fool me once harlan coben flawed cecelia ahern lovereading canvas bags win prizes eligible curtis sittenfeld
Vouchers


The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas
  

The Kashmir Shawl

Rosie Thomas

Romantic Fiction   Book Awards   Books of the Month   Family Drama   If You Like...You'll Love   Relationship Stories   eBook Favourites   
Download an extract Discuss on Facebook Discuss this book on our Relationship Tales Facebook group Add to wishlist Share this book

Selected by Sarah Broadhurst

March 2012 Book of the Month.

One of our Great Reads You May Have Missed in 2012.

Winner of the RNA Epic Romantic Novel Award 2012.

Characters and settings are beautifully portrayed in this dramatic romance that first follows newlywed Nerys from Wales to a new and excitingly different life in 1940s Kashmir, and then her Granddaughter who embarks upon the same journey to uncover some life-changing truths. Perfect for fans of Maggie O’Farrell and Victoria Hislop.

If you like Rosie Thomas you might also like to read books by Victoria Hislop, Douglas Kennedy and Michelle Paver.

Who is Sarah Broadhurst

Synopsis

The Kashmir Shawl by Rosie Thomas

An epic story of wartime, family secrets and forbidden love, set against the stunning exotic backdrop of 1940s Kashmir. Within one exotic land lie the secrets of a lifetime! Newlywed Nerys Watkins leaves rural Wales for the first time to accompany her husband on a missionary posting to India. Deep in the exquisite heart of Kashmir lies the lakeside city of Srinagar, where the British live on carved wooden houseboats and dance, flirt and gossip as if there is no war. But the battles draw closer, and life in Srinagar becomes less frivolous when the men are sent away to fight. Nerys is caught up in a dangerous friendship, and by the time she is reunited with her husband, the innocent Welsh bride has become a different woman. Years later, when Mair Ellis clears out her father's house, she finds an exquisite antique shawl, a lock of child's hair wrapped within its folds. Tracing her grandparents' roots back to Kashmir, Mair embarks on a quest that will change her life forever.

Reviews

Acclaim for The Kashmir Shawl:

'A superbly researched and vivid evocation of wartime Kashmir and Ladakh'
Daily Mail

'A spellbinding tale. Beautifully written, honest and compassionate!a delight from start to finish'
Daily Express

'Dramatic, epic storytelling'
Woman & Home

Warm and fascinating
Saga Magazine

'An epic tale!A complicated entanglement of family secrets, love during wartime and dangerous liaisons. For fans of Maggie O'Farrell'
Red

'A superbly written novel, marvellously descriptive and especially evocative of the war years ... a gorgeous treat'
Choice

'Epic'
Bella

'The story unravels bewitchingly ... A charmingly written book. Thomas's observations of the complexities of relationships, time and experience are presented with warmth and clarity.'
Herald Sun

About the Author

Rosie Thomas

Rosie Thomas is the author of a number of celebrated novels, including the bestsellers The Kashmir Shawl, Sun at Midnight, Iris and Ruby and Constance. Once she was established as a writer and her children were grown, she discovered a love of travelling and mountaineering. She has climbed in the Alps and the Himalayas, competed in the Peking to Paris car rally, spent time on a tiny Bulgarian research station in Antarctica and travelled the silk road through Asia. She lives in London.

Author photo © Sven Arnstein

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...
Loading other formats...

Book Info

Publication date

1st March 2012

Author

Rosie Thomas

More books by Rosie Thomas
Author 'Like for Like'
    recommendations

Author's Website

rosiethomasauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Loading facebook updates...

Publisher

Harper an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers

Format

Paperback
512 pages

Categories

Romantic Fiction
Book Awards
Books of the Month
Family Drama
If You Like...You'll Love
Relationship Stories
eBook Favourites

Modern & contemporary fiction (post c 1945)

ISBN

9780007285976

Because of Lovereading I have broadened my reading horizons with some really great books that I probably would never have chosen myself.

Susan Walsh

My favourite thing about is the 'like for like' page this has really introduced me to some good reads! That and lots of honest reviews.

Sam Lewis

I love the honest opinions, recommendations for every genre and every reader, wish lists and Like for Like.

Amrita Dasgupta

I 'Lovereading' because it lets me see what new books are around with a detailed synopsis and readers' reviews.

Judith Sharp

I love the 'like for like' author recommendations, it's like an old friend whispering in your ear.

Emma Caddick

I love 'try before you buy' extracts. I love the wide range of authors & genres. I love the author info. I love books!

Judi Davies

Lovereading recommends, honestly reviews and promotes books-what more can I say?!

Rachel Bridgeman

Lovereading are lovely people who send me lovely books. What's not to love?

Gavin Dimmock

Lovereading4kids

Lovereading4schools