

Historical Fiction
Action Adventure / Spy
Books for the Boys
Books of the Month

Historical fiction

ISBN

9781409118060

Lovereading is not only an amazing site, but it's one of my very favourites. It's like visiting a fascinating bookstore, but better.

Rebecca Jayne Barrett

The best new books on the market, reviewed honestly, to give your readers the best choices.

Julie Cook

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love reading because my cares & woes vanish for an hour or two whilst I read of the joys, adventures, lives of the characters in the book.

Jennifer Moville

Ever purchased a book, read a few pages & thought I'm not going to enjoy this? Honest book reviews mean you'll never have that problem again

Jill Peters

A great place to go to find your next literary escape, and where you don't have to judge a book by its cover!

Suzanne Beney

Lovereading has all the new books and also suggestions for 'similar' authors whilst waiting for your favourites new books.

Carol Peace

It has enriched my leisure time by introducing me to a world of books which I would not have previously considered.

Val Rowe

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools