Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register


Vouchers









     
Marathon by Christian Cameron


Marathon

Christian Cameron


Historical Fiction   Action / Adventure   Books for the Boys   Books of the Month   eBook Favourites   
This format is currently not available at Lovereading.
See 'Other Formats' for additional ones including eBooks or our price comparison engine.
Price £6.74
RRP: £8.99
Saving £2.25 (25%)
Download an extract and try before you buy Add this book to your wishlist Share this book page Compare Book Price at Amazon and many other online stores

---------------------------------------------------------------

Lovereading view...

March 2012 Book of the Month.

The author first came to prominence by penning a series of fictional books on the pharaohs of ancient Egypt that proved incredibly popular. Now he is writing about epic times in ancient Greece. Fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Robert Harris will love this story based around the dramatic and fascinating battle of Marathon 490BC between King Darius’s mighty Persian Army and a much smaller force of Athenians, sworn to defend Athens.

 

The Long War Series:
1. Killer of Men
2. Marathon
3. Poseidon's Spear



Comparison: C. C. Humphreys, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow
For more see our Author 'Like for Like' recommendation system
 

Synopsis

Marathon by Christian Cameron

Arimnestos of Plataea grew up wanting to be a bronze-smith, like his father. Then, in the chaos of war, he was taken to a city in the Persian empire and sold as a slave. To win his freedom he had to show that he could fight and kill. Now, to preserve that freedom, he must kill again. For the Persians are coming. A vast army sent by King Darius to put down the rebellious Greeks and burn the city of Athens to the ground. Standing against them on the plain of Marathon, a much smaller force of Athenians, alongside their Plataean allies. To defeat such overwhelming force seems impossible. And yet to yield would mean the destruction of everything the Greeks have dreamed of. In the dust and heat of Marathon, in the clash of shields and the rush of spears, amidst the thunder of hooves and the screams of the dying, those dreams will undergo their fiercest test - and Arimnestos and his Greek comrades will discover the true price of freedom.


About the Author

Christian Cameron

Christian Cameron is a writer, re-enactor and military historian. He is a veteran of the United States Navy, where he served as both an aviator and an intelligence officer. He now lives in Toronto with his wife and daughter, where he writes full time.

 

Author photo © Leonard Schlichting


More books by this author

Author 'Like for Like' recommendation

Book info
Loading other formats...
Format
Paperback
464 pages

Author
Christian Cameron

More books by Christian Cameron


Author's Website
www.hippeis.com/

Author's Facebook Latest
Loading facebook updates...

TwitterAuthor's Tweets
  • Thu, 23 Oct 2014 @ 12:35
    Tom Swan and the Siege of Belgrade part II (which, BTW, is Tom Swan 8 overall) is out today. Tom gets to go to... http://t.co/s440YO85TH
  • Tue, 21 Oct 2014 @ 13:45
    This is my reproduction of a 'Chigi Vase' aspis, or Greek hoplite's shield, from somewhere int he 575-500 BCE... http://t.co/QZRobVB70J
  • Tue, 14 Oct 2014 @ 20:43
    My weekend in Kentucky... Medieval reenactment in North America. Thanks many times to the folks who put on Days... http://t.co/yapwS2KPdB
  • Sat, 4 Oct 2014 @ 19:12
    I'll be at Days of Knights next weekend, fighting in harness and perhaps even signing a few books. If you are in... http://t.co/LePWdk182V
  • Thu, 2 Oct 2014 @ 13:44
    This is how I spend my spare time... please enjoy it. Comments on site improvement welcome. Or join! We're... http://t.co/eE86EL4DAS

Publisher
Orion (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd ) an imprint of Orion Publishing Co

Publication date
1st March 2012

Categories
Historical Fiction
Action / Adventure
Books for the Boys
Books of the Month
eBook Favourites


ISBN
9781409118060
 


loading...

















Share or bookmark this book

Share this book on Facebook and Twitter.


Tell a friend about this book on Lovereading.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
 

Notify me when an extract becomes available

Notify me by email when an extract from this book becomes available for download.


Your Name
Your Email
 

We respect your privacy. E-mail addresses you enter here are used only for sending extract availability notifications only. Please read our Privacy Policy.


 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS