Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register


Vouchers


Search our site
Read the opening extract of the brand new Audrey Magee book before its publication on 04/09/2014


     
The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman


The Sonnet Lover

Carol Goodman


Thriller / Suspense   eBook Favourites   
This format is currently not available at Lovereading.
See 'Other Formats' for additional ones including eBooks or our price comparison engine.
Price £9.74
RRP: £12.99
Saving £3.25 (25%)
Download an extract and try before you buy Add this book to your wishlist Share this book page Compare Book Price at Amazon and many other online stores Discuss this book on our Crime/Mystery/Thriller Facebook group

---------------------------------------------------------------

Lovereading view...

This has all the hallmarks of being a major success and it would come as no surprise were it to be made into a film. Written in a deftly assured manner it brings together passion and love, fantasy and legend - just who was the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets - as well as a chillingly suspicious death - had gifted student stumbled upon a literary coup worth killing for - with poetry from the great Bard himself. Incredibly atmospheric of time and place it criss crosses between both America and Italy until with bone-chilling intensity this seductive literary thriller reaches its climax. Fans of Kate Mosse's Labyrinth and Donna Tartt's Secret History will love it.



Win an exclusive Lovereading Canvas bag worth £9.99

 

This month we have 10 of our sturdy, exclusive and simply gorgeous Lovereading Canvas book bags. To have a chance of winning this wonderful prize, click the button below.

 

Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter. Draw closes on 30 September 2014. The winner will be chosen randomly from all entrants and will be notified by 14 October 2014.

 

lovereading canvas bags

 

Our canvas bags are also availble for sale with an RRP of £9.99. However, if you spend more than £25.00 on books, through Lovereading, you can claim one totally FREE OF CHARGE! Or spend over £15.00 on books, through Lovereading, and you can buy one for the special price of just £4.99. Click here to find out more.

 

Here's what one of our members thinks of her bag
A big thank you for the two Lovereading bags I ordered, which have arrived safely. I love mine and will use it with pride. The bags are lovely quality, sturdy and support a good cause in the Rewrap initiative; I think they make the perfect accessory for any book lover. The second bag was a gift for my sister and she says she will take it to her next book group meeting to help spread the Lovereading word. Once again, many thanks. Emily Wright


Draw closes: 30/09/2014

Synopsis

The Sonnet Lover by Carol Goodman

As an undergraduate, Renaissance poetry lecturer Dr Rose Asher spent a year in Tuscany at the villa La Civetta and it was there that Rose began an ill-fated affair, with her married tutor. But when Rose's most gifted student, Robin Weiss, dies in mysterious circumstances - and amid accusations of plagiarism - Rose finds herself reluctantly agreeing to return. The villa was once the home of sixteenth-century poet Ginevra de Laura. Local legend insists that Ginevra is the 'dark lady' of Shakespeare's sonnets. Robin's screenplay goes further - suggesting Shakespeare's love affair was conducted on Italian soil. But if Robin had discovered proof of Shakespeare's connections to La Civetta, was it a literary coup worth killing for?


About the Author

Carol Goodman

Carol Goodman graduated from Vassar College, where she majored in Latin. After teaching Latin for several years, she studied for an MFA in fiction. Her writing has been published in a number of literary magazines. She currently teaches writing and lives in Long Island, USA.

 

Author photo © Brian Velenchenko


More books by this author

Author 'Like for Like' recommendation

Book info
Loading other formats...
Format
Paperback (c Format)

Author
Carol Goodman

More books by Carol Goodman


Author's Website
www.carolgoodman.com/


TwitterAuthor's Tweets

Publisher
Judy Piatkus Publishers Ltd

Publication date
5th July 2007

Categories
Thriller / Suspense
eBook Favourites


ISBN
9780749938314
 


loading...

















Share or bookmark this book

Share this book on Facebook and Twitter.


Tell a friend about this book on Lovereading.co.uk.

We respect your privacy. The names and e-mail addresses you enter are used only for sending this message. Please read our Privacy Policy.
Your Friend's Name
Your Friend's Email
Your Name
Your E-mail
Your Message
(max. 1024 characters)
 

Notify me when an extract becomes available

Notify me by email when an extract from this book becomes available for download.


Your Name
Your Email
 

We respect your privacy. E-mail addresses you enter here are used only for sending extract availability notifications only. Please read our Privacy Policy.


 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS