Lovereading.co.uk

Search
  • Follow us on Facebook
  • Follow us on Twitter
Register


Vouchers


Search our site
Read the opening extract of the brand new Kevin Sampson book before its publication on 07/08/2014




 
Online Book Review Site


 
     

You loved your last book...
but what are you going to read next?

Using our unique guidance tools, Lovereading will help you find great books to read that will keep you inspired and entertained. And it's all free!

  • Email Newsletters about newly published books in your favourite categories
  • Free Opening Extracts so you can browse each book
  • Book Selection and Reviews by book experts
  • Like-for-Like recommendations (no algorithms in sight) for discovering new authors
  • Up to 25% discount on every book
  • eBooks in Multiple formats. ePub, iBook, KOBO, Nook, Google
  • Compare Book Prices to find the cheapest place to buy
Recommend this site to a friend

Top 10 Opening Extracts

Figures taken from last 7 days

  1. We are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy Fowler
  2. Little Lies by Liane Moriarty
  3. My Husband Next Door by Catherine Alliott
  4. All Day and a Night by Alafair Burke
  5. Remember Me This Way by Sabine Durrant
  6. A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
  7. The Gallery of Vanished Husbands by Natasha Solomons
  8. The Night Watchman by Richard Zimler
  9. The House on the Hill by Kevin Sampson
  10. The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

Free emails and book extractsSign up to receive free personalised email newsletters. If you love reading, this is a great way of keeping up with new books and major goings on in the literary world. Lovereading's emails include a small selection of books from your favourite categories. You can download an Opening Extract of any or all of them to help find which you might like to read.All you need do is give us your email address,tell us what kind of books you'd like to hear about and how frequently.


Find it on Lovereading.co.uk

If you already have a book in mind, just enter the title, author or ISBN in the search box above. We use the same book wholesalers as the biggest of the online and high street book stores. So, if it's in print, in whatever format both physical and digital, Lovereading should have it!
Search for a book

 

Opening Extracts

You wouldn't buy a car without a test-drive; you wouldn't buy shoes without trying them for size; so before you buy a book, make sure it's for you!

Uniquely on Lovereading, you can read the Opening Extract of every Featured Book. This could be the first chapter; less if the chapters are long, more if they're short. We aim to give you enough of a book to really get a taste for the author.

Click the 'download extract' button next to a title and choose 'open' when prompted to open or save the file. You can read it on your screen or print out to enjoy on the train or in your garden.
Search for a book

 

Author Like-for-Like
Expert Guidance

For days you're wrapped up in an amazing story; then suddenly it's over. When you've finished a great book, Lovereading's Like-for-Like tool helps you find another to fill the empty feeling. Unlike other book web sites we have a human interface to our like-for-like tool. Our editorial experts use their encyclopaedic knowledge to recommend other authors similar in style to every title we select each month. Just type in a name and explore some new literary avenues.
Search for a book

 

Wishlist

Keep track of books that interest you

Even if you read non-stop it's tough keeping up with the dozens of great books published every month. Our Wish List feature lets you keep an electronic note-to-self of books that catch your eye. So if you don't want to buy it now, at least you won't let some life-changing literature slip by. You can also email your list to friends and family, so they'll know exactly what you want for Christmas!
Search for a book

 

Email Newsletters

Stay clued up about books

Lovereading's email newsletters give you the low-down on the best new books in the categories of your choice. There are sneak previews of Exclusive Pre-Publication titles, information on special offers and innovations on the website, and exciting news from the book world.

When you register, choose how often you'd like to receive our personalised newsletters. Then choose which categories you'd like to hear about, and we'll send you information on the books we think you'll enjoy most.

You can change these settings at any time by clicking 'My Account' right at the top of the screen.
Free emails

 

Exclusive Pre-Publication

Stay pages ahead with our Exclusive Pre-Publication genre. Each month we sneak-preview a small selection of huge new titles before they hit the shops.

"Uncorrected proofs" are editions of books printed in small numbers and sent to reviewers and book buyers. Lovereading lets you download and print off Opening Extracts of these 'not-even-on-the-presses' books, and pre-order copies for quick despatch when they are properly published.

There are also chances to win uncorrected proofs signed by their authors - something for any reader to really treasure.
See what pre-publication books we have

 

25% Discount

Spend less, read more

To top it all off, Lovereading is incredibly good value. There are over 5 million books available to buy, almost all of them 25% cheaper than the RRP.
Search for a book

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


eBook Favourites This month's 'featured books'
eBook Favourites
Omens
Kelley Armstrong
Olivia Jones has lived a life of privilege and good fortune. But on the eve of her wedding she discovers two shocking facts. One - she was adopted. Two - her biological parents are notorious serial killers. A young woman...
Format: Paperback - Released: 31/07/2014
 
 

Night Train to Jamalpur
Andrew Martin
Detective Inspector Jim Stringer was first introduced to us in 2002 in The Necropolis Railway. This is now his ninth adventure and as you can see, we are in India. So there is murder to contend with, and snakes,...
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
 
 

The Company You Keep
Neil Gordon
When journalist Benjamin Schulberg discovers a link between liberal lawyer Jim Grant and a notorious Vietnam-era fugitive, the world that Jim has carefully built for himself and his daughter collapses. His cover blown, Jim is forced to go on the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 31/07/2014
 
 

The Night Watchman
Richard Zimler
A Maxim Jakubowski selected title. A chilling psychological mystery set in Lisbon that follows the dogged path of local Chief Inspector Henrique Monroe through striking crime scenes, political corruption and sexual violence to...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/06/2014
 
 

Books of the Month This month's 'featured books'
Books of the Month
The Art of Eating Well
Jasmine Hemsley, Melissa Hemsley
July 2014 Food and Drink Book of the Month. Healthy eating for life – Jasmine and Melissa Hemsley’s aim is to wean readers off grain, gluten and refined sugars and through their recipes...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/06/2014
 
 

Remember Me This Way
Sabine Durrant
July 2014 Book of the Month. A tale full of passion, anger, fear and heartache, an excellent read which concerns the love between a lonely school librarian, Lizzie, and a compulsive/obsessive artist, Zach....
Format: Hardback - Released: 17/07/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed We are All Completely Beside Ourselves
Karen Joy Fowler
July 2014 MEGA Book of the Month. The effects on a family of a young sister who disappears. It is a good third of the way through the book before you find out...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/06/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Unfinished Symphony of You and Me
Lucy Robinson
July 2014 Book of the Month. Sally and Fiona, cousins but brought up together so more like sisters, move to London and later New York. Fiona falls in with a bad lot. Sally...
Format: Paperback - Released: 19/06/2014
 
 

Summer Reading 2014 This month's 'featured books'
Summer Reading 2014
Mrs Brown's Family Handbook
Brendan O'Carroll
Some invaluable advice on managing a (large) family with Mrs Brown soliciting additional advice from the children, the neighbours and anyone else who happened to be passing at the time. The book is the absolutely ideal family gift – the...
Format: Paperback - Released: 05/06/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Book of You
Claire Kendal
May 2014 Debut of the Month. A tale of stalking, date rape and fear, all set against the backdrop of a trial of which Clarissa...
Format: Hardback - Released: 10/04/2014
 
 

Little Egypt
Lesley Glaister
I found this book utterly compelling. With a flavour of I Capture the Castle, a hint of Atonement and a dash of A Passage to India; the innocent voice of the teenage Isis - trapped in a...
Format: Paperback - Released: 30/03/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed A Man Called Ove
Fredrik Backman
59-year old Ove is quite possibly one of the grumpiest people you’ll meet but, he has been an upstanding pillar of the community for decades. The last six months have taken their toll and he decides perhaps that life is...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/07/2014
 
 

Debuts of the Month This month's 'featured books'
Debuts of the Month
Making Marion Where's Robin Hood When You Need Him?
Beth Moran
July 2014 Debut of the Month. If such a thing can exist, this lovely book feels like a true to life fairy tale, full of...
Format: Paperback - Released: 20/06/2014
 
 

Do Opposites Attract?
Kathryn Freeman
July 2014 Debut of the Month. If you are looking for easy, relaxing romance then the Choc Lit authors should suit you. This...
Format: Paperback - Released: 10/07/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed A Song for Issy Bradley
Carys Bray
July 2014 Debut of the Month. A year in the life of a northern British Mormon family. You’ll certainly learn a lot about the Mormon...
Format: Hardback - Released: 19/06/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Spring of Kasper Meier
Ben Fergusson
July 2014 MEGA Debut of the Month. A highly descriptive literary thriller of post-war Berlin which brilliantly illustrates the terrible aftermath of war. People live...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/07/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed Books This month's 'featured books'
Reader Reviewed Books
Reader Reviewed Dead Ends
Erin Jade Lange
Perfect for readers looking for an authentic teenage voice - moving and funny, this is the story of true-to-life in all their complex, frustrating, lovable glory, messing up, falling out, and pulling together when it really counts.
Format: Paperback - Released: 03/07/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Spring of Kasper Meier
Ben Fergusson
July 2014 MEGA Debut of the Month. A highly descriptive literary thriller of post-war Berlin which brilliantly illustrates the terrible aftermath of war. People live...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/07/2014
 
 

Reader Reviewed The Night Itself
Zoe Marriott
Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in this epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. Great for fans of Tamora Pierce, Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare. In addition...
Format: Paperback - Released: 04/07/2013
 
 

Reader Reviewed If You Were Me
Sheila O'Flanagan
July 2014 Book of the Month and eBook of the Month. A very classic Sheila O’Flanagan tale with a strong message and a charming tale of will she/won’t she while we know exactly...
Format: Hardback - Released: 03/07/2014
 
 


Get Adobe Flash player
 
Lovereading4kids

Lovereading 4 schools

Lovewriting

 

 
LovereadingLovereading4kids - Love Reading for KidsLIST ALL FEATURED AUTHORS